janet @ the taste space

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies + But My Family Would Never Eat Vegan! cookbook GIVEAWAY

In Book Review, Desserts on January 7, 2017 at 7:00 AM

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies + But My Family Would Never Eat Vegan! cookbook GIVEAWAY

I hope you aren’t sick of cookies yet, because if there was one way to share vegan yumminess, it would be through desserts. If you have been trying to eat vegan during January (aka Veganuary), I have the perfect cookbook for you: But My Family Would Never Eat Vegan!Kristy Turner’s second cookbook, following the success of her first cookbook But I Could Never Go Vegan! (you can see my full review here).

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies + But My Family Would Never Eat Vegan! cookbook GIVEAWAY

Kristy’s style and personality shine in her cookbook with chapters such as “If forced to choose between chicken wings and me, my spouse would choose the wings”, “The in-laws will just add this to their list of my faults”, “My sister thinks vegan baking is something only hippies do”, and “Uncle John thinks his comfort food is better than mine…and won’t shut up about it”. Her recipes are approachable and I can see everyone in the family enjoying them. Vegan Cheese-Stuffed Meatballs or Kung Pao Cauliflower, anyone?

Personally, I can vouch for her Chinese Chickpea Salad, which was incredible. The balance of flavours was impeccable and I highly recommend this salad, especially in the summer. I also made Maple Miso Tempeh Cutlets and her recommended Cheesy Roasted Sweet Potatoes over the holidays. Both were delicious and together, they paired for a fancy yet easy dinner.

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

 

I also made these peanut butter oatmeal cookies. Anything with oats is a go around here right now, so these have been a nice treat. They aren’t that sweet, even with the optional sweetener, so plan ahead. I also found that larger cookies tasted better, so opt for larger mounds of dough (2-3 tbsp each cookie). This would more closely match her yield of cookies, too.

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to giveaway the cookbook to a reader living in Canada or the United States. To be entered in the random draw for the book, please leave a comment below telling me about what kind of vegan foods you like to share with your family. The winner will be selected at random on January 15, 2017. Good luck!

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

Recipes from But My Family Would Never Eat Vegan! spotted elsewhere:

Beer-Marinated Portobello Tacos with Avocado Corn Salsa

Double-Double Cheeseburgers 

French Onion Soup with Smoked Gouda Cheese Sauce

Green Bean Casserole with Crispy Onion Topping 

Jackfruit Crabless Cakes with Lemon Dill Aïoli

Maple Miso Tempeh Cutlets

Marbled Pumpkin Cheesecake

Vanilla French Toast with Strawberry Sauce

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

Prep Time: 10 Minutes // Active Time: 20 Minutes // Inactive Time: 10 Minutes

Author’s note: Who doesn’t love a hearty, chewy, peanut-buttery oatmeal cookie, crammed with all sorts of tasty add-ins? Nobody. That’s why these cookies are bound to be a hit with everyone in the family. Peanut butter (or the nut or seed butter of your choice) works together with applesauce and coconut oil to replace eggs and butter, making a remarkably flavorful binder that builds perfectly soft and chewy cookies. You can make them as is, or add chocolate chips, raisins, nuts, or all of the above. I mean, really, who’s not going to like this cookie?

1 cup (130 g) unbleached all-purpose flour (or gluten-free flour blend, soy-free if necessary)
1 cup (100 g) rolled oats (certified gluten-free if necessary)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum (exclude if using all-purpose flour or if your gluten-free blend includes it)
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 cup (260 g) unsalted, unsweetened natural peanut butter
1/2 cup (120 ml) maple syrup
1/3 cup (80 g) unsweetened applesauce (or mashed banana)
1/4 cup (60 ml) coconut oil, melted
1/4 cup (40 g) coconut sugar, optional (Janet’s note: I wouldn’t skip this)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Optional add-ins: 1/2 cup (60 to 90 g) raisins, chopped peanuts, and/or vegan chocolate chips

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F (180°C). Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking mats.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, oats, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, xanthan gum (if using), and nutmeg until fully incorporated.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine the peanut butter, maple syrup, applesauce, coconut oil, coconut sugar (if using), and vanilla. Stir until combined.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until combined. If you’re using add-ins, fold them in.
  5. Scoop a heaping tablespoon of dough out of the bowl, roll it in your hands to make a perfect ball, and place it on the baking sheet. Repeat with the remaining dough, spacing the balls 1. inches (4 cm) apart. Use your fingers to gently flatten each ball just a bit.
  6. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes, until firm and slightly golden along the bottom. Let the cookies cool on the baking sheets for about 5 minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack. Cool completely before serving. The cookies will keep stored in an airtight container (in the fridge if the weather is warm) for 3 to 4 days.

Makes 30 cookies

Recipe from But My Family Would Never Eat Vegan!: 125 Recipes to Win Everyone Over © Kristy Turner, 2016. Photographs © Chris Miller. Reprinted by permission of the publisher, The Experiment. Available wherever books are sold.

Contest Rules: No purchase necessary. Contest period begins Saturday, January 7, 2017 and ends Sunday, January 15, 2017. For American and Canadian residents only. Approximate retail value US$25. Enter by writing a comment answering the prompt for a chance to win.  Entrants must supply a valid email address. Winners will be notified by email and must respond within 48 hours.

  1. I like to share vegan baked goods because often people can’t tell that there’s “weird” replacement ingredients in them

  2. Just last night I made a big batch of refried beans, served with a non-dairy cheese sauce for homemade nachos. Even better, my 8-y/o son asked for steamed cauliflower, ‘because it goes so well with nachos.’ When we are taking treats somewhere, I often make maple-chocolate chip cookies.

    Thanks for hosting this giveaway; this cookbook looks fun!

  3. My secret ingredient for many savory dishes (lentil soup or chili, for example) is a dash of all-natural mesquite smoke flavoring plus a dab of that veggie bouillon paste that comes in a little jar (like a bouillon cube without the hydrogenated fat). My non-vegetarian friends cannot believe no ham bone was involved.

  4. Cookies or other baked goods are usually the best way to get my family to try my “weird vegan food”.

  5. I love cooking one-pot meals for the family where we can all grab as much as we want – pastas, chilis, and soups. I also love making tacos and anything where you can make a bunch of sides because it feels more communal that way. 🙂

  6. I make sure to make vegan dishes for non vegans that are high in fat and a bit on the decedent side. It’s great to see their surprise when they take a bite and love it!

  7. This has been on my list of cookbooks to get my hands on for a while! I like to share vegan soups with my family the most — there’s nothing like a spicy, hot, comforting bowl of soup. 🙂 Thanks for the giveaway opportunity!

  8. I like to share vegan breakfasts with my family. Vegan versions of waffles, pancakes, hashbrown casserole, and French toast always satisfy.

  9. I am looking forward to reading this book as I have recently borrowed her first book and really love it – those chapter titles sound like fun and the cookies sound delicious

  10. I would like my son to eat more vegan dishes with veggies in them.

  11. I like to share vegan desserts with my family, because it means we can all enjoy it together (including me, the only vegan, and my nephew who is allergic to both dairy and eggs). I also like to share fabulous main dishes whenever I can; those often turn out to be dishes that I have improvised, using flavourful ingredients, and flavour is usually what wins people over.

  12. I would like to share some dinner recipes. Every time I visit, I have to fend for myself while they all each together.

  13. We love eggplant everything !!

  14. I feel any sort of vegan baked good is the easiest for me to share with family and friends as they aren’t as ‘scary’ as tofu or seitan.

  15. My kids like zucchini pasta and vegan lasagna.

  16. I love to share smoothies – they can be fruit or veggie and everyone loves them!! I am longing to learn what else I can make to share though. Thanks for the giveaway!

  17. I always go for desserts as the hook, especially pie. ❤

  18. I make vegan curry dishes. I think the delicious flavors make them forget they are eating vegan foods. Also, I never say it is vegan, which would immediately make them think they are missing something.

  19. I often try to make pulse-based meals for my non-vegan family members, to try and expand their ideas about what a meatless meal can be. Those cookies seem perfect for my vegan, gluten-free partner, too!

  20. I’d love quick dinners. My MIL is as lovely and open-minded as can be, but I still stress over what to serve.

  21. I love to make casseroles for my family, vegan of course!

  22. I like to share familiar foods with my non-vegan family. These cookies would be perfect to share with them.

  23. Vegan chili using vegan ground beef!

  24. Such an apt title! I only fess up that something was vegan after it has been enjoyed….

What do you think?

