janet @ the taste space

Roasted Balsamic Curry Fall Vegetables and Cranberries with Kamut

In Favourites, Salads, Sides on November 20, 2012 at 6:45 AM

Earlier this year, my cousin’s wife was trying to track down kamut, an ancient wheat. She explained to me that kamut contained less gluten, perfect for her gluten-free adventures.  She searched high and low and could not find whole grain kamut. Kamut flakes and puffed kamut, yes, but not regular old kamut.  Since she was hoping to get rid of gluten, I suggested not trying to track down such a hard-to-find ingredient, especially since it still contains gluten, even if it is a smaller amount.

A few days later, when I decided to reorganize my whole grains, I discovered I had kamut. Turns out I had forgotten all about it. I bought a small amount while in Calgary, since I had never seen it before. Unfortunately, while Community Natural Foods has an online store, I don’t see kamut for sale.  With my curiosity piqued, I decided it was time to try out the kamut.

Nothing fancy, I opted to add it to a bowlful of roasted fall vegetables. More veggies, less grain, please.

The verdict?

First, the kamut. I will admit that it was nice. Similar to wheat berries, they were pleasantly plump yet their shape made it more akin to orzo. A plumpy, chewy orzo. Milder than wheat berries, I rather enjoyed them.  If I had easy access to kamut, I would likely choose it over wheat berries, but since I don’t know where to replenish it in Toronto, I will just have to finish my spelt berries first. Although, I am already on a whittling of the pantry plan, where nothing is being replenished except for my easy-to-find favourites: quinoa, red lentils and chickpeas.

Next, the veggies. Delicious right from the oven, I had a hard time holding back from gobbling everything down. I loved combining the different roasted vegetables for different complementary flavours. The Brussels sprouts were earthy and crispy, contrasting the soft and sweet squash, next to the tart and juicy cranberries. The balsamic-curry dressing was not overpowering, and allowed the natural flavours to shine.

Don’t have kamut? No worries. Simply omit it or add your favourite whole grain or bean. I am thinking chickpeas or white beans would be great here.

If you do have kamut, and live in the GTA, please tell me where you found it. 🙂

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Brii.

Roasted Balsamic Curry Fall Vegetables and Cranberries with Kamut
Adapted from Shutterbean

1 1b Brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved
1 medium kabocha squash, cut into 1/2 inch cubes (600g)
1 cup fresh cranberries
1 apple, chopped (optional, but good, I used a Granny Smith)
1 medium yellow onion, chopped
1 tbsp extra virgin coconut oil
1.5 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1/2 teaspoon curry powder (I used Penzey’s sweet blend)
sugar, to taste (I didn’t add anything)
salt and fresh cracked pepper, to taste
1 cup cooked kamut (from 1/3 cup dry kamut)

1. If you haven’t cooked your kamut, begin by doing so. In a medium pot, add kamut and 2x the amount of water/stock. Bring to a boil, cover, decrease heat and simmer for 30-60 minutes, until cooked through. Once finished, drain any leftover water and set aside.

2. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 400F. On a large silpat-lined baking sheet, place the chopped Brussels sprouts, squash, cranberries, apple and onions. In a small cup, combine the oil, vinegar and curry powder. Pour dressing overtop vegetables and stir to evenly coat the vegetables. Season with salt and pepper, and add sugar if you like.

3. Bake vegetables uncovered for 20 minutes, stir and roast for an additional 20-25 minutes, until soft and browned.

Serves 3 as a main, 8 as a side.

  1. I am officially on the hunt for kamut for you 🙂

    Nothing beats roasted veggies in the winter eh? I am eating them multiple times a day!

  2. I love kamut! This looks gorgeous – I love all the colors, and curry with brussels and squash is such a great combo.

  3. Your roasted veggies with KAMUT® Brand khorasan wheat is described so well, I can almost smell it and I am now hungry! This would be a great savory side for my family’sThanksgiving dinner.

    I work for Kamut International, the KAMUT(R) brand owner. KAMUT® Brand khorasan is an organic, non-genetically modified, ancient wheat variety similar to durum. In 1990, “KAMUT” was registered as a trademark by the Quinn family in order to support organic farming and preserve the ancient khorsasan wheat variety. Under the KAMUT® Brand name, khorasan wheat must always be grown organically, never be hybridized or modified, and contain high levels of purity and nutrition. Today, Kamut International owns and has registered the KAMUT® trademark in over 40 countries, and is responsible for protection and marketing of all KAMUT® Brand khorasan wheat throughout the world.

    KAMUT® Brand khorasan is grown on dryland certified organic farms primarily in Montana, Alberta, and Saskatchewan. The grain is prized by consumers who appreciate the grain for its high energy nutrition, easy digestibility, nutty/buttery taste, and firm texture. KAMUT® khorasan wheat is higher in protein, selenium, amino acids, and Vitamin E than most modern wheat and contains essential minerals such as magnesium and zinc. It is used as whole grain berries, whole grain flour, white flour, flakes, and puffs to make a variety of products. Some specific benefits of using KAMUT® khorasan are receiving more nutrients, protein, and taste than conventional whole wheat – plus supporting organic agriculture and helping to preserve an ancient grain.

    KAMUT® Brand khorasan is a variety of wheat thus has gluten content. A lot of people who are not able to tolerate wheat tell us that they are able to tolerate KAMUT® khorasan wheat. KI has ongoing research to understand why – it is our theory that because KAMUT® khorasan is an ancient grain, it has not had the good benefits bred out of it, as modern wheat has.

    We have a searchable database (Products tab) on our website http://www.kamut.com that can help you find the grain in Toronto. There are several fine online retailers as well as health food stores that carry the whole grain KAMUT® Brand wheat berries.

    My kind regards – Jamie

    Jamie Ryan Lockman | Regional Director – North America
    Kamut International, Ltd.
    P.O. Box 4903 | Missoula, MT 59806 | USA
    406.251.9418 phone | 406.251.9420 fax
    jamie.lockman@kamut.com | http://www.kamut.com

    • Thanks for the info, Jamie. There must be more retailers with kamut because the store I bought mine in Calgary is not listed. Plus, the list is fairly short!

      • Janet – The list is not exhaustive; it includes those customers that are partners via our license agreement. They support the KAMUT(r) project, so we like to support them. Please spread the word, we would love to have additional retail outlets listed.

  4. I wonder if I can find kamut at Whole Foods…hmm. It sounds like something I would love! Though, I know for sure I would love those roasted veggies so perhaps I’ll just pair them with wheatberries in the meantime.

  5. Having just moved to Toronto/Canada, I shall be on the lookout for kamut for you too! I’ll look in Essence of Life at Kensington, as others seem to think it’s at Whole Foods already 🙂

    • Hey Hannah, Yes, please let me know how your hunt goes… I remember having a hard time just tracking down spelt berries nevermind kamut. I feel like Ambrosia should have it but I haven’t been there in a while. If you are mobile, it is my favourite whole foods store although it is in Thornhill! Essence of Life is also a great place to check out.. haven’t been there in a while myself. I should try to hit them up before the snow stops me from biking!

  6. What an interesting combinations of ingredients: kamut, curry, and balsamic vinegar. I’d never have thought of that. Thanks!

  7. roasted fall veggies look amazing in your recipe.. I’ll also be on the lookout for kamut in the gta…

  8. I can’t say I’ve done balsamic and curry together but it must be amazing because I know I love both!

  9. This combination of ingredients sounds amazing for Fall – roasted veggies, fruits, sweet, tart, and spicy flavours all in one! I would probably just eat it on its own but the kamut is a good idea for making it more of a main dish. The only way I’ve tried kamut is in PC’s 5-grain blend (http://www.presidentschoice.ca/LCLOnline/products.jsp?type=details&catIds=cat40002&catIds=104&productId=prod1730005&amp😉 – not exactly the real thing, but I like it for a quick dinner mixed with whatever I have in my fridge when I don’t have anything else planned!

    • Oooh, it has been a while since I’ve been to Loblaws and I rarely check their aisles (sticking to the produce)… but that looks like a neat grain blend! I agree, throwing veggies together with some whole grains makes a wickedly simple yet still tasty and healthy meal. 🙂

  10. Thank you. Methinks I have just ha found my Christmas meal ❤

  11. I must have walked by that kamut a hundred times and never thought to buy some to try. If you ever need to replenish your stock, just let me know 🙂 This sounds like a great combination of vegetables and I’m really intrigued by the balsamic curry mix, those are two ingredients I would never have thought to mix.

  12. […] Da(From Toronto, Canada (did I ever tell you I’ve been there? For 8h! , vi ho mai detto che ci sono stata? Per ben 8h! ) Janet – The Taste Space Roasted Balsamic Curry Fall Vegetables and Cranberries with Kamut […]

  13. I love the sound of this dish. I’ve never been able to find any kamut locally, either…but I’m thinking that I could substitute my favorite grain, farro pretty successfully. Again, this looks and sounds fantastic!

  14. […] PS. For those in the GTA, my newest health food store find is Foods For Life which had kelp noodles (16 oz) for $2.49 earlier this week. A quick sale since they expire in January. However, a great price to try these noodles! They also have kamut! […]

  15. […] my success with baked (fresh) cranberries in the stuffed carnival squashes and roasted balsamic curry fall vegetables, I began exploring other savoury ideas for fresh (or frozen) cranberries. I stumbled upon […]

  16. […] quinoa skillets, and couscous pilaf, I have also added it to tofu chowders, sweet potato hummus, balsamic roasted veggies, kabocha squash flatbread, curried-mustard dressing,  raw pineapple rice and more recently tofu […]

  17. […] roasted them, roasted them, and roasted them again. I added them to soups, stirfries and […]

  18. […] Roasted Balsamic Curry Fall Vegetables and Cranberries with Kamut […]

  19. […] I prefer Brussels sprouts roasted, I also like them slipped into scrambles, skillets, stir fries, pastas, soups and salads. The […]

  20. […] sneaking suspicion that fresh/frozen cranberries would be surreal in here. I included them in this Balsamic Curry Roasted Vegetable dish and their tart juiciness would have complemented the dish […]

  21. […] I opted for a savoury option and knew a warm barley bowl would be perfect. Combined with some of my favourite roasted vegetables (Brussels sprouts and sweet potato), I just needed a way to incorporate the coconut milk. While unusual, I liked the idea of a spicy coconut dressing and was drawn to Gena’s Five Ingredient Red Curry Coconut Dressing. It was an excellent dressing since it was somewhat spicy and it complemented the sweet dried cranberries and roasted vegetables nicely. I imagine roasted fresh cranberries could have worked too as I’ve paired them with curry flavours before. […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.