janet @ the taste space

Cinnamon Snaps

In Desserts, Favourites on December 12, 2009 at 11:12 AM

The task was to describe your favourite holiday cookie. To tantalize your taste buds with only a few sentences; to pique your curiosity; to share your holiday traditions. Everyone voted for those they wanted to make it to the bake off. From the top 3, they will be made and tasted and the ultimate winner chosen for this year’s Virtual Cookie Swap.

This was my submission for my tried-and-true Cinnamon Snaps:

I have made them for the past few years and they never last until Christmas! They are a lovely variation on a gingersnap, but instead of ginger it is filled with a strong cinnamon taste. The cookies are slightly crispy on the outside but inside soft, melt-in-your-mouth, covered with a cinnamon-sugar topping that sparkles in your mouth. They are best straight from the oven but try to leave some for others to try. And bonus, it is an easy recipe to make. 😀

I originally found the recipe online, source unknown, but my google prowess shows a slightly modified version on the Taste of Home website (from Country Woman March/April 2001, p29).

I will definitely be making these shortly, but still devouring recipes to figure out which other cookies will be coming out this year. It will be a battle of the rugelach, for sure, so stayed tuned for the results of that.

I am submitting this to Eat Christmas Cookies, Season 3, hosted by Food Blogga.

Cinnamon Snaps

3/4 cup shortening (Crisco, white)
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1/4 cup molasses
2-1/4 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
cinnamon sugar, for rolling

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2. Cream shortening and sugar.
3. Add eggs and molasses and mix.
4. Separately mix together the flour, soda, cinnamon and salt.
5. Add dry mix to wet gradually and mix in.
6. Roll in 3/4″ to 1″ balls using your hands. ( Smaller balls yield 5 1/2 dozen. Large yield 4 1/2 dozen. I prefer the larger ones)
7. Roll in cinnamon sugar (I use 1 part cinnamon to 4 parts sugar).
8. Bake 10-12 minutes until set and cracked.
9. Cool on sheet for just a few seconds, until the cookies are transportable.
10. Remove to wire rack to cool.

  1. These look fantastic! I happen to love gingersnaps so these would be gobbled up in no time methinks! 😀

  2. I adore gingersnaps and cinnamon, so these would make me very merry! Thanks for a new twist on an old favorite!

  3. […] baking yet. I made the Key Lime Meltaways last year for Christmas. It took me nearly a year to post all my cookies from my holiday baking escapades, and one vegan cookie that wasn’t worthy of […]

  4. […] really wanted to veganize my yummy Cinnamon Snaps but didn’t have any regular molasses. I contemplated doing a trial round replacing it with […]

  5. […] contribution were Cinnamon Snaps, which I veganized very easily from my (Not Vegan) Cinnamon Snaps recipe. I wanted to keep a more neutral flavour so I used the Ener-G egg replacer to replace the […]

  6. […] Cardamom Snickerdoodles, Blackstrap Gingerbread Crinkle Cookies, Cinnamon Snaps and even my (Not Vegan) Cinnamon Snaps. I don’t want to name any as my favourite since I love them all, but these certainly were […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.