janet @ the taste space

Summer Vegetable Pasta Salad with Lemon Basil Almond Pesto

In Mains (Vegetarian), Salads on August 3, 2010 at 6:53 AM

So now that I made pesto, I had to figure out what to do with it.  Pesto works well with a pasta salad, so I made a tasty pasta salad that used the summer’s bounty of vegetables.  The unifying taste comes from the pesto and since I used a nice, light lemony pesto, with a splash of red wine vinegar, it was a lovely summer salad indeed. My dad commented that he wished it had more pasta, compared to vegetables, so proceed with a ratio you prefer.

This simplistic recipe is from The Modern Vegetarian Kitchen by Peter Berley which also had the recipe for the lemon basil almond pesto.

summer vegetable pasta with lemon almond pesto {vegan}

Here are a few other ideas for using pesto:

Pesto Rice Salad from Eats Well With Others
Heather’s Quinoa Salad (with Cherry Tomatoes, Corn, Kale and Pesto) from 101 Cookbooks
Arugula Pesto Wheat Berry Salad from 101 Cookbooks
Wheat Berries with Roasted Vegetables and Red Pesto from Anja’s Food 4 Thought
Foil-Baked Salmon with Pesto and Tomato from Kalyn’s Kitchen
Pesto Palmiers from Eating Out Loud
Romaine Pesto and Egg-Stuffed Tomatoes from Smitten Kitchen
White Bean Salad with Pesto from the New York Times

This is my submission to this month’s Pasta Please for pesto, this month’s No Croutons Required featuring carrots and to Presto Past Nights, hosted by Ruth at Once Upon a Feast, and to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays.

Summer Vegetable Pasta Salad with a Lemon Basil Almond Pesto

6 cups chopped vegetables (I used 1 carrot, 1 yellow zucchini, 1 green zucchini and 3 bell peppers)
1/2 pound pasta
2/3 cup lemon basil almond pesto (or pesto of your choice)
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

1. Boil water. Add 2 tbsp salt. Cook the vegetables, uncovered, for 2-3 minutes. Remove from water and run under cold water.
2. Return water to a boil. Stir in the pasta and cook until al dente. Run pasta under cold water when done and set aside.
3. Whisk together the pesto, vinegar and oil. Pour the vinaigrette over the pasta and vegetables and toss well. Cover and let rest for 15 minutes at room temperature.

Serves 4-6.

  1. Looks yum….I love it very much

  2. Thanks for featuring me in your pesto recipe round up!

    I love the stuff and can never find enough uses for it. I need to try it with almonds, though.

    All the fresh veggies in that pasta have my stomach rumbling!

  3. wow pasta looks sooooo delicious n colorful …i can feel the taste with yummy pesto
    first time here ..if u get time do visit my blog
    Satya
    http://www.superyummyrecipes.com

  4. Wow, my favorite sauce and that is pesto. Love the presentation and recipe both. Please feel free to send this to my event as you made a bookmarked recipe 🙂

    http://mharorajasthanrecipes.blogspot.com/2010/08/bookmarked-recipes-every-tuesday-event_02.html

  5. Your salad looks wonderful! Thanks for mentioning my foil-baked salmon with pesto too.

  6. This is a beautiful salad

  7. Great post and what a beautiful salad. Thanks for sharing with Presto Pasta Nights.

  8. Delicious! I want to dig right in.

  9. That looks like summer in a bowl!

  10. What a wonderful way of enjoying fresh summer vegetables! I have to try this.

  11. Such a gorgeous, colorful salad–I love it! Thanks for sending it to Souper Sundays!

  12. This looks like summer! My meat eating husband is out of town and this will be a perfect summer dinner for me and the kids. Thanks for a very timely post!

  13. Oh man this looks delicious! And your photographs are beautiful! Everything here looks great!
    I recently launched my own blog, I’d love for you to check it out and let me know what you think! 🙂 Thanks!

  14. Looks amazing, I want to make this tonight! However, why is the first step of the directions to preheat your oven to 350? I didn’t see where you bake anything…just boiling veggies and pasta… Thanks!

  15. Thanks for the reply back! I made this recipe and it featured it on my food blog, Finally Foodie:

    http://www.finallyfoodie.com/2010/09/heating-things-up-with-homemade-salsa.html

    • Thanks for the feedback. 🙂 I found the pesto mellowed when I added it to the vegetables, but I understand where you’re coming from when you thought it was a bit acidic.

  16. Awesome pasta salad! I just made one the other day, and blogged about it too! I used this recipe for Rotini Pasta Salad It was so delicious!

  17. […] Asparagus, Strawberry and Basil Salad with Mosto Cotto Creamy Zucchini and Basil Soup Summer Vegetable Pasta Salad with Lemon Basil Almond Pesto Saffron Marinated Paneer Cheese with Fresh Basil, Cashews and Pomegranate Seeds (not vegan, […]

  18. Goodness, that looks amazing. I’ve got to try it!

  19. This looks very pretty and colourful, thanks for entering into Pasta Please.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.