janet @ the taste space

Lemony Cucumber and Chickpea Salad with Dukkah

In Mains (Vegetarian), Salads, Sides on June 11, 2013 at 6:22 AM

Lemony Cucumber and Chickpea Salad with Dukkah

Rob and I have been good about eating through the freezer and pantry. While I no longer have a white board with the freezer inventory (it was such a good idea but we lost track), we generally pick up a container, look at the label, pick our favourite of the day and chow down.

Trust me, I am very diligent about labelling freezer meals.

I am not sure why I don’t do the same with my fridge foods. I don’t store too many things in the fridge but sometimes I forget about salad dressings or marinades pushed to the back. My rationale is probably: Well, this is fresh food. I’ll remember what it is before it grows mold.

Not true.

Some fridge finds are still happy in my fridge for months. Possibly years, although I can’t say for sure. Since now I can’t remember what it was and when I made it.

Mystery ingredients.

My mystery concoction looked like roasted and ground nuts. Likely with some spices. It passed the sniff test. Not entirely sure what it is, I have two options: almonzano (unlikely because it doesn’t taste similar) or dukkah. Or something I just don’t remember making, which is also a possibility. Dukkah is an Egyptian nut and spice mix with cumin, coriander and sesame seeds but there are many variations. The New York Times recently shared recipes for dukkah with peanuts, pumpkin seeds, chickpea flour and even an herbal variation with mint and fennel. While I have included a link to my favourite dukkah recipe that includes coconut, I am fairly confident this was a different variation. I *think* this is the hazelnut dukkah from Vegan Eats World, which is more nut-heavy than spice-heavy. I prefer more spices than nuts, so that the flavours really pop, but the lack of spices did not hold back here.

This salad started off a bit ho-hum, with a simple favour profile: cucumbers, chickpeas, quinoa, lemon and balsamic. It was nice, but not something to rave about… I wanted to add some chopped almonds but instead sprinkled the mystery nut blend overtop and it definitely brought this to a wow dish. The lemon really accents and highlights the spices. It tastes great and yet I still cannot confirm what is in this mix. 🙂

So for now, let’s assume it is dukkah and enjoy it for all it is worth. 🙂

How do you keep track of your food? Do you subscribe to “if I can’t remember what I made, then I probably shouldn’t be eating it?” rule?

Here are other recipes with dukkah:

Roasted Cauliflower and Chickpeas with Dukkah
Maple and Dukkah Roasted Sweet Potatoes from Olive Magazine
Roasted Carrot Soup with Dukkah from Bon Appetit
Bulgur Bowl With Spinach, Mushrooms and Middle Eastern Nut and Spice Seasoning from New York Times
Dukkah-Spiced Green Beans and Mushrooms from Anja’s Food For Thought
Roasted Squash with Tahini and Dukkah at Lisa’s Kitchen

Lemony Cucumber and Chickpea Salad with Dukkah

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays.

Lemony Cucumber and Chickpea Salad with Dukkah
Inspired by Eat Spin Run and Repeat

1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed well
3/4 cups vegetable broth or water
1.75 cups cooked chickpeas, rinsed and drained if canned
3 cups chopped cucumber (500g, 1.5 English cucumbers)
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar (I used white balsamic)
zest and juice from 1 lemon (1/4 cup)
salt, to taste

4 tbsp dukkah, (I think this was the one from Vegan Eats World which is a different recipe), or the following:

1.5 tbsp blanched almonds, toasted and finely chopped
2 tsp coriander seeds, toasted and ground
1.5 tsp cumin seeds, toasted and ground
1.5 tsp sesame seeds, toasted and ground
1 tbsp unsweetened dried shredded coconut, toasted and ground
pinch salt
pinch freshly ground black pepper

1. Prepare your quinoa: Bring water or vegetable broth to a boil over high heat. Once boiling, add quinoa. Reduce the heat to low, cover and simmer until all of the liquid is absorbed, about 15-20 minutes. Keep covered for an additional 5 minutes to steam. Set aside.

2. If making your dukkah, now, separately toast the almonds, coriander seeds, cumin seeds, sesame seeds and coconut. Grind each individually, then combine all together with a pinch of salt and pepper. Set aside.

3. Combine cooked quinoa, chickpeas, cucumbers, lemon juice and vinegar in a bowl. Add salt to taste and sprinkle with dukkah.

Serves 4.

  1. looks great 🙂

  2. I’m stuck on the fact that you had a white board with freezer inventory. Impressive, my friend.

  3. Hmm looks interesting! Although I’m not sure I’ve ever seen dukkah in the grocery store!

  4. i just made it to go with dinner tonight, and mmmmm, it is delicious! thank you for this creative recipe!

  5. You are mega organised, my friend. I also enjoy that when I was “eating down my pantry” in Australia and Canada both, this entailed going through multiple whole blocks of chocolate a day. For you, it’s cucumber and dukkah. 😉

    • The chocolate was long gone… every day I wept to Rob… NO MORE CHOCOLATE! No cocoa powder, no chocolate, no cocoa butter… although I think I still have carob powder… but dude, that is totally not the same when all you want is chocolate. 🙂

  6. I’ve been dying to try dukkah! Whatever it is, it looks great! 🙂

  7. I am totally guilty of the same thing! I’ve found many a container of half empty coconut milk at the back of the fridge…and it’s such a shame. I’ve never made dukkah before but now I think I really need to!

  8. The salad sounds delicious and the mystery in the fridge sounds somewhat familiar – though more familiar in my freezer – I currently have a tub that is stock or soup but I am not quite sure which. A freezer inventory sounds good in theory – it is the scraps that get most neglected – ends of bread loaves, old bananas etc

    • We are very good about using the bits and pieces.. they just get thrown into new dishes. I don’t know about you, but tomatoes only come in 28 oz cans here so I routinely freeze half cans of tomatoes. leftover coconut milk and chopped red peppers (because they require no prep).

  9. I’m not familiar with dukkah but it sounds tasty, kind of like Za’atar, no? I bet it adds a nice texture to this salad as well as a good flavour hit.
    I have a rummage around the freezer every now and again to see what I might want to use and my containers are generally well-labelled, but I could do definitely do with a system like your white board idea 🙂

  10. I usually don’t leave homemade things in my fridge for too long, but the “mystery container” situation seems to happen a lot in my parents fridge so I know what its like! I tend to go by looks and smell and if it seems okay to me, I’ll still use it! I’ve been wanting to try dukkah too (and was curious about the Vegan Eats World recipe), but I thought it might be better to try it from a restaurant or something first to get an idea of what its supposed to taste like before I attempt to make my own version!

    • I wouldn’t hesitate to try dukkah. It is actually very good and it was the first way I got my mom to eat cauliflower (roasted, sprinkled with dukkah). It has mass appeal. While similar, I feel like zaatar is more of an acquired taste, though.

  11. Gorgeous recipe!

  12. […] I haven’t been cooking too much, either. Pulling out freezer meals and eating out a bit more. Cooking up simple grains and tossing with a random assortment of veggies. Discovering fun sauces in the fridge. […]

  13. Yay! I just found another delicious use for the container of dukkah in my pantry. Love the mix in this. Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays this week. 😉

  14. […] (via Lemony Cucumber and Chickpea Salad with Dukkah | the taste space) […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.