janet @ the taste space

Curry Rhubarb Barbecue Sauce

In Sides on May 28, 2016 at 8:28 AM

Curry Rhubarb BBQ Sauce

Every year, I pay particular attention to the weather. Usually it is because I cycle to work but this year it is because of the garden. It still blows my mind that 2 weeks ago, we were worried about frost and snow (it snowed in May, I saw it) and now, the highs are a humid 30°C a with a humidex of 33°C. No wonder the plants are confused; our magnolia tree bloomed but the city’s cherry trees opted out. The mild spring was short-lived and will likely herald a warmer than normal summer.

Curry Rhubarb BBQ Sauce

Even though the new rhubarb plant is looking marvellous, I was worried about shocking it if I started to harvest the stalks too soon. In the meantime, my Aunt fixed me up with a good number of stalks from her plant to get me started cooking.

I saw Holley’s recent post for her new favourite BBQ sauce made with rhubarb and I was intrigued. No stranger to making my own barbecue sauce, it sounded like a neat idea. Rob was digging a rhubarb chutney and I thought this could be a good compromise.

Turns out this was a lovely sauce! Rhubarb is not a pronounced flavour (despite using 8 cups!) but imparts a subtle tang that is mellowed by the maple syrup. I like the infusion of warming spices, cinnamon, cardamom and cumin, with a bite from the fresh ginger and garam masala.

We have now been well stocked for all the upcoming burger parties.😉

What do you like to make with rhubarb?

Curry Rhubarb BBQ Sauce

Other BBQ sauces shared previously:

Smoky Apple Bourbon Barbecue Sauce

South Carolina Mustard Barbecue Sauce (Tomato-Free)

PS. I am sharing this with this month’s Credit Crunch Munch (hosted by Fab Food 4 All & Fuss Free Flavours).

Curry Rhubarb Barbecue Sauce
Adapted from The Primal Desire

1/4 cup coconut oil
8 cups diced fresh rhubarb
28 oz can diced tomatoes, with juice
4 large cloves garlic, minced or pressed
1 tsp grated ginger
1/2 cup maple syrup
2 tbsp ground cinnamon
2 tsp ground cardamom
1 tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp Ancho chile flakes
1 tsp salt
1 tsp garam masala

1. In a large pot over medium heat, add oil. Once hot, add the rhubarb. Stir to evenly coat and then saute for 5 minutes until slightly softened.

2. Stir in the tomatoes + juice, garlic, ginger, maple syrup, cinnamon, cardamom, turmeric, cumin, chile flakes and salt. Raise heat and bring the sauce to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and allow to simmer for an hour or until the rhubarb and tomatoes dissolve when pressed.

3. Stir in the garam masala.

4. Use an immersion blender to blend the mixture until smooth.

Store in the fridge or freezer.

Makes 6 cups.

 

  1. I love this idea! I’ve never been a fan of rhubarb pies, which is how I typically saw them used in the south. I could see liking the flavor much better in a savory curry!

  2. I made it, subbing 3/4 tsp of stevia for the 1/4 cup of Maple syrup (I halved the recipe). Nice use for rhubarb; I used a bit more than called for, and next time I would not add the extra. Rhubarb gave it an apple flavor.

  3. What a great combination of flavours here I bet this sauce tastes awesome. Thanks for a great entry to #CreditCrunchMunch:-)

  4. No I do love a good home made BBQ sauce, but this looks SO good!! What an original idea. Love it. Thanks for linking up!! x

What do you think?

