janet @ the taste space

Maple Pecan Shortbread Cookies

In Desserts on December 5, 2013 at 6:44 AM

Raw Pecan Shortbread Cookies

I need your help.

Before I came to America, I was really excited to exercise my couponing prowess. I had seen some television shows where people get tons of stuff at the grocery store for next to nothing, because they use sales, price matching and coupons. There was coupon matching, double coupon day, etc.

I have been here for almost 6 months and have yet to encounter such coupon chaos. Where is it??

It must be because I don’t routinely go to standard box stores. Instead, I scope out cheap, fresh produce at the food marketย and Trader Joe’s and order random ingredients online. There are a few different websites I like, depending on what I want to buy. Sadly, these food-friendly websites did not really succumb to the “Cyber Monday” craze. In my mind, it is all in the best interest of keeping a mostly minimalist pantry.

But, one site was different. Although, it wasn’t even a Cyber Monday Deal. The sale is still on now.

You could do it, too! We could be in this mess together!

Raw Pecan Shortbread Cookies

My friend let me know about a super deal on coconut flour. $29 for 25 lbs, after a coupon. Free shipping. Since coconut flour can sell for over $8/lb, this was a positive steal. But also A LOT of coconut flour.

Rob was not pleased. I am not entirely sure where to store it.

It is such a unique ingredient that I love, so I will definitely be experimenting with it. My friend has suggested adding it to oatmeal, smoothies, crackers and even whipping it into a coconut butter-type spread.

My first dent into my coconut flour stash was small, but still worthwhile. These cookies were delicious and festive, to boot. While they have a texture of a crumbly shortbread, that is where the similarities end, because these are wholesome with so few ingredients: pecans, maple syrup, coconut flour and salt. You can bake them or dehydrate them. I opted for the latter and they were a sweet and delicious cookie.

Do you have any tricks for couponing? Did you join in the Black Friday or Cyber Monday deals? Any cool recipes for coconut flour?

Raw Pecan Shortbread Cookies

This is my submission to this month’s Dead Easy Desserts.

Maple Pecan Shortbread Cookies (Raw or Baked)
Courtesyย ofย Practically Raw Desserts

2 cups dry pecans
1/4 cup coconut flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup maple syrup

1. In a food processor fitted with its S-blade, pulse nuts until they are finely ground. Do not overprocess. Add the coconut flour and salt, and pulse to combine. Drizzle in the maple syrup, and pulse until the dough sticks together.

2. You have two options now: dehydrate them or bake them. If dehydrating (which is what I did), scoop dough into small balls, roll into balls with your hands and place on a Teflex-lined tray. Flatten balls until they are 1/2-inch thick. Dehydrate at 110F for 4 hours, flipping over onto a mesh-lined tray half-way through. The cookies should be dry and firm.

3. If choosing to bake them, preheat oven to 300F. Place dough balls onto a parchment or silpat-lined baking sheet and flatten until they are half-inch thick. Bake for 9-11 minutes, until the cookies are dry. Allow to cool completely on the baking sheet prior to handling, as they make crumble apart.

Store cookies at room temperature for 2 days, the refrigerator for a week or the freezer for a month.

Makes 20 cookies.

  1. WOW that’s a lot of coconut flour to go through, but you can do it! It’s so healthy too so it seems like a worthwhile challenge ๐Ÿ™‚

    I LOVE how simple these cookies are! I cannot wait to try them!

  2. I had to laugh—everyone else is buying electronics and clothes on Black Friday/Cyber Monday…and you are buying…coconut flour! You are my kind of person….except that I have a bit of coconut flour fear (is there a technical term for that, like cocoflourphobia?) after the raw cupcake disaster. So 25 pounds is a bit scary to me.

    And coupons aren’t of much interest to people who cook and eat as we do since they are for processed products.

    Am going to e-mail you a recipe I’ve been enjoying for cookies that use a bit of coco flour…

    • Thanks, Ellen! Yes, it is true that coupons are usually for the stuff I do not need…. Although I was kind of hoping for free shampoo and the like! In any case, I am definitely having more fun at the farmer’s market. I never know what I will find, so it keeps me on my toes. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      We are still TV-less, but Rob splurged and bought us some speakers on CM so we can listen to music in the kitchen. I hope it works out so we can hook up our laptops to it for our music source – that is the plan.

      And yes, I totally understand about the fear of coconut flour… I think they may be a bit different, but I am hesitant with her new disclaimers, too. Real coconut flour has had the fat removed and it you just have dried coconut, in powder-form, it will be different. My friend said she could make coconut butter from the flour and I am still not convinced it would work (again due to the lack of fat)… BUT with this much flour, I think I can try experimenting just a little. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thanks again for the recipe!

  3. Thanks for the heads up on coconut flour!  I’ve never used it before, but my mouth is watering as I read recipes.  Here’s a link to some great ideas: http://www.tropicaltraditions.com/organic_coconut_flour.htm?utm_source=adcenter&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=Gluten%2BFree My kids would so totally go for coconut flour tortillas, and with vegan tweaking I think I can make it happen for them.  A lot of the other recipes look like good starting points, too.   Have a super day, Linda

  4. Oh how I love pecans! I’m always looking for a bargain so would probably have snapped up that coconut flour to,o even though I haven’t used it in all that many recipes. Look forward to seeing what else you come up with using it.

  5. A lot of times the Sunday newspaper will have a lot of coupons in it, so you might want to check that out! Otherwise, I suppose they usually put them on your doorstep (or at least, on my mother’s…in apartment buildings it’s kind of tough). That is a TON of coconut flour!! I would have totally done the same thing, though. And the.boy might have killed me. But it would be so worth it.

  6. Would you believe I have already tried your recipe?! I had all the ingredients, noteably a packet of coconut flour to use up, and this is exactly the kind of sweet I love. It did not disappoint! Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Sadly I don’t think we’re going biking this weekend, so I guess we should do our other favourite weekend activity: cooking and potlucking!! Between you and I we’ll become experts in vegan coconut flour recipes. Keep the tips coming!

  8. I don’t understand coupons at all – we don’t really have them here – but I definitely understand these cookies! They look gorgeous and I love the short ingredient list ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. […] evidenced by myย maple pecan shortbread cookies, vegan cheesecake with a pecan shortbread crust, baked caramelized banana & pecan oatmeal and […]

  10. I think, just for the record, that you would make a great host for Healthy Vegan Fridays…just sayin’.

  11. These look delicious!

  12. These sound wonderful, especially with coconut. Thanks for submitting to Dead Easy Desserts!

  13. I wonder how long coconut flour lasts…I’ve had a bag of it for over a year (maybe even two!) that I haven’t been able to use up yet, so there’s no way I could go through 25lbs! I’ve tried making frosting with it (too grainy) and baked goods (too dry and crumbly) so I haven’t had much luck with it yet! I do like the taste though, and I think I made raw cookie balls once that turned out okay!

  14. Omg hahaha that is hilarious!!! You really bought 25 lbs? That is an amazing deal and good for you for having the balls to go through with it! I would probably chicken out, especially considering I’ve had a small pouch of coconut flour in my freezer for months now. Looking forward to seeing what you make with all your flour in the coming months! (We should have a coconut flour party! lol)

  15. […] it out for my latest treat: Indian Burfi. It sounds more dramatic, but really it is similar to my maple pecan shortbread cookies because it is simply nuts and sweetener with an Indian twist from cardamom and saffron. I used […]

  16. These sound positively delicious!!!
    Sadly… I am not a couponer (much to my mom’s disappointment). I’m pretty good with the budget in general and don’t spend money on really anything (I don’t shop or do much that costs money aside from basic needs), so I tend to splurge on food stuffs. My hubby considers it a happy trade off as I find diamonds ugly ;p

  17. […] swear, I wasn’t planning on sharing yet another dessert. But once I made these (uber wonderfully, possibly, yes, confirmed, the best […]

  18. Terrific! Amazing, with only 3 whole foods ingredients (okay, technically 4 with the salt, but I don’t count salt as an actual ingredient, especially in small amounts and unless it’s a true part of the recipe, like salted caramels).

  19. […] a demon for biscuits and never more so than these pecan shortbread cookies by […]

  20. […] One thing my friends and family have heckled me about recently (not my knees, thank goodness), is my purchase of 25 lbs of coconut flour last year. […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.