janet @ the taste space

Maple-Sriracha Tofu with Roasted Red Peppers & Creamy Grits

In Mains (Vegetarian) on May 31, 2016 at 8:37 AM

Maple-Sriracha Tofu with Roasted Red Peppers & Creamy Grits

One of my favourite and easiest vegetables to freeze are red bell peppers. Last year, we bought a huge bucket of red peppers at the Farmer’s Market and I diligently cut, cored and seeded them before popping them in the deep freezer. Many months later and we are still chomping through them. I purposely baked a bunch of them here.

Even though Lick Your Plate is not a vegan cookbook (you can see my review here), I was intrigued by some of the simple fish recipes. Swapping tofu would be very, very easy and would also benefit from flavourful marinades. While this was a bit more involved than most of my tofu recipes, the marinade and glaze were both excellent.

Maple-Sriracha Tofu with Roasted Red Peppers & Creamy Grits

The tofu was first marinated with a lemon-maple-ginger dressing. The second sauce was a quasi roux glaze with maple and sriracha but it clumped a bit as I waited for the tofu to bake. Still delicious though.

A note about the sriracha, I decreased the amount in the glaze (you can always add more, but can’t remove it) and then drizzled some overtop for the photo. Trust me, Rob ate this serving and even he thought it was plenty spicy with all that sriracha. Without the extra drizzle, it wasn’t very spicy at all.

While this was baking, you can work on making the creamy grits. I used the recipe on the back of the package, making easy vegan substitutions. Instant grits would make this much faster but we had stone ground grits instead. Like non-instant polenta, it took a while to make but you ended up with truly creamy grits. In retrospect, I probably should have used this recipe for baked grits since I already had the oven on!

In any case, this was very good. It has been a while since I’ve been inspired by non-vegan recipes and this worked out well. If the cookbook interests you, there is still time to enter a giveaway for it here.

Maple-Sriracha Tofu with Roasted Red Peppers & Creamy Grits

PS. I am sharing this with Meat Free Mondays.

Maple-Sriracha Tofu with Roasted Red Peppers
Adapted from Lick Your Plate

1 lb extra firm tofu, drained and patted dry

2 tbsp soy sauce (I used Bragg’s liquid aminos)
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp fresh lemon juice (lime juice would work well, too)
1 tbsp maple syrup
1 clove garlic, minced or pressed
1/2 tsp freshly grated ginger

4 large red bell peppers, sliced into 1 cm wide strips

1/4 cup vegan butter (I used Earth Balance sticks)
1 tbsp flour
2 tbsp maple syrup
1-3 tsp sriracha sauce (1 tsp is not spicy – add to your palate)
1 tbsp soy sauce (I used Bragg’s liquid aminos)
1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

  1. Cut your tofu width wise to make 1-cm thick slices. Slice in half to make 2 triangles.
  2. In a medium-size bowl combine the soy sauce, oil, lemon juice, maple syrup, garlic and ginger. Stir to combine well. Add in the tofu, tossing so that all slices are evenly coated. A plastic bag you can zip up and remove the air works well, but you could also place in a plastic container and shake it every now and then. Place in the fridge and allow to marinate for at least an hour.
  3. You should start your creamy grits prior to baking your tofu (see below).
  4. When ready to bake your tofu, preheat your oven to 400F.
  5. Place the strips of red pepper (in a single layer) in columns on a 9×13″ glass baking tray. Lay the marinated tofu on top. Spoon any extra marinade overtop the tofu, allowing any excess to drip onto the peppers.
  6. Bake at 400F for 20 minutes.
  7. Meanwhile, make your glaze: In a small saucepan over low heat, melt the vegan butter. Whisk in the flour until combined. Stir in the maple syrup, sriracha, soy sauce and lemon juice. Whisk continuously for 1 minute until smooth. Remove from heat. Try not to let this cool too much – try to time it to finish within 5 minutes of the end of the tofu baking.
  8. Remove tofu from the oven and brush the approximately half of glaze on top of the tofu. Continue baking for another 5 minutes, until nice and fragrant. Broil on high for up to 1 minute, taking care not to let it burn.
  9. Remove from oven and serve overtop creamy grits. Drizzle with additional glaze and sriracha, to taste.

Serves 4.

 

Creamy Stovetop Grits

3 cups water
1/2 tsp salt
2 tbsp coconut oil
1 cup grits
1 cup nondairy milk (I used soy milk)

  1. In a large pot over medium-high heat, add water, salt and coconut oil. Cover and bring to a boil.
  2. Once at a boil, gradually stir in the grits. Allow the water to return to a boil. Once boiling again, reduce heat to a simmer and cover, stirring frequently for 15-20 minutes. Adjust the heat so that it continues to simmer. Stir in the milk and continue to simmer and stir for another 10 minutes, or until all the liquid is absorbed.
  3. Taste the grits and if they are not cooked through, add more water and continue to cook at a simmer.

Serves 4.

 

  1. Where do you buy your grits? All I can ever find is Polenta (Bob’s Red Mill) and I understand it is not the same. You are in TO, right?

    • Yes, in Toronto… and I purposefully neglected where I sourced my grits. I got them a few years ago from Trader Joe’s. They are now discontinued, so it highlights my hoarding abilities.😛
      (When I spot grits to buy locally, I’ll let you know. But when I made the baked grits earlier this year, I just used normal cornmeal/polenta)

  2. Oh yum! This sounds great… an I’m not fan of sriracha, but it sounds ok in this recipe.
    I’ve never frozen my bell peppers before – but that is super tempting considering how darn expensive they get in the winter!

  3. This sounds incredible! I’m still working on getting Evie to eat tofu… She might get on board with this. Because grits.🙂

  4. This is so like my weeknight meals, that’s crazy! I love it.

  5. This sounds incredible. With the sriracha maple glaze, I might even be able to get my husband to enjoy tofu, lol🙂

  6. I love spicy foods though am not a fan of tofu!.. This I may get on board with though!! Also didn’t realise that bell peppers make great frozen veggies!! Good to know for my harvest this year!

  7. This looks so delicious! I had no idea that red peppers were good to throw in the freezer, but I’m totally on board! Love the marinated tofu and the creamy grits! Such a great meal🙂

  8. Sweet and spicy…love that combo. I haven’t had grits since moving north, and it’s about time! Gorgeous pictures!

  9. Yesss!! This tofu looks so so good, I’ll be testing this ASAP!! Some how I’ve never tried grits before but this seems like such a lovely meal I think you’ve inspired me. (And thanks for the freezing peppers trick – I never would have guessed that they were a good freezing veggie!)

What do you think?

