janet @ the taste space

Slow Cooker Creamy Sweet Potato & Peanut Stew + Plant Pure Nation Cookbook giveaway

In Book Review, Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) on October 15, 2016 at 8:08 AM

Slow Cooker Creamy Sweet Potato & Peanut Stew

I always loved eating peanut butter, but I ate even more of it while pregnant. Breastfeeding brought a whole new level of hunger as I build a new human and possibly even higher levels of consumption. It is usually limited to breakfasts and desserts, and even though I had stirred it into stews before (hello, African Sweet Potato and Peanut Stew), this version is easily made in a slow cooker, simplifies the spices with curry powder, swaps chickpeas for kidney beans and I love how effortless the frozen spinach brings another layer of goodness. The coconut milk and peanut butter make for a creamy base that is deliciously paired with the sweet potatoes and carrots. I added some peanuts for garnish, but the crunch was a fun treat when they were immersed in the stew, too.

the plant pure nation cookbook giveaway

The recipe comes from Plant Pure Nation Cookbook and it surprised me at how much I liked it. I have been drawn to uber simple recipes as of late, and it has mastered simple, healthy cooking while still tasting great. I can’t wait to try out the Breakfast casserole, Cilantro-wasabi aioli, Southwestern black bean dip, Caribbean quinoa bowl, Palak paneer (Tofu Style), Reuben casserole, Spinach and broccoli enchiladas, Ethiopian stew, New England chowder and the No-bake chocolate pumpkin pie. Seriously, I have a lot more cooking to do but wanted to share this awesome recipe while I had a chance.🙂

Slow Cooker Creamy Sweet Potato & Peanut Stew

Recipes from Plant Pure Nation Cookbook spotted elsewhere:

BBQ Jackfruit

Carrot Cake

Green Pepper Tofu Scramble

Irish Potatoes with Cabbage

Nut Butter Brownies

Roasted Chickpeas

Sweet Pepper Coconut Corn Chowder

Slow Cooker Creamy Sweet Potato & Peanut Stew

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to giveaway the book to a reader living anywhere in the world (a physical copy will be sent to a winner in the US and an electronic copy to those living elsewhere). To be entered in the random draw for the book, please leave a comment below telling me how you like to eat nut/seed butter (peanut butter, almond butter, or sunflower seed butter — whatever floats your boat). The winner will be selected at random on November 6, 2016. Good luck!

PS. I am sharing this with Slow Cooked Challenge (hosted by Farmersgirl Kitchen and Baking Queen 74), Meat Free Mondays, My Legume Love Affair and Healthy Vegan Fridays.

Slow Cooker Creamy Sweet Potato & Peanut Stew
Adapted from Plant Pure Nation Cookbook

1 tbsp oil of choice
dash of mesquite seasoning
1 onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
3 stalks of celery, trimmed and chopped
1 large sweet potato, chopped (3 cups)
1 large carrot, chopped (1 cup)
28 oz can of diced tomatoes, with juice
1 cup vegetable broth
1 tbsp curry powder (I used Penzey’s sweet curry powder)
1 cup coconut milk (note: the original recipe says to use lite, but full fat was wonderful here)
1/3 cup peanut butter
2 cups cooked chickpeas, rinsed and drained if canned
300g frozen chopped spinach
salt and pepper, to taste

1. In a slow cooker (or stovetop if you don’t have a saute function), pick the saute function and heat oil over medium heat. Once hot, add the onion sprinkle with salt and mesquite seasoning and saute until brown. Stir in the garlic and saute for 1-2 minutes more, taking care not to burn everything.

2. Stir in the celery, sweet potato, carrot, tomatoes, vegetable broth, curry powder, coconut milk, peanut butter and chickpeas. Slow cook on medium heat for 6-7 hours, or until the vegetables are cooked. Add in the spinach and continue to cook for an additional 15 minutes to thaw and warm up.

Serves 6.

The original recipe’s directions were very simple:

1. Add all the ingredients to a pot and cook over high heat until bubbly, 10–15 minutes.

2. Turn down heat and simmer for 30 minutes, or until the sweet potatoes are tender.

Kim’s Hint: I like to throw everything into a slow cooker and allow it to cook on medium heat for 2–3 hours. Turn the heat to low until you are ready to serve. The flavors are perfect after they have cooked for the day

  1. Peanut butter is life. With white almond butter being a close runner-up for the title. This stew and the idea of adding peanut butter to soups/stews in general sounds delicious. It’s still something I haven’t done yet because I already eat a LOT of nut butter as it’s my go-to breakfast accompaniment/snack/random-nibble-food.

  2. We like to use peanut butter in smoothies

  3. I love to spread about 1/2 tbs of peanut butter on Ezekiel tortilla with unsliced banana on top, sprinkled with flaxseed meal and a tiny pinch of cinnamon. Yum!

  4. I’ve recently tried an African stew made with peanut butter. It was amazing. I actually tried it because the ingredient list sounded too awful not to give it a whirl. It’s one of my new favorite foods, and I’m glad to have this recipe as a 2nd option. Thanks for sharing this!

  5. I love dipping sliced apples in almond butter as a mid-afternoon snack.

  6. Am I the only one that’ll admit that to eating fresh ground peanut butter from the tub with a spoon? It’s my once a day snack. One slightly rounded silverware teaspoon is my serving. Nuts have also become my favorite way to add a a layer of crunch and flavor to my salads.

  7. This sounds like a marvelous cookbook; thanks for hosting this giveaway. We use peanut butter in desserts, for making lunch treats (apple slices topped with peanut butter, ground flax & cinnamon, for instance), and as a veggie dip.

  8. I recently made maple-vanilla almond butter. It is delicious with pretty much everything!

  9. This cookbook sounds fantastic! I like nut butters lots of ways, but I think my favorite is spicy peanut sauce with steamed eggplant. So good. Thanks for the giveaway opportunity!

  10. I like nut butters as a spread on toast, or sometimes as an addition to my smoothies

  11. It is pretty good in stir frys.

  12. Great on toast especially almond butter. Also great on apples and celery!

  13. I’ve love peanut butter as long as I can remember. I was so pleased to find that Dr. Greger and T. Colin Campbell have both highlighted much research indicating that it is part of a healthy diet.

  14. I go through a big jar of natural peanut butter every couple of weeks. I often use it in baking and raw treats, as a toast/sandwich spread, turn it into a satay sauce, and when no one else is around I eat it straight from the jar with a spoon! Haha

  15. I love PB on Waffles!

  16. On Ryvita crackers

  17. It’s morning here , cloudy and raining and I just made this expecting to have it as a comfort food for dinner. I made it in a regular pot instead of the slow cooker – didn’t have any sweet potatoes left so added more carrots. Then I ate a bowl for breakfast. SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good! Really try this recipe, people : ) I keep going back for more. Heading out for groceries and will be picking up sweet potatoes to make a batch for freezing – or for later this week

    • Frankie, love your comment. Carrots would definitely be a nice substitute for the sweet potatoes… and I never would have thought to have it for breakfast but it would be an amazingly healthy one, for sure.🙂

  18. Of all the nut butters, my favorite is still the good old crunchy peanut variety. And, though I often use it in stews, smoothies, and such, straight from the spoon absolutely rocks my boat!

  19. I like to eat it out of the jar or with fruit like apples.

  20. Cashew butter is my fav mid afternoon pick me up with apples or banana (if I have a ripe one), So yum!

  21. My favorite is cashew. Perfect for a mid afternoon pick me up, spread on sliced apples or a banana if I have a ripe one.

  22. Cashew is my favorite. Perfect for a mid afternoon pick me up with sliced apple or a banana if I have a ripe one!

  23. A good hazelnut butter is the best, topped with raspberry jam a la linzertorte fashion. Flavours of my childhood!

  24. Gosh that does look good. Love coconut milk and peanuts, gorgeous. Thanks for linking to the Slow Cooked Challenge, it’s a pleasure to have you join us.

  25. Oooh totally looking forward to trying this out. I go through phases where I like to spend loads of time in the kitchen and make labour intensive meals. Lately, I’m with you – more into simple meals. It’s hard to sometimes find the balance with simple, yet still tasty. I’m glad this cookbook has found the balance.
    Is it wrong to admit my favourite way of enjoying nut butter is ensconced in chocolate??

  26. That stew really sounds awesome!
    As for nut butters, I love them all, in all kinds of ways. Good old peanut butter melting on a hot toast is oh-so-simple, yet absolutely perfect.

  27. nut butters are great for many things. my favorite is probably on crackers with some cheese as a snack.

  28. I like to eat it on freshly baked sourdough bread!

  29. In vegan Pad Thai, my favorite. =)

  30. Peanut butter is a staple in our house. I use it in oatmeal, stirfries, granola bars, and melted down to pour over popcorn. Great recipe, thanks for sharing! ☺

  31. I know what you mean about breastfeeding hunger! It’s incredible😛 I too am eating peanut butter in all the forms but this stew looks like a winning dish.

    I hope you’re doing well and am glad to hear you have your partner making you oatmeal😉

  32. I love seed and nut butters in a smoOthie

  33. This stew sounds so tasty! I love peanut butter in a homemade satay-type sauce with noodles.

  34. That is such a delicious looking stew — hearty & comforting.
    I love stirring almond butter into curries to make them creamy without adding dairy to it.

  35. […] addition to peanut butter, another of my pregnancy cravings were sweet potato fries. Postpartum, I haven’t craved fries […]

What do you think?

