janet @ the taste space

Mexican Cabbage Soup

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian), Soups on January 9, 2016 at 9:59 AM

Mexican Cabbage Soup

I am not sure if other Canadians will agree with me, but while the exporters should be rejoicing that our loonie is quite low, all I notice are the expensive veggies at the store. Now that the local farmer market has shuttered for winter, we’re back at the regular grocers. We took a special trip to a Polish grocer and came home, with…. wait for it… CABBAGE!  Two monster heads came to a handful of pennies per pound. 

Vegan Mexican Cabbage Soup

With the recent cold weather, I had to make soup.  This was actually a rather simple soup with loads of flavour thanks to the soy chorizo. I used a simple starter of onions, garlic and carrot then added the cabbage, tomato and soyrizo. It reminded me of my easy savoury chickpea crumbles, but in soup form. I am thinking of trying this out again but with a different veg sausage – perhaps something like apple sage as Jill initially recommended. I will have to see what I can track down. I still have quite a bit of cabbage leftover.

Vegan Mexican Cabbage Soup

Cabbage soup shared here previously:

Caramelized Cabbage Soup

Caramelized Onion and Cabbage Chowder with Sweet Potatoes

Coconut Cabbage Soup with Red Lentils and Cilantro

Pickle Soup (with cabbage, mushrooms, celeriac, turnip and barley)

Kimchi Stew with Tofu and Mushrooms (Korean Vegan Kimchi Jigae)

Vegan Mexican Cabbage Soup

PS. I am sharing this with Meat Free Mondays, this month’s ExtraVeg, No Croutons Required, and this month’s Credit Crunch Munch.

Mexican Cabbage Soup
Inspired by Simple Daily Recipes

1 tbsp coconut oil, or oil of choice
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 carrot, chopped
1/2 medium head green cabbage (around 2 lbs), coarsely chopped
28 oz can diced tomatoes, with juice
28 fl oz water (just fill your tomato can with water)
1 package of soy chorizo crumbles (I used this one, but you could also use homemade; my vegan chorizo is not made as crumbles, though)

1. In a large pot over medium heat, heat oil. Once hot, add onion and saute until softened, around 5 minutes. Add garlic and carrots. Stir for 30 seconds, taking care not to burn the garlic.

2. Stir in the cabbage, can of tomatoes along with the juices, water and soy chorizo. Raise heat to medium-high, cover and bring to a boil. Once boiling, reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer for 30 minutes or until the cabbage is cooked to your desired tenderness. Add more water/vegetable stock is desired.

Serves 6.

  1. This really hit the spot at the end of a bitterly cold day! So very tasty and comes together quickly. Thanks!

  2. […] I am still chomping away on my cabbage. When the heads of cabbage are this big, I can usually 4 recipes out of one head. I still have […]

  3. I love onions fried in coconut oil, so so delicious and such a good base for the soup. Thanks for sharing with both #creditcrunchmunch and #extraveg

  4. The price of produce is simply ridiculous lately. Cabbage is a good choice and as usual you have added flare to your dish. Thanks for sharing with NCR.

  5. […] Mexican Cabbage Soup from The Taste Space looks utterly delicious and uses something new to me, soy chorizo! […]

What do you think?

