janet @ the taste space

Citrus Salad with a Cinnamon Yogurt Dressing

In Desserts, Salads on March 25, 2010 at 6:25 PM

I had wanted to make a citrus salad for a while. I only recently discovered how wonderful navel and Cara Cara oranges taste. You see, I never liked oranges. Clementines, yes. I like orange juice and the orange flavour, but some oranges are just no fun. I just guess I never met the right one. That is until a friend shared a Cara Cara orange with me.  Navels and Cara Caras are sweet and light. Granted, I still have to pick a time to get my nails pulpy from peeling the orange, but at least now I enjoy what is inside.  So which citrus salad to make? Spoiled by so many choices, I eventually settled on making a citrus salad with Iranian green raisins, pistachios and a cinnamon yogurt dressing adapted from Green Kitchen Stories. It had a Middle Eastern feel to it and featured a sweet yogurt dressing, which I absolutely adored in a previous chickpea and spinach salad. It was a snap to put together and tasted great.

A friend claimed this wasn’t really cooking! Well, technically, no, but it is still a dish to devour! Enjoy all the benefits of citrus with the chewy raisins, crunchy pistachios (next time I will definitely chop them, or smash them with a fry pan into chunks), refreshing mint and the sweet but spicy cinnamon yogurt dressing. I used my China Cassia cinnamon which elevated the heat for my virgin spice palate. Enjoy!

I am submitting it to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Graziana from Erbe in Cucina (Cooking with Herbs).

Citrus Salad with a Cinnamon Yogurt Dressing

3-4 citrus fruits (I used a navel orange, tangerine, and pink grape fruit, but blood oranges would add nice colour)
1/8 cup Iranian green raisins
1/8 cup pistachio nuts (roughly chopped)
a couple of fresh mint leaves

4 tbsp yogurt
2 tsp cinnamon
3/4 tsp maple syrup
2 squeezes of fresh lemon juice
a couple of fresh mint leaves (chopped)

1. Peel and cut all the citrus fruits in thin slices. Arrange the slices in layers on a plate. Sprinkle the green raisins, pistachio nuts and mint on top of the fruit.

2. Mix yogurt, cinnamon, maple syrup, lemon juice and mint in a small bowl and serve it with the citrus salad.

Serves 3-4.

  1. I will vouch for the frying pan technique. No nuts can survive that fury!

  2. I like the idea of yogurt sauce with that salad – delicious!

  3. Thank you for joining to Weekend Herb Blogging!

  4. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mr. Goorme. Mr. Goorme said: [Resep] Citrus Salad with Iranian Green Raisins, Pistachio Nuts and Mint in a Cinnamon Yogurt Dressing http://ow.ly/1ruw8 […]

  5. That looks beautiful!

  6. THanks to your beautiful pictures – i recreated the same thing for breakfast at home this morning 😀

  7. what a beautiful looking salad and the flavour combination sounds divine.

    thanks for sharing with the WHB crew.

  8. janet..I must try this..I adore oranges in all ways, raw, cooked and…:)))
    baciusss

  9. janet! it is super!!
    I added some leek and crunchy salad. I used blood oranges.
    it is very very tasty.
    thank’s for the recipe!
    baciusss

    >a href”http://www.flickr.com/photos/briggishome/4476367000/”<orange salad

  10. […] en jugos. Si escogemos nuestras frutas favoritas, tendremos un excelente resultado y esta ensalada cítrica con aderezo de yogurt y canela será una manera baja en calorías, rápida y fácil de […]

  11. […] en jugos. Si escogemos nuestras frutas favoritas, tendremos un excelente resultado y esta ensalada cítrica con aderezo de yogurt y canela será una manera baja en calorías, rápida y fácil de […]

  12. What an exquisite looking salad!

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.