janet @ the taste space

Multigrain Oatmeal with Quinoa and Kasha

In Breakfasts on June 13, 2011 at 6:34 AM


After my success with combining grains into my morning porridge (technically combining seeds since it was a quinoa-amaranth-chia concoction), I decided to try again with another multigrain breakfast.  I spotted this combination of oatmeal, quinoa and kasha in The 30-Minute Vegan (recipe also posted here).  You have to tend to it a bit more than traditional oatmeal since each grain gets added in separately, but it created a wonderful texture. You get the nutty quinoa with the creamy oatmeal and truth be told, this was my first time eating kasha, but the combination was wonderful.  I added in some sweetened soymilk at the end so I did not feel like it needed anything additional with the bananas. However, use this as a template to add your favourite oatmeal toppings, with the bonus of a new texture for your breakfast porridge.


This is my submission to Healing Foods featuring bananas.

Multigrain Oatmeal with Quinoa and Kasha

1/2 cup uncooked quinoa, rinsed well
3-1/4 cups water
1/4 cup uncooked kasha
1/2 cup uncooked rolled oats
2-3 bananas, sliced
pinch of cinnamon
nondairy milk, to taste
maple syrup or agave nectar, to taste (did not use because my soymilk was sweetened)

1. Bring the water to a boil in a  small pot. Turn heat down to medium-low. Add the rinsed quinoa and cook uncovered for 5 minutes.

2. Add the kasha and cook for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

3. Add the rolled oats, lower the heat to low, and cook, still uncovered, for about 7 minutes, or until all grains are cooked through, stirring frequently. Add additional water or nondairy milk, if necessary.

4. Add the banana, spices, and your nondairy milk of choice, and sweeten to taste.

Serves 6.

  1. I love that this has not one. Not two. But THREE whole grains in it! I’m pretty sure I’d feel like superwoman after eating it.

  2. Wonderful bowl, love it..

  3. I have never had buckwheat (if by kasha you mean buckwheat/buckwheat groats) in a sweet dish, and even less in a multiple grains meal. Very original and intriguing!

  4. This looks marvelous and nourishing! I recently started cooking with quinoa and love it. I’ve never used it as a breakfast food yet and look forward to giving it a try!

  5. I say, the more texture the better! Sounds wonderful!

  6. I love the mix of grains, though I’m a bit scared of kasha still. But I think it was just the roasted one I didn’t like.

  7. […] Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal with Roasted Flax Seeds Pan-Fried Oatmeal with Peach-Blueberry Vanilla Compote Multigrain Oatmeal with Quinoa and Kasha Apple Pie Oatmeal Baked Apple Banana Oatmeal Rhubarb Baked Oatmeal Savoury Oatmeal with Soy Sauce […]

  8. […] was 100x better. The cooked kernels were soft but some partially opened. When I included it in a multigrain oatmeal with quinoa, I liked it, too. So when Rob’s Mom offered me some kasha for breakfast, I didn’t […]

  9. […] work so well. When I’ve made mixed grain dishes before, I cook the grains separately, or add them at different times so they finish cooking at the same time. I couldn’t get the grains to be as fluffy and […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.