janet @ the taste space

Toasted Sesame Orange Teriyaki Vegetable and Quinoa Bowl

In Mains (Vegetarian) on February 15, 2012 at 6:29 AM

While I didn’t make any resolutions for the New Year, one thing I am trying to improve in the kitchen is to become more flexible. Rob is good about perfecting a few key recipes or whipping up impromptu stir-fries whereas I prefer to keep trying something new. I realize this isn’t the most sustainable practice when life gets busy, so I am looking more into sauces that make the dish along with an assortment of vegetables with a grain or bean.

In this case, the sauce is a toasted sesame orange teriyaki sauce from Radiant Health, Inner Wealth. It was easy to put together, and with freshly squeezed orange juice, the orange flavour was light, not dominant or ooky sweet. It can’t really compete with my salmon teriyaki, but it is nice in its own regard.

Tess suggests serving the sauce with a stir fry of veggies including garlic-infused shiitake mushrooms, broccoli, cabbage and carrot along with tamari-marinated baked tofu and rice. I added in some cauliflower to make up for my lack of broccoli and substituted quinoa for the rice (see, I am becoming flexible…). A sprinkle of toasted sesame seeds seals the deal for this simple weeknight meal. Use any combination of vegetables with your favourite grain, top with this teriyaki sauce and you have a fool-proof dinner. You could also stir-fry your veggies with the teriyaki sauce but I preferred its bright flavours as a sauce.

I know this looks like a daunting recipe, but once you make the components – a big batch of quinoa (or your favourite grain), the teriyaki sauce, the baked tofu, and chopped veggies, you can easily whip up a quick weeknight dinner.

This is being submitted to this week’s Healthy Vegan Friday, and to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Lynne.

Toasted Sesame Orange Teriyaki Vegetable and Quinoa Bowl

1 tbsp arrowroot or cornstarch
1/2 cup water
3/4 cup fresh orange juice (save the zest if you want it even more orangey!)
3 tbsp maple syrup
3 tbsp tamari, soy sauce or Bragg’s
2 tbsp freshly grated ginger
5 cloves garlic, pressed or minced
1 tbsp molasses
1 tbsp toasted sesame oil

1 cup dry quinoa, well rinsed
1.75 cups water or vegetable broth

1/2 lb extra-firm tofu, pressed and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
2 tsp soy sauce or Bragg’s
1 tsp toasted sesame oil
2 tsp nutritional yeast, optional

4 tbsp vegetable broth or water
2 tsp tamari, soy sauce or Bragg’s
2 cups sliced shiitake mushrooms
4 cups chopped broccoli (I subbed additional cauliflower but broccoli would be better)
1 cup sliced cabbage
1 cup chopped carrots (I grated mine but small dice would be better)

1-2 tbsp sesame seeds, toasted

1. To make your sauce (this can be done ahead of time), place the arrowroot in a small cup with a bit of the water and whisk together until it is smooth.

2. In a medium saucepan, place remaining water, juice, maple syrup, soy sauce, ginger, garlic, molasses, oil and optional zest. Cook over medium-low heat, stirring often, for about 5 minutes.

3. Increase the heat to medium-high and whisk in the arrowroot mixture. Continue to cook just until it is heated through and slightly thickened. Set aside until needed.

4. Begin by cooking the quinoa: In a medium saucepan, heat on medium. Add quinoa and lightly toast until fragrant. Add in water, bring to a boil and simmer, covered, for 15-20 minutes until the water is absorbed. Fluff with a fork and return lid to pot to steam. Set aside until needed.

5. Preheat oven to 400F. Place pressed and cut tofu in a 9 x 13 pan lined by a silpat, toss with soy sauce and toasted sesame oil. Spread tofu in a single layer. Bake for 10 minutes, turn over and continue to bake for another 10 minutes, until browned. Toss the tofu cubes with the nutritional yeast (if using), and set aside.

6. In a medium skillet, heat the broth with the soy sauce over medium-high heat. Add the shiitake mushrooms and broccoli and saute for 5 minutes until the broccoli is a brilliant green and tender crisp. Toss in the cabbage and carrots and cook for an additional minute, stirring often.

7. To serve, Place the quinoa in a bowl, top with the veggies then the tofu and drizzle with the sauce. Sprinkle with sesame seeds.

Serves 4.

  1. Ooh this is the sauce I was eating all last week. Definitely delicious.

  2. Mmmm…this looks SO satisfying and tasty 🙂 A must try!

    xo, Sarah B

  3. This is the kind of food I love to eat! I must have missed the teriyaki sauce in RHIW so I’m glad you posted about it. 🙂

  4. This looks like a perfect make-ahead lunchbox meal for me – thanks for the inspiration… as always 🙂

  5. I need more go-to sauces for when my nights get busy also. Sometimes creating a whole meal after getting home from work and the gym seems impossible! but recipes like this would make it SO much easier.

  6. This looks really fresh and delicious, Janet. Thanks for joining in WHB #321. Cheers!

  7. Hi Janet! You have an amazing blog with many unique and intriguing recipes! Glad to have found your space.

    Chef Al dente On going event: Gimme GREEN!

  8. […] use it all the time!) – Creamy Low-Fat Hummus – Edamame Miso Dip – Indian-Spiced Superseed Porridge – Lemon Ginger Miso Medicine – Zucchini Chips to Dry For (recipe […]

  9. […] am really digging veggie-centric stir-fries lately, and this was no disappointment. Quick to put together, dinner was served in […]

  10. […] am trying to make life less complicated in the kitchen this year, and I am doing that partly by focusing on different dressings and sauces. This way, I […]

  11. […] of my goals last year was to simplify my kitchen, with a focus on sauces and dressings with fresh vegetables […]

  12. This quinoa bowl looks so good it was making me crave it! I chose you as one of my favourite posts this week on Healthy Vegan Fridays! Thank you so much for sharing this week on Healthy Vegan Fridays: http://www.greenthickies.com/healthy-vegan-friday-29
    Have a great weekend and I hope to see you back today, Katherine 🙂

  13. […] Toasted Sesame Orange Teriyaki Vegetable and Quinoa Bowl […]

  14. […] noodle. Or try it more like my Crunchy Cabbage Salad with a similar tahini-orange dressing, my orange teriyaki vegetable quinoa bowl or a brown rice salad with roasted beets and oranges with an orange-sesame […]

  15. I made this a couple of days ago and had it with noodles instead of quinoa but kept everything else pretty much the same apart from using date paste instead of maple syrup. It was gorgeous and reminded me of a takeaway I used to get. It made a nice big batch so I have some portions in my freezer too. Many thanks!

  16. […] of my Toasted Sesame Orange Teriyaki Vegetable and Quinoa Bowl, although that one is a bit more involved with flavoured tofu and a more complex orange sauce. I […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.