janet @ the taste space

Cheezy Chili Sweet Potato Fries + Naturally Lean cookbook GIVEAWAY

In Book Review, Sides on November 12, 2016 at 10:03 AM

Cheezy Chili Sweet Potato Fries

In addition to peanut butter, another of my pregnancy cravings were sweet potato fries. Postpartum, I haven’t craved fries as often but I still love the sweet potatoes. These sweet potato fries have been made* regularly over the past few months. *Made by Rob (I am rather lucky). Once you have the Parmesan Sprinkles ready to go (I made this!), these are a simple side that can be thrown into the oven.

Rob and I could easily eat an entire batch with a meal. They are that good.

Cheezy Chili Sweet Potato Fries

The recipe is from Allyson Kramer‘s latest cookbook (albeit I have had for a while), Naturally Lean.  All recipes are vegan and gluten-free and the recipe focuses on recipes under 300 calories. Although don’t be fooled into thinking this is a diet cookbook with 300 calorie meals. The dishes are predominantly recipes that are built into a larger meal. You couldn’t possibly make a meal out of these cheesy chili sweet potato fries, but you could eat them with the Rainbow Veggie Chili or Avocado Chik’n Salad.

Naturally Lean cookbook giveaway

The recipes are separated by main ingredient: greens and crucifers, hearty grains, fabulous fruits, nuts & seeds, legumes and squash, roots and mushrooms. Since I am home all day, I find myself eating more multi component meals. A handful of roasted brussels sprouts with Quick Roasted Tomatoes on Toast, or carrots, peanut butter hummus and garlic sauteed beet greens.

Cheezy Chili Sweet Potato Fries + Naturally Lean cookbook GIVEAWAY

I am trying to get back into the habit of making and eating more one-pot meals and I enjoyed her Zesty Black Bean Soup (I’d decrease the water next time, though). The Sunshine Breakfast Unscramble was an easy, novel way to make oven-baked tofu scramble! Her cashew queso was delicious and I used the majority of it to make a Mac and Collards dish. And well, these fries were scrumptious. Highly recommended.

Cheezy Chili Sweet Potato Fries

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to giveaway the cookbook to a reader living in the United States or Canada. To be entered in the random draw for the book, please leave a comment below telling me about your easiest vegan recipe. The winner will be selected at random on November 27, 2016. Good luck!

Recipes spotted from Naturally Lean elsewhere:

Chocolate Brownie Cake

Red Potato Watercress Salad

Cheezy Chili Sweet Potato Fries

Cheesy Chili Sweet Potato Fries
Recipe reprinted with permission from Naturally Lean: 125 Nourishing Gluten-Free, Plant-Based Recipes — All Under 300 Calories 

Author’s note: There’s a lot to love about these fries. Not only are they made with sweet potatoes, which boast a high amount of vitamin A and a decent amount of fiber, but they also require no frying! Therefore, they’re simple to make, and as good for you as they are good to gobble up.

2 pounds sweet potatoes (about 2 large, long, tubular potatoes)
2 teaspoons coconut or olive oil
3 tablespoons Parmesan Sprinkles (see below)
1 teaspoon ground chili seasoning, or to taste
1/2 teaspoon sweet paprika

1. Preheat your oven to 425 F. Peel the sweet potatoes, if you wish, and then slice into slender strips resembling French fries. The easiest way I’ve found to accomplish this is to first cut the sweet potato in half across and then slice the halves into three or four flat wedges. From there you can cut them into 1/2-inch-wide sticks. Transfer the sliced sweet potatoes to a large mixing bowl and toss with the coconut oil to coat.

2. In a small bowl, whisk together the Parmesan Sprinkles, chili seasoning, and paprika. Toss to coat the sweet potatoes and then arrange in a single layer on an ungreased baking sheet.

3. Bake for 15 minutes, flip, and bake for an additional 15 minutes. Turn off the oven and crack the door open ever so slightly. Let the sweet potatoes remain in the oven for about 25 minutes, or until crispy. Serve hot with your favorite dipping sauce.

Serves 6.

PER SERVING:

210 CALORIES
3.3 G FAT
212 MG SODIUM
1268 MG POTASSIUM
43.1 G CARBOHYDRATES
3 G PROTEIN

Parmesan Sprinkles
Author’s note: This little gem of a recipe couldn’t be any simpler. Made with almonds, lemon zest, and nutritional yeast, this powerhouse flavor enhancer is a much-loved addition to the pantry. Keep a jar on hand for an easy flavoring for popcorn, or a lovely garnish for a pasta dish—you can sprinkle it on virtually everything from salads to soups to roasted potatoes.

Zest of 1 large lemon (about 1 tablespoon)
1 cup almond meal
1/3 cup nutritional yeast
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon onion powder

1. Place all the ingredients in a jar that has a lid. Shake vigorously for 15 seconds. Stir and shake again. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 2 months.

Yield: 20 SERVINGS
Per serving: 38 CALORIES | 2.5 G FAT | 176 MG SODIUM | 101 MG POTASSIUM | 2.4 G CARBOHYDRATES | 1.3 G FIBER | 2.2 G PROTEIN

Recipes from Naturally Lean: 125 Nourishing Gluten-Free, Plant-Based Recipes — All Under 300 Calories © Allyson Kramer, 2016. Reprinted by permission of the publisher, Da Capo Lifelong Books. Available wherever books are sold.

Contest Rules: No purchase necessary. Contest period begins Saturday, November 12, 2016 and ends Sunday, November 27, 2016. For American and Canadian residents only. Approximate retail value US$22.99. Enter by writing a comment answering the prompt for a chance to win.  Entrants must supply a valid email address. Winners will be notified by email and must respond within 48 hours.

  1. Thanks for hosting this giveaway! I like to toss several whole sweet potatoes on a sheet in the oven until they are starting to weep; they store in the fridge, ready to peel/cube for any recipe, or even to peel and eat straight out of the fridge. I like the almost caramelly flavor of an oven roasted sweet potato. And it doesn’t get easier than bake & chill!

  2. We’ve just bought a sweet potato because every now and then I crave a big batch of sweet potato fries! I love yours and we’re going to make them soon😉 . As for a quick vegan recipe, one that we’ve just made is Farro and Bean Soup. So good, filling and tasty!

  3. I love cooking sweet potato fries in my air fryer. Thanks for the recipe.

  4. I just can’t get enough of sweet potatoes this time of year, and fries in general are my single biggest weakness, so this recipe is obviously going to the top of my must-make list. Love the parmesan sprinkles… I’ve been meaning to experiment with nutritional yeast, because I’ve heard such good things about it.

  5. My easiest vegan recipe is my greens, grains, and beans bowl – through some steamed greens, some grains (rice, quinoa, etc.), and some beans into a bowl, top with salsa / hot sauce, and it’s perfection! Thanks for the giveaway!!

  6. Those fries must be awesome! They’d really hit the spot right now… I have Allyson’s first two books; this one sounds great, too. As for the easiest vegan recipe, I have to say lentil soup. In a big pot, I simply throw some lentils, water, some grain (last time I went with rice), whatever veggies are in the fridge at the moment, maybe a can of diced tomatoes, and whatever seasoning sounds appealing that day. Simmer for a bit, and voilà! A delicious, satisfyingly warming and filling lentil soup!

  7. oven roasted veggies and nut butter on toast🙂

  8. mashed avocados, cherry tomatoes, cilantro, salt, lemon juice, cayenne, a bit of olive oil – all mixed up and topped with cubes of toasted bread or crackers – quick, delicious and easy to eat in front of the screen🙂

  9. These sound SO good. I love sweet potatoes and vegan parm, I can’t wait to try them together now! My easiest vegan recipe is baked sriracha and soy sauce tofu, it’s just tofu baked with a marinade of sriracha, soy sauce, and sesame or olive oil. Great for snacking, salads, sandwiches, stir-fries, anything! I love the idea of the oven baked scramble you mentioned, it sounds really neat.

  10. This book sounds wonderful! And those sweet potato fries are exactly what I’m craving right now. My easiest vegan meal is a big pot of French green lentils, simmered in veggie broth with carrot, celery, onion, and garlic. Good on their own, over anything, on the side, or as part of a salad. I like to make big batches and use them in everything for a few days.

  11. I made teensy tasty little toasted potatoes the other day, quite a bit like these ones actually. Not only were they easy and vegan, my kids adored them (and they’re not usually big on potatoes). So that might be my new favourite! If not, my sunomono recipe with shirataki noodles has got to be on the list – it’s easy, delicious, and it doesn’t even involve any cooking! Thanks for the lovely recipe, review, and chance to win! Cheers!

  12. Those sweet potato fries look scrumptious! My easiest (and favorite) vegan recipe is avocado toast. I guess that is not much of a recipe though! Another easy one is cooked lentils mixed with soy sauce, nutritional yeast and olive oil. Proportions don’t seem to matter- it always comes out great!

  13. I’ve transitioned from hummus + balsamic vinegar to avocado +b.v. for my salad dressing.

  14. My easiest vegan recipe is cinnamon oatmeal or a baked sweet potato. I wish more people understood how easy it can be.

  15. Oh boy. I lovelovelove sweet potato fries and these sound incredible. Definitely going to try this out sometime. I think I’m due for some SP fries anyway😉

    This book sounds lovely, too. My easiest vegan recipe? Slim pickin’s for vegan stuff on my pesco-veg blog BUT… I’d have to go with my Homemade Hummus with Za’atar and Sweet Paprika. It’s super simple, abso-freaking-lutely delish and addicting AF.

  16. We’re the same way with sweet potato fries. Never enough! I love the spices on these. It remind me of Chick-fil-a!

  17. One of my easiest “recipes” is just a big ol’ quinoa or rice bowl with tons of veggies and some sort of sauce. I love to do a teriyaki version with brown rice, broccoli, carrots, peas, corn, and tons of teriyaki sauce. Sometimes if I dedicate a little more time to it, I’ll add roasted sweet potatoes.

  18. My new fav vegan recipe is a butternut squash smoothie with coconut milk Tehina and maple syrup

  19. I will be making that Parmesan Sprinkles recipe TODAY – sounds amazing! My favorite easy vegan recipe at the moment is kitchari. So simple, versatile and perfect for the cooler weather.

  20. Swoon I love these and so jealous that I cannot enter the competition as I live in Wales UK
    : (

  21. I love sweet potato, and recently I’ve included them in soups and curries. I have quite an arsenal of easy vegan recipes. One of my favorites is an urad dal soup with tomatoes that is particularly warming this time of year.

  22. I love making butternut squash mac and cheese (without the cheese of course)! So tasty and healthy.🙂

  23. This looks great! nutritional yeast is a wonderful thing! I enjoy making and eating vegan cashew yogurt.

  24. My vegan recipe is hummus with garlic. But it’s only easy with a food processor.

  25. Sweet potato fries are my fave! My go to easy vegan recipe is a mashed avocado mixed with quinoa, steamed broccoli, nutritional yeast and sriracha!

  26. Thanks for hosting a giveaway of this book! I’ve actually had my eye on it for a while, and these fries look really yummy. When I’m hungry and don’t know what to make, I usually go with a chickpea stir-fry, or pasta with jarred sauce.

  27. Well the one we’re trying for dessert this Thanksgiving is baked sweet potato s’mores! Half healthy and half naughty but super easy. =)

  28. I’m loving all the sweet potato fry variations. My favorite vegan recipe is Tuscan Vegetable Soup by Ellie Krieger (free online). I top it with cubed avocado.

  29. I love a bowl of pan fried tofu, roasted squash, mushrooms, onions, garlic, and anything seasonal topped with crispy fried onions and a balsamic drizzle

  30. I find soups with lots of veggies and beans. =)

  31. There are a lot of easy vegan recipes out there! Maybe popcorn with god salt and an olive oil drizzle, or a great salad with homemade vinaigrette.🙂 Thanks for the giveaway opportunity!

  32. My easiest vegan recipe is quick miso soup with tofu and spinach. Thanks!

  33. roasted japanese sweet potatoes and steamed collard greens. There is nothing more simple but delicious than that!

What do you think?

