janet @ the taste space

Tropical Cabbage Salad with Pineapple and Cashews

In Salads on June 25, 2017 at 8:32 PM

Pineapple Sesame Cabbage Salad2.jpg

Oh my, it has been a while. I left the blog to go on vacation, returned back home but never returned to the blog. I used to be thrilled if I posted once a week, now I might be thrilled if it were once a month!  I am certainly no super-mom, and definitely not a super-blogger. Mostly just trying to keep everyone fed and (mostly) rested.

This month we celebrated baby P’s first birthday. I can’t believe both how quickly the time passed, and also how much we’ve been through during the year. How much help we needed and how family helped to rally behind us when we needed them the most.

There were no celebrations when P was born. My baby showers were cancelled and I was too sad to want to celebrate anything. It took me 8-10 months to consider having a birthday party but when I thought about it, about how far our little premie had come, I knew I wanted to celebrate with everyone who joined us during this past year.

Family and friends came over and it was the first time we had ever hosted so many people at our house. Thankfully we also had help for the party. The main entree portion was made by my mother-in-law and my parents made three birthday cakes for dessert. We were in charge of the drinks and salads.

I ended up quadrupling some of my favourite recipes since we were anticipating 50 guests. 11-Spice Lentil Salad, Mango Barbecue Beans, Smoked Paprika Potato Salad, a pasta salad from my university days (I called it “the best pasta salad” at the time!) and this cabbage salad. There were plenty of salads to choose from.

Pineapple Sesame Cabbage Salad.jpg

Tropical inspired cabbage salad with ripe juice pineapple and cashews with a sesame infused dressing sprinkled with sesame seeds. The first time, I only used one cabbage but I added red cabbage for the party and it was really pretty. It bled a bit so it wasn’t as pretty as leftovers (so if you are making it for a crowd, make it the day of the party).

The recipe will make a lot of salad. I only doubled it for the party, which gives you an idea of how much it made.  We had tons of leftovers (although I think the Potato Salad was gobbled down the fastest) which made me very happy because we didn’t have time to cook more food that weekend anyways. The leftover mango barbecue beans were frozen.

Summer is perfect salad weather, so I hope you enjoy it as much as us. The leftovers were delightful.

I have been a way from blog reading too, so please stop by and say hello if you’re still here. 🙂 I still have a few more cookbook giveaways in the queue.

DSC_1874.jpg

I am sharing this with Meat Free Mondays and No Croutons Required.

Tropical Cabbage Salad with Pineapple and Cashews
Inspired by Blissful Basil

1 large head savoy cabbage, flimsy outer leaves removed
1/2 medium head purple cabbage
1 red bell pepper, cored and julienned
1 bunch scallions (6–8), ends trimmed and very thinly sliced
1/2 pineapple, skin removed and chopped into bite-size pieces
1/2 cup chopped cilantro
1/2 cup cashews, toasted
1/2 cup sesame seeds, toasted
1/4 cup neutral oil (such as grapeseed oil)
1/2
 cup pure maple syrup
1/2 cup rice vinegar
1/4 cup tamari
tablespoon toasted sesame oil

  1. Finely slice the cabbage and place into a large bowl. Add bell pepper, scallions, pineapple and cilantro.
  2. Toast your cashews in a skillet on low heat, watching carefully so they don’t burn. Remove when toasted. Follow up with the sesame seeds. Remove from the skillet once toasted and allow to cool.
  3. In a medium mason jar (with a lid available), combine the oil, maple syrup, rice vinegar, tamari and toasted sesame oil. Screw on the lid and shake until combined.
  4. Add the dressing prior to serving.

Serves 8.

  1. I’m so glad you’re all doing well! I love seeing your blog comes across my feed so I can check in. 🙂

    The salad looks fabulous. Happy Birthday to your little one!

  2. Welcome back! And Happy Birthday to your baby!

  3. Nice to hear from you. Happy birthday to your wee one – am glad you got to feel like the celebrations. Hope he is thriving now. And your salads sound wonderful for the party! (we went to a kid’s party yesterday and the food was just so beige)

  4. Yeahhh…!!! I’m glad to hear from you again.
    Happy Birthday to your little one.
    Thanks Janet for all theses ideas of salads for parties. I’ll definitely try them all…hé hé !!!
    Have a nice summer 🙂

What do you think?

