janet @ the taste space

Brazilian Black Bean and Vegetable Stew

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian), Soups on November 14, 2011 at 6:01 AM

Be prepared for some serious veggies this month. Last month was beans. This month will feature loads of greens. A spotlight on the various ways of eating delicious cruciferous vegetables, which include veggies as seemingly varied as kale, broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, and daikon (white radish). Each one loaded with vitamins and many of them top my superfood chart. Trust me, they do not need to be boring. Anything but!

Here we go, case in point here. A party in my mouth.

Brazilian food tends to do that for me.

Just like Moroccan food, Brazilian cuisine is known to be meat-heavy. However, there are endless recipes for delicious vegan alternatives.  In my own kitchen, I can create quite the flavour fiesta.

While selecting a random recipe for this month’s No Croutons Required, I was thrilled when this Brazilian Black Bean and Vegetable Stew from The Tropical Vegan Kitchen was an option. It marries two other dishes I have made: a hearty feijoada with black beans and mushrooms as well as a a black bean soup spiced with cinnamon and mango. The results could not have been better – both in the flavour department and in the colour department!

This stew is filled to the max with colourful veggies (sweet potato, red pepper, green pepper, tomato, kale) on a background of black beans. Garlic, cumin and thyme flavour the broth. While I cooked the stew, it was also spiced with orange zest.  I was worried it would be overpowering. It wasn’t until I added the final hit of lime juice that I was seriously satisfied with my beautiful and delicious stew.

This is my submission to this month’s Simple and in Season, to this month’s Sweet Heat featuring chilis in soups, to Ricki’s Wellness Weekends, to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays and to this month’s No Croutons Required (co-hosted by Jacqui and Dom) featuring random cookbook recipes.

Brazilian Black Bean and Vegetable Stew (Vegetarian Feijoada)

1 cup dried black beans, soaked overnight (or substitute 3 cups cooked black beans)
3 bay leaves
1 cinnamon stick
2 cups vegetable broth

1 tbsp coconut oil (or your choice of oil)
1 medium sweet potato, chopped (8 oz)
1 large red pepper, chopped (6 oz)
1 large green pepper, chopped (6 oz)
1 medium onion, chopped

4 large cloves of garlic, minced or pressed
2 teaspoon dried thyme
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon Aleppo chili flakes

1 cup packed julienned fresh kale (100g)
1 cup reserved bean liquid or vegetable broth
1 large ripe tomato, chopped (8 oz) (seeded if you want, or not!)
1 teaspoon salt, or less
zest from 1 large orange
freshly ground black pepper

2 tablespoons fresh lime juice (from 1 lime)
garnish: 1/4 cup chopped cilantro

1. If cooking your own beans, place rinse soaked beans and place in a large pot. Add bay leaves, cinnamon stick and broth. Cover with additional water so that the beans are covered by an inch. Bring to a boil, then simmer until done. Mine took around 60 minutes but start to check after 45 minutes. Remove bay leaves and cinnamon stick. Allow to cool until needed. Don’t drain the beans yet as they may dry out. If you must drain them, save their cooking liquid for the stew.

2. Heat a large pot with oil over medium heat.  Add the sweet potato, bell pepper, and onion. Cook until the onion is softened, stirring often, about 5-10 minutes.

3. Add the garlic, thyme, cumin, and chili flakes. Stir and continue to cook for about 2 minutes. Add the cooked beans, kale, broth, tomato, salt, orange zest, and black pepper. Bring to a boil over medium high heat.

4. Reduce the heat to low, cover, and simmer 15-20 minutes until the vegetables are tender. Stir occasionally to keep the vegetables from sticking. When the vegetables are cooked, stir in the lime juice and remove from the heat. Eat while hot. Garnish with cilantro if you so desire. Can serve with rice.

Serves 8.

  1. Funny, I’ve been working on a vegetarian fejoiada that is very similar to this. I will have to try your variation now! I love that this includes kale.

  2. wow, this stew has some of my very favorite things! sweet potato, kale, and cinnamon! i don’t think i’ve ever had brazilian food, this would be a perfect jumping off point 😉

  3. Cruciferous vegetables are my favourite vegetables!

  4. I love cruciferous veggies so I very much look forward to your upcoming posts. 🙂 I didn’t know daikon was one! Or rutabaga. Yummm. And my new favourite kohlrabi. I love the mix of colours and vegetables in this stew! It looks amazing.

  5. This sounds amazing. I’m adding it to my must make soon list!

  6. I did a cooking demo this weekend and went on for about five minutes about how the more colorful a meal is, the healthier it is. This basically exemplifies that! A study actually JUST came out about how cruciferous vegetables are actually PROVEN to help you immunity. Can’t wait for this month of goodies!

  7. exactly the kind of meal I would enjoy and black bean is the newest in my fav list. Loved it

  8. wow, what a lovely stew!… so packed with veggies and all those wonderful flavours… can’t wait to give it a go. By the way, I love your blog, your photo’s are really amazingly detailed, I think they’re beautiful. Thanks so much for taking part in this months challenge x

  9. I just want to dip in, I really do. It looks delicious Janet. Thanks for entering it for this months No Croutons Required 🙂

  10. I feel like our posts yesterday were quite similar – great minds think alike! I love the use of cinnamon in yours though.

  11. I love that cookbook. This looks fabulous–so good and healthy. Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays.
    😉

  12. […] the Souper Sundays kitchen–let's take a look. Janet from The Taste Space is here with a colorful Brazilian Black Bean and Vegetable Stew and says, "This stew is filled to the max with colourful veggies (sweet potato, red pepper, green […]

  13. Wow! This looks so delicious…..I wish I had a bowl of it right now to tuck into!

    Thank you so much for taking part in this months Sweet Heat Challenge.

  14. […] about the lack of diversity in my month of cruciferous vegetables. I know what it must look like to you: lots of broccoli, some kale with a bit of daikon and baby […]

  15. […] of this dish came up and I remembered how good it was even if it wasn’t real pad thai. With a focus on cruciferous vegetables this month, I really had no excuses not to share this pretty and delicious dish, loaded with 3 […]

  16. […] with the cruciferous veggies, eh? It is December and I know what’s on your mind: […]

  17. […] Why else do you think I started a quest to eat more cruciferous veggies in November? […]

  18. […] The Taste Space made this wonderful Brazilian Black Bean and Vegetable Stew – a great vegetarian […]

  19. […] this to him before. I assured him that this was a new recipe but two years ago, yes, I shared a (different) Brazilian soup with him. It was more stew-like with sweet potato and kale amidst the vegetable choice. I think I […]

  20. […] The Taste Space shared Brazilian Black Bean and Vegetable Stew […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.