the taste space

Avocado and Sauerkraut Salad with a Creamy Miso-Ginger Dressing

Posted in Favourites, Salads by janet @ the taste space on June 25, 2013

Avocado and Sauerkraut Salad with a Creamy Miso-Ginger Dressing

And we’re off!

Rob and I packed up all our things and are currently en route, road trip-style, to Houston. I have a few travel-themed recipes this week, as we drive across the country (down the country would be more accurate). 3000 km (over 1800mi). We have a lot of ground to cover.

I made a few travel snacks to bring with me (will be sharing throughout the next few weeks), and while I have tracked down a vegan restaurant in each city for dinner, I plan on eating simple meals throughout the day.

DSC_2883

I brainstormed before I left. What can I easily find at grocery stores? What would pack well? For some reason, I kept returning to salads with avocado and lemon. Easy, peasy. Throw in some nuts/seeds, cooked beans or tofu as an easy protein. And then I decided sauerkraut would be a wonderful addition, too.

Not wanting to simplify my meals too soon, I knew I didn’t want to wait to try out an avocado and sauerkraut salad. With my current kitchen a few weeks ago, I had the liberty of making a more complex salad dressing, so I ran with it. A creamy miso dressing with a zip from ginger and the tang from apple cider vinegar. That creaminess? Not nuts: nutritional yeast. I imagine avocado would be nice pureed into the dressing as well, but I left it in chunks for the salad. Paired with the salty sauerkraut and crunchy sunflower seeds, this was delicious.

What are your favourite easy travel-friendly meals?

Avocado and Sauerkraut Salad with a Creamy Miso-Ginger Dressing

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays and to this week’s Raw Food Thursdays.

Avocado and Sauerkraut Salad with a Creamy Miso-Ginger Dressing
Adapted from Ani’s 15-Day Fat Blast

1 cup sauerkraut (I am partial to Bubbie’s sauerkraut)
1 avocado
2 tbsp sunflower seeds (or nuts/seeds of choice)
mixed greens (or greens of choice)

1 tsp oil (I used Vega’s antioxidant EFA oil blend)
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 tbsp white miso
1/4-1/2 tsp grated ginger, or to taste
1 tsp Braggs or low-sodium soy sauce
1 tsp nutritional yeast

1. Make your dressing by whisking oil, vinegar, miso, ginger, Braggs/soy sauce and nutritional yeast together. Mine was pretty thick, so thin it to your desired consistency. I liked mine goopy.

2. Assemble with greens, sauerkraut, avocado and sunflower seeds. Dollop with dressing.

Serves 2.

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table said, on June 25, 2013 at 7:39 AM

    Safe travels!!! I’m so excited you’re stopping through my town. :)

  2. Allysia Kerney said, on June 25, 2013 at 12:34 PM

    Houston! I never visited there when I was in Texas. Also good call with the sauerkraut, I’m not sure if it’s my Ukrainian heritage but I could eat that stuff daily…and pretty much do, ha ha. In the future when I travel, I’m going to be more adventurous like this – in the past it’s been sammiches, homemade larabars, hummus and veggies. Happy road tripping!

  3. Ellen Lederman said, on June 25, 2013 at 2:38 PM

    This is so unique with the sauerkraut! Can’t believe you are still blogging in the midst of a major move. We actually would understand if you need to go on hiatus for a few weeks…

  4. Hannah said, on June 25, 2013 at 7:25 PM

    USA! USA!

  5. Eileen said, on June 25, 2013 at 7:46 PM

    Happy move! I hope everything goes well on your trip south. :) Sauerkraut on a salad? I would never have thought. Must try!

  6. amzie23 said, on June 26, 2013 at 3:44 AM

    Looks delicious. Definitely going to give this a try soon :)

  7. coconutandberries said, on June 26, 2013 at 11:25 AM

    Good luck for your trip! Sounds super exciting and hopefully you’ll find some good food en route :)
    Salad looks great, believe it or not I’ve never tried sauerkraut! I’m sure I’d love it though.

  8. Johanna GGG said, on June 26, 2013 at 9:29 PM

    happy travels – you sound very organised – love the sound of this because I think this is the first time I have seen sauerkraut in a salad – that has opened up my horizons! I think baked beans are my easiest travel food – or sushi or a packet of crackers with some hummus and vegies (hmm sounds like lunches here)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 3, 2013 at 1:05 PM

      Hey Johanna, Those sound like ultimate decadent travel foods! I find nori gets a bit soggy if left for more than a day but I love the idea of baked beans… because if hummus is a travel food (it always is packed), baked beans should be too! :)

  9. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on June 27, 2013 at 5:06 AM

    You sound so organised with your food planning – I’m sure you’ll be grateful when the travel starts! This looks great and like Johanna above I’ve never heard of sauekraut in a salad before. Intriguing :)

  10. Deb in Hawaii said, on June 30, 2013 at 6:12 PM

    I wouldn’t have thought of avocado and sauerkraut together in a salad but I can see how that works and the dressing sounds delicious. Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays and participating even while traveling! ;-)

  11. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on July 1, 2013 at 10:46 AM

    Avocado and sauerkraut are 2 of my favourite salad ingredients! Totally a go-to for me too :)

  12. heathergfc said, on July 2, 2013 at 10:15 AM

    I love that we’re living parallel lives with our moves. Road tripping for 2 days was challenging, but we planned our meal stops at Whole Foods salad bars! It was perfect! Now we’re staying with family, all possessions in a storage unit awaiting our new home. What an adventure, right?

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 2, 2013 at 10:33 AM

      Yes, this is a wonderful adventure. We waited 4 days for our storage pod to catch up with us. Gah! We have enjoyed Trader Joes and Whole Foods a lot these past few weeks! :-)

  13. Sauerkraut and What I AM Wednesdays (WIAW) said, on September 18, 2013 at 6:31 AM

    […] used Janet’s recipe for my maiden sauerkraut voyage. I know I love salads, so if the sauerkraut failed to please me at […]


What do you think?

