janet @ the taste space

Creamy Thai Cilantro Ginger Sauce (for Thai Shiitake-Basil Spring Rolls and Sexy Saucy Noodles)

In Appetizers, Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) on July 27, 2012 at 6:00 AM

Cilantro, you either love it or hate it.

As you may have figured out, I am in the cilantro-loving camp.

On the theme of delicious sauces, this one is definitely a keeper. I shouldn’t have doubted it for a second, as it comes courtesy of Tess in The Two Week Wellness Solution.

Originally, I made a half recipe. Trust me, I was kicking myself. I slurped up nearly a quarter of the sauce just “sampling it” with some crackers, it was that good. I had to make it again, it was that awesome!

Cilantro is the major flavour in the sauce, with hits from the ginger, garlic, basil and fresh lime juice.  The peanut butter and light coconut milk make this a creamy sauce which balances the bold flavours nicely.

So, what to do with it once you’ve licked your fingers clean a few hundred times? Textured crackers work well, too, although this is more of a sauce than a dip. The sauce would work well overtop vegetables with your favourite grain, too.

To get a bit more fancy, Tess had 2 recipes in her book using this sauce.

The first recipe was for Thai shiitake-basil spring rolls using this as the dip. I ended up making collard wraps with the same filling substituting kelp noodles, drizzling the sauce inside and around the wraps. The fresh herbs and veggies, along with the sauteed shiitakes worked well. The star was definitely the dipping sauce.

The next recipe I loved was the “Sexy Saucy Noodles“. Broccoli, mushrooms and edamame are sauteed in toasted sesame oil and soy sauce. Throw in your noodles of choice (I used kelp noodles but soba would work well here) and douse heavily with the sauce. Stir to combine. Garnish with carrots, sprouts, fresh herbs, etc. Delicious. The sauce isn’t as strong, but the flavours are great.

For maximum dip enjoyment: Lick your fingers. 🙂


This is my submission to Presto Pasta Nights hosted by Ruth, to this week’s Healthy Vegan Fridays, to this week’s Raw Thursday, and to this week’s Weekend Wellness.

Creamy Thai Cilantro Ginger Sauce
Adapted from The Two Week Wellness Solution

1/2 cup natural peanut butter
1/2 cup light coconut milk
1/4 cup fresh lime juice
2 tsp agave nectar, or to taste
1/4 cup tamari (or low sodium soy sauce, I used Bragg’s)
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro leaves
1 tablespoon fresh chopped ginger
4 cloves fresh garlic
chili flakes, to taste (I didn’t add any)

1. In a blender, blend all of the ingredients until smooth as possible. Can be refrigerated for up to 10 days.

2. Use as a dip for crackers, pour overtop veggies, use with noodles in a stir fry or as a dip for spring rolls.

Makes 2.5 cups.

  1. Delicious veggie rolls! The cilantro ginger sauce sounds amazing.

  2. Your description of the sauce alone sold me on this one. I bet it would be amazing with zucchini noodles – raw zucchini has a slightly nutty taste to me.

    I’m in the love cilantro camp. It’s so crazy to think those that detect a “soap” taste in it have a genetic thing that causes it!

  3. Oh this sauce looks so good! I’m definitely in the love camp. I agree, it’s a love it or hate it kind of deal, though some people are ok with it cooked but not raw (or vice versa) – the flavour changes quite a bit. I have a bunch of cilantro in my fridge right now and I think I know where it’s going!

  4. Oh man I have a bunch of cilantro in the fridge at this very moment- I HAVE to make this! Thanks for submitting on Healthy Vegan Fridays 🙂

  5. Wow that sounds gorgeous. I’m also a massive fan of cilantro (coriander we call it here in the UK) so I’m sure I will absolutely love this recipe.

  6. I’ve made this as a dipping sauce for salad rolls and thought it was great. I didn’t add the cilantro or basil last time, but have them both to add now. I’ll also cut down the agave, as you did, next time I make it. I’ve found some of her recipes are too heavy on the agave for me.

    • Yeah, some of her recipes have a bit too much salt for my liking, too, so I usually add to taste. Her recipes always seem to work so well, though. 🙂 have any other recipes you recommend?

  7. Well I’ll probably go at the sauce initially with a spoon…and after that, perhaps I’ll have to get to these wraps! They look delicious!

  8. YUM!! And by the way, used collard greens as a wrap last night, and it was because of your blog I thought of it. Thank you! Will be using this trick for more yumminess! (And this sauce looks awesome.)

    And seriously, are the kelp noodles seaweedy? Or slimy? I see them in your blog and the store and I’m afraid I’m not going to like them. Help? Advice?

    • Yay for collard wraps!! of all the greens, I think young collards are my favourite. Everyone always thinks they will be tough, but they aren’t!

      For any of my kelp noodle recipes, standard pasta will always work too…. but specifically for kelp, they are more similar to firm glass noodles. They are not seaweedy. They are not slimy. However, they are quite crunchy initially. I like to rinse them really well in water and then let them sit in the fridge for a day. That let’s them mellow out a bit so that they aren’t crunchy. If I have a noodle dish for them, I let them marinade in their sauce. That works, too! 🙂 Kelp noodle leftovers, for the win! 🙂

      When you try them, let me know how it goes! 🙂

  9. I am sooooooo drooling over the sauce. And I love your use of greens for a Thai wrap, not to mention kelp noodles – which I definitely have to check out. Thanks so much for sharing with Presto Pasta Night.

  10. Just wanted to let you know I’m featuring this recipe on Healthy Vegan Fridays this week! Thanks for submitting it 🙂

  11. […] Main Event: Creamy Thai Cilantro Ginger Sauce by Janet @ the taste […]

  12. […] – Lime-Spiked Black Bean and Quinoa Kale Wrap – Garlicky and Lemony Black-Eyed Pea and Kale Salad – Sexy Saucy Noodles with Thai Skinny Dipping Sauce – Shiitake-Basil Spring Rolls – Raw Cinnamon-Raisin Barley Energy Cookies – Raw Lemon Barley Energy […]

  13. […] in the dressing made this quite a light peanut dressing. I normally pair coconut milk with my peanut dressings, so this was a nice change. Light and refreshing, yet still substantial. Perfect to eat […]

  14. I’m with you on the cilantro-love camp! And this sauce looks amazing. I’d love to try it on zucchini noodles!!

  15. […] with the coconut milk, peanut butter and heavy use of agave. Tess’ last coconut-based sauce (the creamy Thai cilantro ginger sauce) was heavenly so I knew I should try it out. […]

  16. […] 5. Creamy Thai Cilantro Ginger Sauce (for Thai Shiitake-Basil Spring Rolls and Sexy Saucy Noodles) […]

  17. […] of my goals last year was to simplify my kitchen, with a focus on sauces and dressings with fresh vegetables supported by beans and whole grains. My salad jar revolutionized my lunch […]

  18. […] Ultimate Peanut Sauce Creamy Thai Cilantro Sauce Tangy Peanut Dressing (with a Mango and Snap Pea Salad) Coconut-Peanut Mmm Sauce (with Kelp […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.