janet @ the taste space

Appaloosa Bean Summer Chili

In Mains (Vegetarian) on May 18, 2012 at 6:36 AM

There is nothing like a move to show you how much stuff you have. One thing I have plenty of are beans. Common beans like chickpeas and lentils but also a multitude of heirloom beans. I bought a bunch of beans during my first trip to NYC, but they seemed too pretty to eat. Now I am on a mission, though… eat through my beans throughout the year.

Trust me, it wasn’t that I wasn’t eating my beans before. My white bean of choice this winter were the Yellow Eye Beans from Rancho Gordo (they held their shape wonderfully in two soups and were nice and creamy in the Moroccan phyllo triangles). I also tried out Marrow beans, which supposedly have a bacon taste but it was really subtle. They worked nice pureed in my High-protein Alfredo sauce as well as in soups.

As I said, I have a few pinto beans in my stash, so I was tickled pink when Fearnley-Whittingstall’s Pinto Bean Chili was my Random Recipe this month. I didn’t have many cookbooks to randomly pick at the beginning of the month due to the move, but since I already had River Cottage Veg Every Day! out, I picked that as my book. As it is a library book, I didn’t want it to be lost in the shuffle of the move! Once I selected a cookbook, the task was to cook the first or last recipe. I zoomed to the front of the cookbook. The first 2 recipes were not vegan (Aubergine Parmigiana, Chachouka), but the third recipe, and the first vegan one, was this Pinto Bean Chili. Once I finally made it to the grocery store, I was all set to try my heirloom pinto beans.

The heirloom pinto bean of choice: Appaloosa beans.  Named after the colourfully dappled horse, these are incredibly pretty beans. At least before they have been cooked. Like the anasazi beans, they lost their vibrant colours after cooking. They keep their shape well and don’t have any strong flavours. They worked well in this summer chili with zucchini, red pepper and tomato. The red wine brought a robust depth of flavour and the summer flavours really shined through. I used Aleppo chile flakes as well as green chiles and this was perfectly spiced for me. A bit of spice that was cooled by the avocado. Want more heat? Add to taste… or use cayenne as written in the original recipe.

This is my submission to Random Recipes this month, to this month’s River Cottage Rocks Veggie Heaven, to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays, to Ricki’s Weekend Wellness, to this week’s Sunday Night Soup Night, and to Cookbooks Sundays.

Appaloosa Bean Summer Chili
Adapted from River Cottage Veg Every Day!

1 tbsp olive oil
3 onions, chopped
2-3 green chilies, to taste, deseeded and finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp Aleppo chili flakes
1/4 tsp allspice
2 zucchini, chopped into 1-cm dice
1 red pepper, cored, deseeded and cut into 1-cm dice
2 tbsp tomato paste
14 oz canned plum tomatoes, roughly chopped (undrained)
2 cups cooked Appaloosa beans or pinto beans, drained and rinsed (they took 45 minutes me to cook)
1/2 cup red wine
1 cup vegetable broth or water
1 tsp dried Mexican oregano
A good handful of cilantro, finely chopped, plus extra to serve
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

1 avocado
juice of 1/2 lemon
handful cilantro, chopped

cabbage, sour cream, etc – for serving (optional)

1. In a large saucepan over medium-low heat, heat the oil. Add the onions and saute, stirring occasionally, until the onions are very soft, around 10 minutes. Add the green chiles, garlic, cumin, Aleppo chile flakes, and allspice and stir to combine. Allow to toast slightly, around 30 seconds.

2. Stir in the zucchini, red pepper, coating with the spices. Add the tomato paste, canned tomatoes with its juice, cooked Appaloosa beans, red wine, cilantro and oregano. If the soups seems too thick, add 1 cup of vegetable broth or water. Season to taste.

3. Raise the heat and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and gently simmer for 25-30 minutes, until the vegetables are tender and the chili is thick and saucy. Season with salt and pepper, to taste. Set aside to cool.

4. Meanwhile, create your avocado topping by mashing the avocado with the lemon juice and cilantro. If you are lazy like me, just top with the sliced avocado. 😉

5. To serve, place chili in a bowl, top with avocado (mash), and add shredded cabbage/lettuce, sour cream, etc, as desired.

Serves 4.

  1. I never think to cook chilli in the summer, but this terrific recipe has won me over. Thanks!

  2. Wow, you have my head spinning with the variety of beans you have available there – the range available here is pretty limited, but I think I could maybe pull this off with something like some borlotti beans.

    Thanks for sharing this at Cookbook Sundays.

    Sue xo

  3. Looks delicious! I have recently begun to incorporate pinto beans into more dishes and will bookmark this recipe!

  4. Looks and sounds amazing!! Must make after next week, and Pat will have some, too 😛

  5. I love this book and I adore this recipe… I MUST cook from this book more as you make it all seem completely wonderful!…. thank you SO much for entering this month, it is so lovely to have you on board!… good old Hugh to have such a fab recipe!

  6. What is it with bloggers and hoarding food like this? It seems like we all do it even though it doesn’t really make sense…

    I love that this is a summer chili! Can’t wait for summer squash to come into season!

  7. I love those chunks of avocado in the bowl–yum! And I think I need that cookbook. 😉 It always hard for me to cook with the “pretty” dried beans. As good as they taste I get disappointed when they change color and aren’t as fun. 😉 Thanks for sharing this with Souper Sundays.

  8. Yum! You can’t beat a warming bowl of hearty chilli and this looks perfect.

  9. […] that was a sleeper hit. I loved the sweetness from such simple ingredients. Then there was the Appaloosa Bean Summer Chili which used red wine with zucchini, red peppers and tomatoes to make a savoury […]

  10. […] we have no more corn! And no more spinach or lettuce! And I think my Appaloosa beans are finished, […]

  11. […] slightly (no celery please! does that even go in chili?) and omitted the nuts entirely.  Cooked chilis are nice but raw chilis are great because the vegetables are fresh along with strong flavours from […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.