janet @ the taste space

Slow Cooker Veggie Enchilada Soup + Easy. Whole. Vegan GIVEAWAY

In Book Review, Mains (Vegetarian), Soups on September 17, 2016 at 9:02 AM

Veggie Enchilada Soup

I forgot to mention in my last food post, but roasted tomatoes freeze incredibly well. They last a while in your fridge but if you want to savour some summer bounty during the winter, batch cook them up and stockpile them in your freezer. Last year, I bought a bushel of red bell peppers, chopped them up and froze them, and we are still eating through them!

If you need any ideas what to do with all this frozen (or fresh, if you have some made already) roasted tomatoes and bell peppers, I urge you to try this soup.

Veggie Enchilada Soup + Easy. Whole. Vegan GIVEAWAY

Roasted tomatoes, red peppers, corn (yes, I used frozen) with a can of green chiles and some spices get thrown into a slow cooker and by the afternoon, you have a very flavourful soup. To make this a complete meal, I fried up some soy curls as a nod to the original enchilada soup which is typically made with chicken. Either way, the soup was great.

The recipe is from Melissa King‘s new cookbook Easy. Whole. Vegan. Her cookbook focuses on whole food ingredients (vegan, obviously) but can be made quickly and easily. With my little babe, if I want to actually make something in the kitchen, it has to tick all those boxes.

Veggie Enchilada Soup + Easy. Whole. Vegan GIVEAWAY

 

I have been able to make quite a few things from the cookbook in such a short amount of time already, which should give you an idea how approachable the recipes are. The ingredient lists are not too daunting and feature standard vegan foods. I liked that there was a slow cooker section sinceI have realized sometimes I have the most spare time if the baby catches a morning nap, but want hot food ready for lunch or dinner. Otherwise, there are plenty of salads (meal worthy at that featuring whole grains or beans) but also veggie-packed sides, breakfasts and desserts. The recipes may not be unique or novel but having a compilation of fast meals is a treasure when you don’t even have time to think about what you want to eat for dinner. Thankfully the publisher has allowed me to share my favourite recipe from the book so far, the Veggie Enchilada Soup.

Veggie Enchilada Soup + Easy. Whole. Vegan GIVEAWAY

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to giveaway the cookbook to a reader living in the United States or Canada. To be entered in the random draw for the book, please leave a comment below telling me about your easiest vegan recipe. The winner will be selected at random on October 3, 2016. Good luck!

PS. I am sharing this with No Croutons Required and the Slow Cooker Challenge.

Veggie Enchilada Soup
Recipe from Easy. Whole. Vegan.: 100 Flavor-Packed, No-Stress Recipes for Busy Families

Author’s note: Enchilada soup, much like tortilla soup, is a Southwestern favorite normally made a little on the spicy side, with chicken and loads of cheese. The essence of this soup isn’t found in the chicken or the cheese, though—the real heart is the peppers. This version leaves out the chicken and cheese, opting to include more veggies in their place. The soup comes out thick and will definitely warm the soul. The roasted red peppers and roasted tomatoes bring a ton a flavor to the base, while the yellow chile peppers add a real kick. Since this is made in a slow cooker, there’s not a lot of preparation time, either.

Prep and cook time: 6 hours 20 minutes

4 cups (720 g) roughly chopped roasted red tomatoes (Janet’s note: I used this recipe)
2 cups (300 g) sweet corn kernels
2 cups (300 g) roughly chopped roasted red peppers (Janet’s note: I used regular red peppers)
2 cups (480 ml) vegetable broth
1 yellow onion, chopped
1 to 2 yellow chile peppers, roughly chopped (see Note) (Janet’s note: I used 1 can of roasted green chiles)
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
1 to 2 teaspoons salt (or to taste)

1. Place all the ingredients in a slow cooker. Cover and cook on high for 6 hours.

2. Serve immediately or refrigerate for later. This should last a week in the fridge, and you can freeze it for up to 3 months.

Makes 6 to 7 servings (Janet’s note: served 4 with soy curls as a main)

Variations

  • Although this recipe doesn’t call for vegan cheese sauce (page 171), its creaminess would go very well in this soup. If you want, you can add it right before you serve the soup.
  • A great topper on this recipe would be some avocado You can place a bit of parsley or cilantro on top for presentation, too. 

Note: If you want some good pepper flavor without the heat, try using bell peppers or, if in season, Hatch chile peppers.

Recipe from Easy. Whole. Vegan.: 100 Flavor-Packed, No-Stress Recipes for Busy Families © Melissa King, 2016. Reprinted by permission of the publisher, The Experiment. Available wherever books are sold.  theexperimentpublishing.com

Cookbook photography courtesy of Heather Poire.

Contest Rules: No purchase necessary. Contest period begins Saturday, September 17 2016 and ends Monday, October 3, 2016. For American and Canadian residents only. Approximate retail value US$19.95. Enter by writing a comment answering the prompt for a chance to win.  Entrants must supply a valid email address. Winners will be notified by email and must respond within 48 hours.

  1. My family always loves Eggplant Lasagna.

  2. My easiest vegan recipe is read beans and rice. Or, Happy Herbivore’s Quick Burgers recipe is really easy too!🙂

  3. This looks so delicious, thank you for joining us for the Slow Cooked Challenge

  4. You had me at ‘easy enchilada’. Thanks for posting! and for hosting this giveaway. This cookbook sounds like a true resource for those of us with busy lives who still want to serve awesome-and-healthful meals to our families.

    My favorite easy meal in warm months is lettuce/salad, topped with beans (home cooked, seasoned or refried, etc), dressed with salsa + lemon juice. I add avocado if it’s on my counter, any other add-ins which are at hand.

    For cold weather, I love to ladle leftover (reheated) soup onto chopped salad veggies. The heat from the soup warms the raw veggies, while still maintaining their raw benefits.

  5. My easiest vegan recipe is burnt eggplant with tehina lemon juice Garlic parsley and olive oil

  6. oats!

  7. Vegan caesar salad with roasted chickpeas

  8. One of the easiest vegan recipes that I love to make is quinoa minestrone. Just throw everything in a pot and stir, then it’s done and delicious.

  9. I like to make homemade humas:

    1 can drained chickpeas
    1/3 c tahini
    Lemon juice from 2-3 lemons
    Garlic to taste
    S&P to taste
    1/3 c evoo

    Mix all in food processor or blender. Serve with veggies or toasted naan bread.

  10. I don’t worry much about vegan, but my favorite dish that is vegan is a bean salad with corn, avocadoes, cilantro and lime juice. Yum!

  11. I love to make simple stir fries with lots of veggies, cooked grains, and crumbled steamed tempeh.

  12. I have a canning recipe for a tomato & corn soup…I heat it up & add black beans (or whichever beans I happen to have on hand)…thank you for all your recipes!

  13. My easiest recipes are always desserts!

  14. This soup looks so delicious and perfect for the chillier fall weather.

  15. Can’t wait to try this soup. Sounds great with fall coming.

  16. I think I will try this as I have tried many many others minus the corn!! Love all of your recipes and I feel good about cooking and eating them!!

  17. mmmm🙂 as a mom of a toddler, i’m ALL about the easy/quick vegan meals. our family favorite are chickpea tacos (chickpeas sautéed with some spices served with vegan sour cream and guacamole!)

  18. Your soup looks so good and perfect for Autumn. Thanks for joining in with the Slow Cooked Challenge!

  19. My easiest vegan recipe is sauteed collards, beans, and seitan!

  20. Melissa’s chocolate peanut butter granola from her first cookbook 😍

  21. Can’t wait to try these recipes!

  22. Oooh this sounds really good! I had no clue that roasted tomatoes would freeze well. That’s good to know. I’m glad you found some recipes that you can make easily & quickly while the baby sleeps =)
    I think my easiest vegan recipe is pasta. Cook noodles, add sauce. Done. And still my favourite haha.

  23. I can hardly believe that of all of the easy vegan recipes that have been mentioned so far, no one has named the good old tofu scramble! So I just had to choose that one, because it’s such a staple when it comes to easy vegan recipes…

    The soup sounds amazing; the roasted tomatoes must give it so much depth of flavor! Given that life has been hectic recently for us as well, I have a feeling that the recipes in this book would be a huge help here too.

  24. toast with a nut butter

  25. This book sounds fantastic! My easiest vegan recipe…maybe classic refried beans and rice? Thanks for the giveaway opportunity!

  26. My easiest vegan recipe is a fast rice bowl, filled with whatever veggies I have: usually a ton of greens, beans, lemon and olive oil- yum and quick!

  27. My easiest vegan recipe is a curry- easy to throw together!

  28. […] tomato consumption is still going strong but I would hate to bore you with so many consecutive tomato […]

  29. Shame on me, I completely forgot about my No Croutons Required roundup, but to make up I am sitting here in my holiday home in the highlands catching up. The roundup is live now if you’d like a look. Thanks for submitting your gorgeous recipe. Jac x

What do you think?

