janet @ the taste space

Lemon Poppy Seed Cupcakes

In Desserts, Favourites on October 29, 2016 at 8:24 AM

Lemon Poppy Seed Cupcakes

My mom had a (self-imposed) daunting task: use up all the poppy seeds. How many poppy seeds could she possibly have? A cup or two? No, more like 10 cups of poppy seeds. As such, Rob and I were the recipients of many, many poppy seed infused desserts this summer. In particular, everyone enjoyed these vegan lemon poppy seed cupcakes.

Lemon Poppy Seed Cupcakes

Perfectly sweet balanced by the lemon flavour and sprinkled to the max with the poppy seeds, this recipe was a winner. These did not need a glaze nor frosting, and were perfect as they were. They didn’t last long as we gobbled these down during our sleep deprived new baby moments when we were way too busy to contemplate cooking. I had a hard enough time waiting to take pictures of the last two surviving cupcakes.

What would you make with 10 cups of poppy seeds? Do you think you could eat your way through them?

Lemon Poppy Seed Cupcakes

 

Vegan Lemon Poppy Seed Cupcakes
Adapted from The Green Forks

2-1/4 cups all purpose flour
1.5 cups sugar
3/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
1/3 cup poppy seeds
1.5 cups cold water (or room temperature water if using coconut oil)
3/4 cup canola oil (or melted coconut oil)
1 tbsp lemon extract
1 tbsp fresh lemon rind
3 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line muffin tin with muffin wrappers (we use silicone-based reusable ones).

2. In a medium bowl, combine the lemon juice and lemon rind and allow to soak at least 10 minutes.

3. In a large bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, baking soda and salt. Use a whisk to evenly distribute.

4. In the medium bowl, add the water, oil, and lemon extract to the lemon rind and lemon juice mixture. Stir to evenly combine.

5. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ones and gently fold to evenly mix. Do not overmix.

6. Quickly pour into the prepared muffin trays and place in the oven at 350F for 23-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the centre comes out clean.

Makes 20 cupcakes.

  1. Too many poppyseeds! Oh dear! I once was given a recipe for a poppyseed cake with about a cup of poppyseeds and yet every other recipe I see has a spoonful or two – I must dig it out – but the lemon and poppyseed looks like a classic combination and a good one for keeping you going with a new baby

  2. These look and sound so good! As you know I am not vegan but I actually love cooking and baking vegan food. I find that vegan bakin sometimes involves ingredients that I don’t have at home (being non vegan) like flax to make fox-egg and various non dairy mills. But this recipe doesn’t have any of that. It’s just straight forward and that’s why I love it. Now, opposite to your mom, I need to buy some poppy seeds. (Pinned and tweeted)

  3. Looks like classic to me and you can never have too many poppy seeds in a poppy seed cake! that is what my Czech and Slovac work colleagues would say

  4. Love lemon and poppy seeds, but have never had them in a cupcake! I am going to now, this recipe sounds fantastic! Thanks for sharing!

  5. I looooove poppy seeds, but I feel like they’re one of those ingredients you can never really use up. I mean, buy a bag of poppy seed bagels and you’ve probably got enough of them rattling around in the bag to get you through the next couple of months. I genuinely wonder how anyone makes money growing them. I guess if I had 10 cups I’d have to try my hand and some of the poppy seed pastes you see in Jewish/Eastern European baked goods (things like rugelach and hamentashen).

    The cupcakes look amazing, and I love the combination of lemon and poppyseed. Particularly nice to see that you used the lemon rind in there too, as it gives so much pop to the lemon flavour. I’m sure I could polish off a few with a cup of tea to help you with that poppy seed overload😀

What do you think?

