janet @ the taste space

Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins

In Breakfasts, Desserts on November 28, 2009 at 9:33 PM

Once I opened the can of pumpkin puree, I started to look for other ways of using pumpkin. I love the combination of cinnamon and pumpkin, so this was a natural muffin to make. I got a few cookbooks on squash from the public library and was drawn to this recipe. I found it in Pumpkin and Squash: Recipes from Canada’s Best Chefs by Elaine Elliot and Virginia Lee. The recipe was submitted by the now-closed Jakobstettel Inn in St. Jacob’s, Ontario (which still looks like a gorgeous place for a rural retreat and close to the wonderful St Jacob’s market), who promised moist, delicious muffins. The recipe was modified to include less sugar and less oil, and it was spot-on: a flavourful, unassuming moist muffin.  I had to beg my mom not to eat too many before I could take a quick photo one morning. I actually have to give credit to my mom, who made the muffins for me as a surprise after a long day at work.

Lots of spices work well with squash (nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger, cloves) and I still have a few more recipes to share with the remainder of my pumpkin puree. In the meantime, go here to enter to win a slew of wonderful spices. Another giveaway can be found here.

Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins

2 eggs
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup + 2 tbsp pumpkin puree
1/2 cup oil
1-1/2 cups flour
1/2 tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup dried cranberries

1. Preheat oven to 375F.

2. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the eggs and sugar. Slowly beat in pumpkin and oil. Add flour, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda and salt; mix until smooth but do not overmix. Stir in cranberries.

3. Spoon into muffin cups, filling two-thirds full. Bake 15-20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Makes 12 muffins

  1. These look great. I can’t wait to try them. My husband loves muffins!

  2. I just made a batch and they turned our great. I used a mix of dried cranberries and blueberries and they both plumped up and gave the muffins the perfect consistency. This will be a recipe I will keep filed for years.

  3. […] Posted in Breakfasts by Saveur on September 30, 2010 Oftentimes, my breakfast and dessert could be the same dish. I never really thought I had sweet breakfasts, but I definitely prefer more […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.