janet @ the taste space

Roasted Carrot Hummus Salad with Black Rice, Tomatoes and Dill

In Appetizers, Favourites, Sides on April 4, 2013 at 6:09 AM

Roasted Carrot Hummus Salad with Black Rice, Tomatoes and Dill

Variety is the spice of life. It is possibly the best spice in the kitchen, too.

You can probably tell I like to experiment in my kitchen… so many great recipes to try and share. So many new things to explore.

You’d think I’d run out of repertoire. Me, too. Not yet, at least.

Case in point. I made yet another new hummus. This time I shunned the chickpea and traded it for roasted carrots. I kept my favourite hummus classics: fresh lemon juice (with a strong flavour from the zest, too), garlic and tahini. Smoked paprika and cumin for more depth of flavour. This is a very creamy dip. Lip-smacking good.

Faced with some leftover hummus after a party, I decided to turn it into a thick dressing for my salad. My last carrot (ginger sesame) dressing was paired with quinoa, avocado and tomato. This time, I juxtaposed it against black rice, tomatoes, baby greens and fresh herbs.

Roasted Carrot Hummus Salad with Black Rice, Tomatoes and Dill

A note on black rice, possibly one of my favourite rices to date. When I cut fruit out on my sweetener-free challenge, I knew I was going to miss some of the many benefits from eating whole fruits: fiber, vitamins and anti-oxidants. This was how I stumbled upon black rice, also known as purple rice or forbidden rice. It has a lovely short-grain rice feel similar to my favourite medium-grain brown rice with the added bonus of more protein and more anti-oxidants. Turns out that colourful is better for you, especially when talking about rice. I liked that the black rice wasn’t too sticky and had great flavour naked. As such, it was fun to throw it into this salad.

I ended up tossing it with an herbed spring mix (a mix of baby greens that includes dill, cilantro and parsley), which I thought brought this to the next level. Not the greens, but the herbs. I keep forgetting how simple herbs can totally elevate a dish from ho-hum to hoo-ya! Just a dash of fresh herbs was enough and in truth, the herb that stood out and complemented the salad best was the dill.

After I ate this salad, I had a bit of tummy rumblings. My Mom asked me what new foods I had eaten lately. Everything I eat is new. (Actually, at first I said nothing. Nothing crazy new) Except for the leftover hummus, everything else was new. It was my first time trying black rice and the herbed lettuce greens. Furthermore, I drank a mamey shake, too. Exciting times at the beginning of the week! 😉

Pinpointing culprits when eating fresh foods can be a challenge for me without a lot of sleuthing. Mostly free of FODMAPs other than the garlic, I don’t think that’s the problem. A repeat salad had no problems so who knows what it was. Perhaps the chocolate walnut dessert from the night before? Probably. Too many walnuts? Who knows… it isn’t a problem now. 😉

Roasted Carrot Hummus Salad with Black Rice, Tomatoes and Dill

Here’s to more black rice. Have you tried it yet?

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays, this month‘s Simple and In Season, to this month‘s Herbs on Saturday and to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Marta.

Roasted Carrot Hummus Salad with Black Rice, Tomatoes and Dill

1/2 recipe Roasted Carrot Hummus, see below
1 cup black rice, cooked
1 pint (2 cups) cherry tomatoes, halved
herbed spring mix (or baby greens with 1 tbsp each of dill, cilantro and parsley)

1. Cook your rice.

2. Make your hummus.

3. Plate lettuce mix at the bottom of your bowl. Top with cooked rice, tomatoes and a dollop of roasted carrot hummus.

Serves 4.

Roasted Carrot Hummus
Adapted from Enlightened Cooking

1 lb carrots, peeled and roughly chopped
6 cloves garlic
1 tbsp coconut oil
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup tahini
juice and grated zest of 2 medium lemons (around 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice)
3/4 cup nondairy milk (I used drinkable coconut milk)
1/2 tsp smoked sweet paprika

1.  Preheat the oven to 450F. In a roasting pan or cookie sheet lined with a silpat, place carrots and garlic. Dab coconut oil overtop and place in oven until melted, around 5 minutes. Stir to combine over vegetables, sprinkle with cumin and spread evenly in a single layer. Cook carrots until brown and tender, around 25-35 minutes. Allow to cool slightly.

2. In a food processor (I used my high-speed blender with a damper), combine the cooked carrots and garlic along with the salt, tahini, lemon juice and zest, milk, and smoked paprika. Blend until smooth. Add more milk to achieve desired consistency and season to taste.

Makes 2 cups.

  1. Black rice and carrot hummus? Perfect examples of turning regular things upside down and making them so much more fun 🙂 This looks like a great dish.

  2. I have a serious love affair with prange veggies. I’ve done both a buttenut and sweet potato hummus. How have carrots enver crossed my mind?! Trying this very, very soon!

  3. i’m a new reader, but i love your creativity already! can’t wait to try a version of this recipe and some of your others. i don’t eat nightshades, so i’ll be leaving out the tomato and the paprika, but otherwise, this sounds delicious to me! thank you!

  4. ohmuhgod. yum. Great food for anytime but I will be inhaling this soon since I am pregnant and need more variety but meanwhile keeping it clean!

  5. Love the colours.
    I bet the taste is phenomenal, too!

  6. I do like a bit of nakedness in the kitchen. Just away from open flames.

  7. That salad looks great! Love the hummus. Roasted carrots so sweet.

  8. I haven’t stumbled across black rice yet in my food scavenging but hopefully I will! Sounds super tasty and super good for you! And I love that you used hummus as a dressing…that’s one of my favorite ways to eat it!

  9. Sounds wonderful! I’ve been wanting to try black rice after the paper talked about a restaurant that serves butternut squash stuffed with black rice and topped with a Brazil nut pesto. Saw a large bag of black rice at Costco and wasn’t sure I’d like/use it enough to warrant buying a large quantity, but now with this recipe…..

    • That is the same rice I have. My family picked it up with the sprouted grain mix from Costco. The sprouted grain mix was not good but I definitely recommend the black rice. 🙂

      • What didn’t you like about the sprouted grain? I love the idea of kicking up the nutrition aspect, but if it’s not good tastewise….

      • It was a mixed blend so it was more mushy than I like… I bet it would be fine as a sprouted grain, just not a mix because they each have their own cooking times.

  10. And what’s this about a chocolate walnut dessert? Don’t leave us hanging; do tell….

  11. I don’t think I’ve ever tried black rice…I actually find it a bit scary looking so I’m kind of afraid to eat it! It definitely makes for a dramatic presentation though, especially against the orange carrot hummus. I haven’t had success with carrot hummus in the past, but yours looks nice and creamy.

  12. What an interesting hummus! I never would have thought to use only carrots as the base. I’ll have to try it!

  13. I don’t know why I don’t roast my carrots when I make carrot hummus. Duh! 😉 This salad looks so good. I love using hummus as dressing–makes it so satisfying. Thanks for sharing this with Souper Sundays.

  14. The carrot hummus was wonderful! And I loved the black rice.

    But….confession time: I had to add salad dressing (homemade miso tahini) to the greens. The hummus was adequate for flavoring the rice and the rice wasn’t too dry at all, but the greens just weren’t getting covered/flavored (I didn’t have them herbed, but not sure that would have solved the problem—I’m just a drown-the-lettuce-leaves-in-dressing type of person). With the addition of the salad dressing, this recipe is a keeper! And please don’t kick me out of the healthy eating club….:)

    • Ellen, that is awesome. I take it you plunged for the black rice? Isn’t it delightful? I actually don’t like too much dressing for any salad and prefer to scoop up dressings with each bite, which is ok. A light lemony vinaigrette sounds prefect for dressing the remainder of the salad greens, though. 🙂 Yum!

  15. Yup. And I actually thought the black rice remained pretty black, not purplish, as I had been warned.
    Am wondering about trying it in a rice pudding recipe….

    • I have wondered whether there are different types of black rice because certainly not all of it is short-grain, methinks, like the one I bought from Costco. I heard that it would stain my pots and pans too which was not the case either….

      A rice pudding sounds interesting! I once made a wild rice pudding (it is on my blog but not one of my recipe successes and definitely was not vegan). It had a good pedigree, though.. although resto recipes have a tendency to disappoint.

  16. Stunning entry thanks,and thanks for being such a wonderful supporter of Herbs on Saturday! Karen

  17. […] 2. Roasted Carrot Hummus Salad with Black Rice, Tomatoes and Dill by Janet of The Taste Space: […]

  18. […] Roasted Carrot Hummus Salad created by The Taste Space […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.