janet @ the taste space

Breakfast Tofu + No Meat Athlete cookbook GIVEAWAY

In Breakfasts, Mains (Vegetarian) on October 13, 2017 at 7:59 AM

20161023_NMA_BreakfastTofu_0229.jpg

This might be called Breakfast Tofu but it is good for any meal of the day. A cumin-infused spice rub makes these quite flavourful and baking allowed the flavours to permeate the tofu. Serve, as is, as a slab of tofu with a side of vegetables, or use it as a filling for your next sandwich. I preferred the latter, but honestly, you could have caught me snacking from the pile in the fridge as well.

This recipe is from The No Meat Athlete CookbookThis is the second book from Matt Frazier, the No Meat Athlete, which he co-authored with Stepfanie Romine. I reviewed his first book a few years ago, No Meat AthleteWhile his first book had some recipes, it was also a guide for the beginner (endurance) athlete/runner. This new cookbook is focused on recipes. Matt focuses on easy, plant-based recipes that are loaded with good ingredients and flavours. Athletes need to focus on sports, not spending forever in the kitchen, so they are relatively simple as well. Matt and Stepfanie want to make healthy eating accessible.

There are templates like sheet pan meals with veggies and tofu and simple recipes like Lentil-Mushroom No Meat Pasta (which I really liked), but also inventive recipes like Olive-Chickpea Waffles. I enjoyed the Pinto Bean & Greens Enchilada Casserole and the Pineapple-Black Bean Bowls with Roasted Vegetables. There are also recipe for sports drinks, workout snacks and the odd dessert. The balanced nature of the recipes are apparent and how I strive to craft my own meals. Of note, Matt includes directions for both oil-free and oil-added recipes. I haven’t subscribed to the no-oil camp yet, but that option is available should you want to try it out. Oddly, there are no calorie breakdowns provided for anything other than the fuel and recovery snacks.

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to giveaway the cookbook to a reader living in Canada or the United States. To be entered in the random draw for the book, please leave a comment below telling me about your favourite sport. The winner will be selected at random on November 1, 2017. Good luck!

Breakfast Tofu + No Meat Athlete Cookbook Review and giveaway

Breakfast Tofu
Recipe shared, with permission, from The No Meat Athlete Cookbook

Author’s note: This breakfast tofu is a mobile version of a tofu scramble, which—while delicious—doesn’t travel well and requires stovetop supervision. Wrap a couple of slices of this tofu in a brown rice tortilla, or sandwich it between two slices of sprouted grain bread with loads of arugula, avocado, and even a few leftover cold roasted root veggies. If you make a big batch on the weekend, you can have your weekday breakfasts prepped and ready to go in three minutes flat. Although we prefer to serve this tofu at room temperature or cold from the fridge (it firms up as it cools), it can be eaten right away, too.

  • Two 16-ounce (454 g) packages sprouted or extra-firm tofu, drained
  • 1 tablespoon reduced-sodium, gluten-free tamari
  • 1/4 cup (15 g) nutritional yeast
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon yellow curry powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  1. Preheat the oven to 400°F (200°C). Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Slice each package of tofu into six pieces. Pat dry. Drizzle evenly with the tamari.
  3. Combine the nutritional yeast, cumin, garlic powder, turmeric, curry powder, and black pepper in a large rectangular food storage container with a tight-fitting lid. Place the sliced tofu in the container and shake gently until all slices are covered. (You might need to open the container and rotate the slices a bit.) Let sit while the oven preheats. (The marinated tofu can be refrigerated for up to 1 day.
  4. Place tofu on the baking sheet. Spread any extra seasoning mix on top. Bake for 30 minutes, flipping halfway through.
  5. Serve at room temperature or cold from the fridge.

Makes: 12 slices

Time: 10 minutes to prep, 30 minutes to cook

 

Recipe from The No Meat Athlete Cookbook: Whole Food, Plant-Based Recipes to Fuel Your Workouts and the Rest of Your Life © Matt Frazier and Stepfanie Romine, 2017. Photographs copyright © Ken Carlson, Waterbury Publications Inc. Reprinted by permission of the publisher, The Experiment. Available wherever books are sold. theexperimentpublishing.com

  1. Thanks Janet for that wonderful giveaway, review of that interesting cookbook and the recipe. I’ll try the tofu recipe for sure. Thanks again.
    My favorite sport or activity is probably cycling. I also really enjoy hicking and snowshoeing during winter.
    Have a nice weekeend 🙂

  2. I recently took up kickboxing and it’s been the most fantastic workout for me. After years of trying to be a runner, weight lifter, swimmer, I’ve found something I love to do!

  3. This cookbook sounds fabulous. I’ve tried one recipe from it, the spaghetti with the lentil bolognese, and it was delicious. As for favorite sport, I cannot choose–ultimate frisbee, roller derby, and ice skating.

  4. This tofu looks amazing! My favorite sport is tennis 🙂

  5. My favourite sport is badminton. I’ve played this since I was little.

  6. This sounds so good! I love the curry idea. Have you ever done black salt on grilled tofu? SO good!

  7. I’m a big fan of tennis. I used to play a lot with my parents when I was a kid, so it reminds me of my time with them.

  8. my favorite sport is hiking with my dog.

  9. My favorite sport is powerlifting. This cookbook looks really interesting.

  10. My favourite sport in squash. I can’t believe it’s not an olympic sport!

  11. Mine is swimming, which I do daily. 🙂

  12. Hi! My favorite sport is swimming, but mostly in the ocean. 😉

  13. I get the most joy out of walking my sweet rescue Stormy. We love going for long walks in our neighborhood and getting our steps in for the day.

  14. My favorite sport is yoga 😉

  15. I like yoga! Is that a sport? Either way it’s fun

  16. MY favorite sport is BOWLING. What does that say about me?

  17. Favorite sport is going to the gym. Looks like a great book.

  18. I used to be big into softball through high school, but these days my favorite “sport” (or I suppose form of exercise) is just working out on my own, especially lifting.

  19. Why don’t more people eat tofu for breakfast? I would definitely eat this for mine. 🙂 I am not a very sporty person, so probably my favorite form of exercise is yoga — although I also love walking, and I will definitely swim if given a chance. Thanks for the giveaway opportunity!

  20. It isn’t so much a sport but when it comes to being active pilates was my favorite. One on one sessions on the reformer and Cadillac. =)

What do you think?

