janet @ the taste space

Asparagus and Carrot Salad with a Miso-Walnut Dressing

In Appetizers, Favourites, Salads, Sides on July 19, 2011 at 5:52 AM


Not all nuts are created equal. I have a particular fondness for almonds, pistachios and even hazelnuts on a good day. I adore cashews as well, although they have saturated fats. Walnuts, I do not like as much. Pecans, neither.

But I still use walnuts in my meals. All those omega-3s are good for me, right? Beyond their health benefits, I find they can whip up to be nice and creamy, and have worked well in my energy balls and create a nice base for muhammara, the delicious Middle Eastern roasted red pepper and walnut dip. However, I find that baklava is brought to the next level when you substitute the (traditional) walnuts for pistachios.

With my recent adoration of all things miso, I decided to forge ahead and combine miso with walnuts in this warm asparagus and carrot salad.  Adapted from  Color Me Vegan, you create a lovely miso-walnut dip with mirin, tamari and rice vinegar. It was sweet and creamy and spread nicely over the warm vegetables. Thankfully in Southwestern Ontario, local asparagus can still be found!  It paired well with the asparagus and carrots, but do not let that stop you from trying other vegetables.

I also loved this as a cold dip with freshly-cut vegetables as well (again, carrots worked well!). However, then you’ll need to make a lot more of the dip, because it will disappear quickly!


This is being submitted to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Chriesi from Almond Corner.

Asparagus and Carrot Salad with a Miso-Walnut Dressing

1 bunch of asparagus (400g), with thick ends removed
4 carrots (250g), peeled and finely sliced into 1-inch matchsticks

1/3 cup walnuts
2 tsp white/light miso
2 tbsp mirin
2 tsp tamari or soy sauce
2 tbsp rice vinegar or any white vinegar

1. Steam the asparagus and carrots for 3-5 minutes, until softer but still crispy.

2. Using a food processor, blend together the walnuts, miso, mirin, tamari, and rice vinegar.

3. In a large bowl, mix the carrots and asparagus with the dressing, and arrange on a serving plate. I just drizzled the dressing overtop the vegetables. The dressing is also fabulous as a dip.

The dressing will keep, refrigerated, for a couple weeks.

Serves 4.

  1. i have all of these ingredients! i will be making this..tonight!

  2. I’m honestly not such a huge walnut fan either unless they’re mixed into something tasty, like this dressing! I really need to experiment with miso more because you make it look so good!

  3. Walnut is also not my favorite but I eat them because of the nutritional value compared to other nuts 😛

  4. You are all about the fabulous dressings! Love this one too. I really need to make my own more often.

  5. […] creamy, and the walnut meat.. let’s just say I was blown away that it was made from walnuts, which I don’t typically like. The flavours were impeccable. I wanted to try to make it myself. I remembered seeing Sarah’s […]

  6. Yumm this dressing sounds so flavourful! I love walnuts, pecans, almonds and pistachios. I never really ate hazelnuts much growing up so I never really think about eating them. Plus they’re so hard to chop since they’re round haha.

  7. […] Soup with Dill) Japanese Winter Stew Dragon Quinoa Bowl with Roasted Vegetables and a Miso Gravy Asparagus and Carrot Salad with a Miso-Walnut Dressing Edamame Miso Dip (Hummus, Asian-style!) Zesty Orange Cashew Spread Baked Eggplant with […]

  8. […] combination of asparagus, soba noodles and a walnut-miso dressing. The dressing reminded me of this Asparagus and Carrot Salad with a Walnut-Miso Dressing so I think carrots would work equally as well here. I like how the water from the noodles was used […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.