janet @ the taste space

Curried Chickpea Salad

In Mains (Vegetarian) on April 30, 2016 at 1:06 PM

Vegan GF Curried Chickpea Salad from The Taste Space

So, I must admit I got talked out of planting anything last weekend and it was probably for the best. We had a few chilly nights which might not have been great. Otherwise, the garden is ready (we added some top soil and coconut coir to the lasagna garden) and just waiting for plants. I am waiting for my order of asparagus rootlets which I am super excited about. Mostly excited about the possibility of endless years of homegrown asparagus, even though I know I won’t be able to harvest anything at all this year.

Vegan GF Curried Chickpea Salad from The Taste Space

Now my goal is to figure out what to plant in between the asparagus. I am wondering whether tomatoes could be a good companion plant in the future, but this year I am leaning more towards kale. Mostly because it is so easy to grow.

I also have some beans I’d like to try growing. I picked up some bean seeds from a local seed saver exchange and also would like to try to experiment with planting some Rancho Gordo beans. I wish my garden was bigger!

Vegan GF Curried Chickpea Salad from The Taste Space

Here is another salad to bridge the time until there is local produce available. The base is filled with chickpeas and studded with crispy red peppers, chewy raisins (loved the golden raisins in here) and crunchy cashews with some cilantro, too.

The dressing is a creamy curry dressing with a heavy turmeric slant.

An easy portable lunch option. Enjoy!
(I added the cashews and raisins just before serving)

Does anyone have experience with growing asparagus? I may have forgotten to mention I had to buy 10 plants so it will be taking over most of the garden!

Vegan GF Curried Chickpea Salad from The Taste Space

PS. I am sharing this with Meat Free Mondays.

Curried Chickpea Salad
Adapted, minimally, from Hummusapien

For the dressing:

3 tbsp tahini
1.5 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 tbsp maple syrup
2 tbsp water
juice of half a lemon
2 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 tbsp curry powder
1/2 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp salt
freshly ground black pepper, optional

For the salad:

3-4 cups (2 x 19oz cans) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
2 green onions, finely chopped
1/2 small bunch cilantro, chopped
1 large bell pepper, chopped
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup roasted cashews, chopped if desired

1. In a large bowl, whisk together the dressing until smooth.

2. Stir in the remaining ingredients, adding the cashews and raisins just prior to serving to keep them fresh.

Serves 6.

  1. Oh dear, this looks awesome!
    I just opened up a can of chickpeas as well this evening. And just a after draining the water I remembered this fancy recipe which took over the internet, the one for the vegan meringue! Oh well, next time I might think of it and finally be able to try it out.

  2. I love chickpea salads (well chickpeas in anything really) but this is quite different from any I’ve made so looking forward to giving it a go. That dressing sounds great. I’m not a fan of dried fruit but sure it will be just as good without the raisins🙂

  3. This sounds delicious – I love chickpeas and cashew nuts together. Good luck with the asparagus!

  4. Ohhhh…I wich I could help you with the asparagus, but I’m also a beginner with this one. I also search a lot to get some tips about it’s culture. I’ll follow your post. Good luck !

  5. I haven’t grown asparagus myself, but my gardener-extraordinaire Dad tells me you have to wait three years to harvest some. The plants need that long to develop strong roots and resilience. It’s an exercise in patience, I bet!

  6. I have absolutely no experience growing asparagus, but think your kale growing adventures will work out well. Tomatoes are also pretty easy to grow.
    This salad looks great! It’s perfect for the hotter weather we’ve been having out here, and it sounds like a perfect packed lunch to go.

What do you think?

