janet @ the taste space

Chickpea Cabbage Soup with Dill

In Mains (Vegetarian), Soups on January 17, 2016 at 2:00 PM

Chickpea Cabbage Soup with Dill

Yes, I am still chomping away on my cabbage. When the heads of cabbage are this big, I can usually 4 recipes out of one head. I still have plenty of plans for cabbage, but it might take me a while to share them as I space them out on the blog.

Chickpea Cabbage Soup with Dill

There was something really comforting about this simple soup. Cabbage is the primary bulk of it but the flavour shines through from the fresh dill, thyme, and sweet carrots while the chickpeas and quinoa give it a nice texture. A flavourful broth will really help to make this soup delicious.

Enjoy!

Chickpea Cabbage Soup with Dill

PS. I am sharing this with Meat Free Mondays.

Chickpea Cabbage Soup with Dill
Adapted from Post Punk Kitchen

1 tbsp coconut oil, or oil of choice
1 medium onion, chopped
salt and pepper, to taste
2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
1 tsp dry thyme
1/2 lb diced carrots (from 2 medium carrots)
1 lb cabbage, chopped (I used green)
1/2 cup dry quinoa, rinsed and drained
6 cups vegetable broth (plus another 2 cups from cooking the chickpeas)
3 cups cooked chickpeas, broth reserved if home cooked from 1 cup dry
1/3 cup fresh dill, chopped

1. If you have dry chickpeas, start cooking them now. I used my pressure cooker and it took 11 minutes plus a 10 minute natural release with soaked chickpeas.

2. Meanwhile, in a large soup pot, heat oil over medium heat. Once hot, add onions and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Saute for 5 minutes or until translucent. Stir in the garlic and saute until fragrant, around 1 minute more. Stir in the thyme, carrots and cabbage.

3. Add in the dry quinoa and broth. Raise heat, cover and cook until boiling. Reduce heat and simmer for 15-20 minutes, or until the quinoa and vegetables are cooked through. Add in the cooked chickpeas, any additional broth and the fresh dill. Simmer for 5 minutes more. Season to taste.

Serves 4-6.

  1. sounds like great comfort food – I fried up some cabbage the other day as I wanted a bit with dinner and the leftovers were great to throw into an easy stew

  2. The soup sounds so easy and satisfying, and it contains three of my favorite ingredients — cabbage, chickpeas and quinoa. I really need to go back to cooking my own beans.

  3. Sounds super warming & comforting. I love that you used fresh dill – I’m not sure I’ve ever added that to soup before, I always use dried. I bet it really enhances the flavour!

  4. […] Chickpea Cabbage Soup with Dill from The Taste Space: […]

What do you think?

