janet @ the taste space

Broccoli and Kasha Bowl with an Onion-Miso-Dill Dressing

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian), Salads, Sides on June 6, 2013 at 5:44 AM

I am on a kasha-kick. At least until my stash runs out.

The millet evaporated last summer. Next went the wild rice. Now I am plowing through the kasha. Once I discovered the boil-in-a-bag stuff, I was smitten with it as a base for veggie-based bowls.

With a focus on simpler meals, I made the dressing first and then decided what to toss with it.

And yes, this was a glorious dressing.

It seems so weird. Raw onion? Dill? Miso?

But trust me, it worked so well. I also tried a creamier version with tofu-cashew mayonnaise and liked that, too.

I picked kasha, but any grain would work here. Brown rice? Quinoa? Choose your favourite veggie but broccoli complemented the tangy dill-miso dressing well.

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays, this month’s Random Recipe for healthy foods and to this month‘s Herbs on Saturday.

Broccoli and Kasha Bowl with an Onion-Miso-Dill Dressing
Dressing adapted from Radiance 4 Life

100g packet of kasha (or 1/2 cup coarse kasha, picked over and rinsed, to be boiled with 1 cup vegetable broth or water) — quinoa would work well here, too
1 -2 heads of broccoli, florets cut into small pieces

1/4 cup onion
1 tbsp flax oil (or your choice of oil)
1 tbsp white miso
1 tbsp low-sodium tamari (or soy sauce)
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 tbsp fresh dill (or 1 tsp dried dillweed)

optional: 1/4 cup mayonnaise (I used this tofu-cashew mayonnaise)

1. For the boil-in-a-bag kasha, fill a medium pot half-way with salted water. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer, and submerge the bag of kasha. Simmer for 15-20 minutes until plump and tender. Remove bag from water, rinse in cold water and set aside to cool.

2. Steam broccoli for 2-3 minutes, until tender crisp.

3. Prepare dressing by combining in a blender until smooth.

4. Mix together cooked kasha, steamed broccoli and drizzle with dressing.

Serves 2.

  1. this looks so healthy and stunning but i’ve never heard of kasha before…. I need to hunt some down and try it, I can’t wait. This is a beautiful entry, thank you so much x

  2. Must try that mayo!!! I bet this could be good with some liquid smoke and tempeh too. Mayo makes me want bacon. Lol!

  3. I think this dressing sounds amazing–not weird at all! Dill is such an underused herb, so I’m definitely happy to find another delicious way to use it. 🙂

  4. I just discovered kasha a few months ago and this looks like a fabulous way to use it. I love the dressing!

  5. Kasha is one grain I’ve actually never tried…I do currently have a surplus of millet though. So perhaps I’ll try this out with that!

  6. this looks so good I want it for dinner – I have buckwheat groats but I am not sure they are the same as kasha

  7. Yummy! Kasha is great, I love it too!

  8. Sounds wonderful. Will make with quinoa or black rice in the interest of not adding another grain to the pantry. For visual appeal and added nutrition/deliciousness, may add another veggie. Not sure what? Carrot? Red pepper?

  9. I’ve fallen in love with dried dill in the past few days, having found it in Gena’s pantry. For some reason, it’s never been one I’ve used before, and fresh dill has always been associated with seafood in my mind. Love the look of this creation, Janet!

  10. I really enjoy grain salads–so satisfying. And, I love the sounds of that dressing–it looks creamy and delicious with the dill. Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays this week. 😉

  11. One of my most favourite combinations is steamed broccoli, with a grain and dressing so I just love this meal. I’m intrigued by the dressing. Miso and dill? Crazy!

  12. ANOTHER fabulous entry into Cooking with Herbs (herbs on Saturday) – I LOVE this recipe and your pretty photos too! Karen

  13. […] – Breakfast Quinoa – Green Velvet Guacamole (aka Edamame Guacamole) – Supercharged Hummus – Onion Dill Miso Dressing – Miso Healthy Dressing – Lemon Asparagus Quinoa Toss – Asparagus Pecan Quinoa Salad with a […]

  14. […] from Taste Space: Broccoli and Kasha Bowl with an Onion-Miso-Dill Dressing – Such a lovely Asian inspired entry from […]

  15. That’s one of those ones that sounds crazy enough to be AMAZING! And something you can throw together with stuff you already have! Making this for dinner tonight 🙂

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.