janet @ the taste space

Miso Fried Rice with Baby Bok Choy and Tofu

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) on January 14, 2017 at 7:01 AM

Miso Fried Rice with Baby Bok Choy

I don’t know if other moms can relate but I am constantly running out of space on my phone and google account. I remember when I first opened my gmail account and it was meant to never run out of space. Yeah, um, not for parents.

Don’t get me wrong, it isn’t like I am taking tons of photos of my baby. I just happen to take a quick flurry of photos at one time, because much like a cat you can’t control, I never really know what kind of expression will be captured with each photo. Come to think of it, I have plenty of photos of my baby sleeping, since I like to share them with Rob as a form of my small accomplishments for the day. Getting the baby to sleep is never an easy feat. He does not nap very well.

For a while, we had some longer sleeps at night, which I could count on one hand. Provided I get some sleep, the continual feeding every 2-3 hours doesn’t bother me as much. It just means I keep trying to get him to sleep every 2-3 hours, too.

Miso Fried Rice with Baby Bok Choy

Here is a quick dish Rob made for us. It is quite a treat when Rob makes us a hot meal on the weekends. Much like his impromptu stir fries, this one was in part inspired by the miso stir fry Rob used to make when we first began dating.

Our VIP (very important plants) of the day were frozen red peppers and baby bok choy along with a pack of tofu and leftover rice. The best part of baby bok choy is that you get a firm vegetable (the stem) as well as a green leafy part, like a 2 for 1.

Rob whipped together a very delicious sauce, that I just had to share. It had a mix of ingredients from our fridge but it worked so well. Miso, mirin, orange juice, toasted sesame oil and sriracha. All good things.

Miso Fried Rice with Baby Bok Choy

PS. I am sharing this with Meat Free Mondays, Eat Your Greens and Healthy Vegan Fridays.

Miso Fried Rice with Baby Bok Choy

2 tbsp miso mixed with 1 tbsp water
1 tbsp soy sauce (use Bragg’s liquid aminos for a soy and gluten free version)
1 tbsp mirin
1 tbsp orange juice
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
Squirt Sriracha
1 tsp toasted sesame oil
1 tsp ground ginger

1 tbsp oil of choice
1 lb pack extra-firm tofu, cubed
1.5 cups chopped red peppers
2 cups leftover brown rice, chilled
4 cups baby bok choy, stems chopped and separated from the leaves

1. Combine all the ingredients for the sauce (miso, soy sauce, mirin, orange juice, apple cider vinegar, sriracha, toasted sesame oil and ginger). Stir or shake to mix well.

2. In a large frypan over medium heat, heat the oil. Once hot add the tofu and cook until evenly brown, turning over to catch all sides. Push to the side and saute the red bell peppers, brown rice and stems of the bok choy. Once softened and warm, stir in the leafy green parts of the bok choy until cooked through and a brilliant green. Serve warm.

Serves 2-3.

  1. This cracked me up –> “like a cat you can’t control.” So true. I bet that baby is adorable!

    This looks amazing. I love miso. I just need some mirin and I have everything to make it, actually!

  2. “I don’t know if other moms can relate but I am constantly running out of space on my phone and google account.”
    OMG YES!!! Except I’m not a mom… hmmm. Well, I still totally relate. I think Terry is pretty annoyed that my Google Drive is full, my old phone was full and my laptop just notified me it, too is now full. I didn’t even realize that was possible. Damn.
    We don’t use miso enough, it’s sitting neglected on the door of our fridge. This looks like the perfect way to use some up! Great job, Rob!

    • Yup.. I have the same trio of filled up things.. phone, google drive and laptop!! Somehow they seem to fill up all at the same time! I just removed numerous gigs of food photos from 2015 from my laptop, so I should be good for another few months. HA! 🙂

What do you think?

