janet @ the taste space

Lemon-Ginger Miso Soup (& My Favourite Recipe App for Android)

In Favourites, Soups on February 21, 2013 at 6:31 AM

Androidians, rejoice!

(Take note, Rob does not approve of said term. He prefers Android users. How boring.)

Since forever, I have been trying to find the perfect way to store my bookmarked recipes.

I have progressed from storing them in emails, then to pinterest and pocket. (I know others use Evernote). I use Eat Your Books primarily for my cookbook collections. Although I can upload other recipes, too, I prefer to have the directions along with the recipe list. 🙂

A lot of people have a hard time understanding pinterest. What is it for? How does it work? I try to explain it is a picturesque way to bookmark links. Pictures with links. It is used to inspire. My biggest pet peeve is the lack of searchability, which limits its use as a workable list of recipes. I can’t search for all the recipes with mango instance. Furthermore, it only links to a website which can later be modified or even vanish. Hence my migration to pocket, which I mainly use as an offline web reader now. Because you can’t search that one either.

I recently discovered a crazy wonderful app that I had to share: ChefTap. (Android only for now)

Designed specifically to store recipes, it does its job.

From the website: ChefTap is the only app on the market that uses an advanced artificial intelligence engine specifically designed to find recipes on any English language web page.

It stores recipes offline, completely searchable, so you always have access to them. It will pick out the recipe, picture, title, etc from any website, even if the recipe is buried under lots of text (like most blog posts). It will sync with epicurious, allrecipes, or your other favourite recipe sites. However, I was in awe that it could export all the recipes from pinterest. Plug in an album and it will crawl all your links and add them to the app. You can’t even export your pins any other way, as far as I know. How awesome is that?

So, I have just begun to use the app (you can change it so it won’t go to sleep on you while cooking, wahoo!) and I would say the miss rate is around 10% for picking up the wrong title, etc. It is easy to  fix things, though, as it has alternative title suggestions, or move things around like yields and ingredients. Another con is that this is a device-only app, but a complementary web site seems to be in the works.

I started with importing all my pins and will work towards my lengthy email folder filled with recipes. All I need to do is convert the emails into .txt files and they can be easily imported as well. How awesome is that??

I’ll tell you what’s more awesome: This app is free!!

(I bet you thought I was going to say it is only yours for $9.999 or something. I hate that, too! I have yet to be corrupted by commercial influence. Anything I recommend is because I honestly recommend it)

In case you are interested in some of my other favourite apps, here they are:

iAnnotate PDF: For highlighting, marking up pdfs for studying, etc. The Android app is not as smooth at the iPhone one, but the one for Android is free

Any.Do: Great to do app that syncs with google tasks

8tracks: I love the music selection here, but this app is notorious for crashing if I shut off my tablet. Feel free to listen to my playlist (from a few years ago)!

Songza: I haven’t been that wowed by the music selection, but it isn’t that bad

(I love pandora but I can’t get it in Canada, btw).

What are your favourite apps? How do you store recipes?
(I have been bugging Rob to make me a Taste Space app, but that’s likely never to happen…)

Now for today’s recipe!

I don’t know about you, but I am a big suck when I get sick. My energy gets drained and I usually just want to crawl into bed and sleep. The last thing I want to do is cook. The second to last thing I want to do is photograph said food. The third last thing I want to do is write about said food.

Which is why it has taken me so long to share this fabulous soup. I usually bust it out when I am sick. (And yes, I still get sick. My diet does not make me immune from viruses and the like. A flu shot helps, though).

I first made this soup when I lived alone and it has become a sicky staple ever since. As long as my kitchen is reasonably well stocked, there is nothing easier than a bowl of miso soup.

You can go ultra-simple for a fix of miso soup – all you need is miso, hot water and perhaps some green onions. However, Tess’ recipe goes one step beyond: a Lemon-Ginger Miso Soup. Lemon and ginger are great as a pick-me-up when sick, comforting yet zingy. Best of all, though, this soup literally takes 5 minutes to make. Awesome on any given day, but really fabulous when you are under the weather and can’t stand to wait any longer. Just heat up the soup before it boils so that you still get the benefits from miso (heck I do that with my tea as well because I can’t drink boiling water). I really liked the combination of lemon, ginger and miso.

The recipe serves 2, so if a sweetie is cooking for you, they can enjoy it as well. Or if home alone, you can have it as a delicious breakfast the next day.

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Wellness, Virtual Vegan Potluck and to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays.

Lemon-Ginger Miso Soup
Adapted from Radiant Health, Inner Wealth

3 tbsp miso (white preferred)
1.5 cups water
2 tsp freshly grated ginger root
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice (half a lemon)
1.25 tsp low-sodium tamari or soy sauce
1/2 tsp toasted sesame oil
1.5 tsp sesame seeds, toasted
2 tbsp green onion, finely chopped

1. In a small pot, mix together the miso with 1/4 cup of the water. Mix until well blended. Add the remainder of the water and then the ginger, lemon juice, tamari, and toasted sesame oil.

2. Heat soup until warm. Do not boil. This won’t take more than 5 minutes.

3. Once warm, sprinkle with green onions and toasted sesame seeds.

Serves 2.

  1. How fabulous! You really can’t go wrong with ginger. And I agree – Androidian sounds much more interesting.

  2. Another valid term could be “Robo-cowboys”.

  3. I don’t have a droid anymore (went to the dark side) but that app sounds awesome. I’ve been using Pinterest a lot but agree it is a pain to not be able to search within your own boards. This soup sounds right on target too. I have a house full of stuffy noses and sore throats right now and they could use some soup!

  4. Yum, I love the sound of that soup! So homey and comforting 🙂

    I use Songza and I agree its not the best selection, but it’ll do! I’ll have to give 8track a try!

  5. I agree with you on the search factor of Pinterest. I almost exclusively use it as a bookmarking tools. If I want to search I go google and blogs. Pinterest got so overwhelmed with the initial response that I have a feeling they are still playing catch up and lack the bandwidth to innovate/make updates.

    Love this soup! Lemon is a favorite flavor – I’ve never used it as a primary flavor with Miso though!

  6. Your progress storing recipes totally similar to mine. Stored them on flickr but then I could not store other people’s. Then tried Evernote but was a mess browsing. Pinterest is great as long as you don’t search in your recipes. Now I export all stuff I like and save to a searcheable tumblr thanks to http://ifttt.com/ but is not working as expected and removed the search bar http://lablascovegmenu-cookbook.tumblr.com/

    I’ll give it a try at that ChefTap. And at the soup when I get sick.
    Love the bowl, by the way, got some similar ones from IKEA 😉

    • You definitely have some tasty meals bookmarked. The one thing that ChefTap doesn’t have is a social aspect (yet) but I hear they are working on it. In fact, they should have a new version out next week! Let me know how you like it. 🙂

  7. Okay that app…sounds amazing. I need it!!! And this soup! Thankfully I’m pretty good at not getting sick *knock on wood* but if I ever do again, this soup is SO on the menu!

    • When you do your paeds rotation, especially if in the winter, be prepared to be in chronic sick mode. I was sick for 6 weeks straight (the length of my rotation). After that, I was home-free for around 3 years. I already caught all the nasty bugs! 😉

  8. Yum, loving all of the flavors in the soup. Looks warming and delicious! Especially with the sesame oil.

  9. I was just looking for something light and delicious for my evening meal tonight and this hits the nail right on the head. I know what my dinner will be…now I just have to work on the omni’s 😉

  10. Janet, looks great–I love miso soup and don’t make it often enough! The WW glitch is fixed now–there have been problems with the linky code for weeks. Sigh. But you can link up now! 🙂

  11. […] am loving your enthusiasm for ChefTap. Turns out I am a week early harping its awesomeness. It isn’t a new app. In fact it has been […]

  12. I don’t have a phone that understands apps (it is a bit like me) but the cheftap sounds great – I love pinterest but agree it is frustrating with the searchability – the only way seems to be to create lots of folders and put pins in multiple folders. I still use Delicious which bookmarks recipes and is great with tagging but I am now coping with the second major upgrade that seems to send all its systems development backwards – however it still helps me find recipes but links to the website so if urls change or blogs are taken down delicious is no good. When I upgrade my phone I will definitely consider cheftap (if available in Australia)

  13. and I love miso soup when I need simple food – but I don’t get sick that often (or maybe not that badly) that I have a ‘penicillin’ soup!

  14. […] Cilantro Pakoras – Creamy Low-Fat Hummus – Edamame Miso Dip – Indian-Spiced Superseed Porridge – Lemon Ginger Miso Soup – Mango-Cucumber Spring Rolls with Thai sweet chili sauce – Zucchini Chips to Dry For (recipe […]

  15. I have been craving miso soup lately. I think I need to make this one–love the lemon and ginger flavors. 😉 Thanks for sharing with Souper Sundays.

  16. This sounds like just the miso soup with a lil somethin’ extra that I have been craving lately. Miso is such great comfort food. I’m looking forward to trying the recipe! It looks delicious.

  17. Very interesting. I don’t use my phone for apps or recipes much, I’m a bit old school as I just store them all on an excel file on my computer and write them on a piece of paper. I don’t like to invest much time in apps or websites because things change so fast so I don’t like to become reliant on them. But it’s good to hear about apps as sometimes I can’t be bothered to load up my laptop and just use google to search on my phone.
    This soup looks gorgeous. I adore lemon in soups.

    • It is true, Katherine. I have tried not to get attached to anything which is why I have stuck with my recipe emails. However, I love that I can export all the recipes from ChefTap, too, making them accessible even if the app disappears. 😉

  18. I just bought some white miso (my first time ever buying it), and now that I finally have some, I’ve been looking for recipe ideas for it! I think I actually have all of the ingredients for this soup in my fridge right now, and it sounds so soothing, I’ll have to give it a try!

    • Ooooh, this would be a great place to start! Congratz on making the miso leap. I made the executive decision last week to replenish my miso despite moving in 6 months. It takes me a year or so to go through a package but decided I couldn’t hold out for 6 months, HA! Lots of other ideas here and I can’t wait to see what else you decide to make. 🙂

  19. […] least I knew Rob wouldn’t be privy to my dessert brainstorm on Pinterest. (ChefTap totally wins in that regard). One benefit of his birthday being after Valentine’s Day is that […]

  20. […] also revisited some old favourites like tamarind lentils and my lemon-ginger miso soup (Rob’s addition were carrots, parsnips with some noodles and I added some sauteed mushrooms […]

  21. […] was great trying to keep me full of tea and soup (making my favourite Lemon Ginger Miso Soup with some added parsnips which he associates with healing soups) and eventually the flu subsided. […]

  22. what?! cheftap sounds absolutely awesome. i love pinterest for bookmarking and organizing recipes but the search functionality is so terribly lacking. thanks for sharing your experience with that app! i’m so excited it’s for android, too.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.