janet @ the taste space

Spicy Artichoke Heart Dip

In Appetizers, Favourites on February 1, 2011 at 6:09 AM


Office potlucks: Do you cringe or relish? I do both. Most people bring store-bought treats to these shindigs, which is where the cringing comes in (I will typically pass by these treats). But I relish that I can try new recipes! I don’t often make appetizers such as dips. It takes me a while to go through 2 cups of dip, so I usually reserve appetizers for special occasions.


Whereas most artichoke heart dips are loaded with cheese/mayo/cream, I was eager to try this spicy artichoke heart dip from ExtraVeganZa since it was packed with artichoke hearts and garlic instead of all that extra stuff.

The ingredient list is actually quite short – artichoke hearts, olive oil, garlic, chili flakes, salt and lemon juice – and with a long simmer on the stovetop, a silky, sublime dip is created. It is addictively good. The artichokes and garlic blend into one with a little zip from the chili flakes. Served with peppery crackers and pita slices, this was a tasty dip. A co-worker commented, “You can actually taste the artichokes! Yum!”.


I adapted the original recipe from ExtraVeganZa only slightly by decreasing the amount of chili flakes. Oddly enough, I found it mellowed and was less spicy the longer it sat in my fridge. If you want more heat, this dip can take more chili flakes.  With the small amount of Aleppo chili flakes, it still had a slight zing, which is probably best when serving to large crowds. The oil seemed to separate after sitting at room temperature, but it didn’t taste too oily.  I used 5 tbsp of olive oil, but I think this could be decreased to 4 tbsp.

I will confess that I didn’t bring all the dip to work, and while I also planned to use it as a spread for sandwiches/wraps, I ended up just eating it as a snack.

Spicy Artichoke Heart Dip
This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging hosted by me this week!

Spicy Artichoke Heart Dip (or Spread)

2-14 oz cans of plain artichoke hearts, drained
1 bulb of garlic (ie. 10-14 cloves of garlic), peeled
1/4 tsp Aleppo chili flakes (or to taste – I found this gave a mild zing)
4-5 tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp fine sea salt
1 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice (half a lemon)

1. Combine the artichoke hearts, peeled garlic, chili flakes, olive oil and salt in a small saucepan.  Cover and simmer on low for one hour.

2. Remove from heat. Add lemon juice. Use an immersion blender to blend to your desired consistency.

3. Serve warm or chilled with crackers, bread, vegetables, etc.

Serves 4-6.

  1. this artichoke dip looks delicious! i love artichokes, but can never enjoy the dips made from them because they contain dairy. i love that the ingredient list is short- sometimes simple is best. thanks for this great recipe!

  2. I definitely cringe at any sort of potlucks. Nothing good can come out of them. Except for cellulite.

    This artichoke dip looks fantastic! I love the minimalist ingredient list.

  3. I have to admit that even though I love cooking I cringe at pot lucks. This Friday I was asked to participate in “down home southern cooking”. (sigh….this is not my area of taste but what can ya do? We’re in the south.).
    I am printing this out and making it ASAP. Great choice!

  4. Very interesting dip, looks marvellous..

  5. This looks so good! I also do not love the mayo-heavy dips. If I had a super bowl party to attend this year, I would definitely bring this! 🙂

  6. My feelings on potlucks are the same. It’s funny, because even though I know I don’t need to impress people who show up with supermarket fare, for some reason I still always feel the need to “bring it.” I love that this artichoke dip is so different than the typical mayo-laden versions. I bet it would be delicious blended with fava or chickpea puree too!

  7. I would end up just eating as a snack, too! I would’t resist the temptation!

  8. […] is for Artichoke: Spicy Artichoke Heart Dip at The Taste […]

  9. I am intrigued. This recipe appeals to me as I like dips that have few ingredients and are naturally creamy. I also like the color of your dip.

  10. I love how light and healthy this sounds compared to the standard creamy artichoke dips full of fat.

  11. […] of rustica fig bread Smears of Trader Joe’s artichoke antipasto (my spicy artichoke heart dip would work really well here if not travelling) Handful of arugula Couple strips of prosciutto […]

  12. […] are inherently evil and pander to the obesity epidemic (Sorry, America!).  Ahhh but then I found this wonderful little treasure whilst surfing the interweb and I couldn’t resist making it, hypocrite that I am.  Very […]

  13. […] traditional wrap with whole wheat tortillas) 2 cups baby spinach 1 red pepper, sliced 1/4 recipe Spicy Artichoke Heart Dip (or could substitute 1/2 15-oz can artichoke hearts packed in water, well […]

  14. How did I miss this recipe in ExtraVeganZa?? Sounds delicious. I love that everything is simmered together.

  15. Made this tonight, but had to use marinated artichoke hearts, ’cause I didn’t have any in water. Halved the amount of lemon juice and used no salt. Very good. Made for a potluck tomorrow night; can’t wait to dig in! (And my garlic turned turquoise! Had to look that up & make sure it was safe… Apparently it’s just a chemical reaction.)

    • Awesome! It is totally a flexible recipe. Let me know how everyone likes it at the potluck. You have great restraint because I gobbled down a lot before I brought it to work the next day. 😉

  16. […] Tomatillio Salsa – The Meaning of Pie Raw Almond Spreads, 3 Ways – The Lunch Box Bunch Spicy Artichoke Dip – Taste […]

  17. Have you ever tried roasting the garlic first and then adding it to the artichokes?
    Great recipe for super bowl. Have you doubled the recipe without making each recipe separately?

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.