janet @ the taste space

Lemon Ricotta Muffins

In Breakfasts, Desserts on December 28, 2009 at 9:43 AM

Over the holidays, we typically eat a lot of indulgent foods. The desserts, cookies, cakes, chocolates and all that.. but also delicious breakfasts. Muffins are relatively easy to make and these are no exception. What use is breakfast if you spend all day making them? Ricotta tends to add a nice light texture to baked goods and these were delicious with a light lemon flavour. I found them a bit on the dry side and I wonder whether that was because I used light ricotta.  The recipe was adapted from A Year in the Kitchen, who adapted them from Rosa’s Yummy Yums. A perfect muffin which contrasted and complemented our overindulgences this holiday season.

This is my submission for the new year’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Haalo at Cook (Almost) Everything at Least Once.

Lemon Ricotta Muffins

2 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup light ricotta cheese (full fat may be better)
1/2 cup milk
6 tablespoons butter, melted
2 eggs
zest of 2 to 3 lemons

1. Preheat oven to 400F and line a muffin pan with paper liners or grease with shortening.

2. Stir together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.

3. In another smaller bowl, whisk together the ricotta, milk, melted butter, eggs and lemon zest.

4. Make a well in the dry mixture, pour in the wet mixture and fold together until just incorporated (be very careful not to over mix).

5. Spoon the batter into the muffin tins.

6. Bake for 25 minutes until the muffins are golden brown on top.

Makes 12 muffins

  1. They look so pretty! Thanks for trying my recipe!

    I guess that they were a little dry because you used light ricotta cheese…

    Best wishes for the New year!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. I have some ricotta in the fridge that I must use up! Maybe these would be the perfect way!

  3. I think this will go on my New Year’s brunch menu! I’ll try full fat ricotta – and maybe some yogurt?

  4. I love the flavor combination of lemon and Ricotta! I make Giada’s Lemon Ricotta Cookies quite often and they’re always a hit at the office. I can’t wait to try them in muffin form!

  5. Ricotta is such a great ingredient to use in muffins and these look fabulous!

  6. I used full fat ricotta and lemon flavoring instead of lemon zest (I used my last lemon for dinner last night), and these little guys are so tasty. I’m eating one for breakfast right now! They really aren’t too sweet, which is refreshing after eating pie and cake practically every day for the past month.

  7. Your muffins look fantastic! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  8. What a beautiful photo! I’m having a hard time giving up sweets now that the holidays are over (although I definitely need to…) but these would be the perfect thing to wean me off. Not too sweet but still a definite treat.

  9. I love this recipe; it reminds me of Giada’s Lemon Ricotta Cookies. I make Giada’s Lemon Ricotta Cookies all the time. My family and neighbors always request them when we have get together. The Lemons Ricotta Muffins, I made a few changes to the recipe by adding 1/2 cup of ground almonds and only using 1 1/2 cups of flour. I also added the juice from 2 lemons along with the zest. Very Yummy.

  10. […] by Saveur on September 30, 2010 Oftentimes, my breakfast and dessert could be the same dish. I never really thought I had sweet breakfasts, but I definitely prefer more wholesome desserts. […]

  11. […] weekend. I know it's a weird choice but I have a partiall container of ricotta I need to use up Lemon Ricotta Muffins the taste space – steam, bake, boil, shake! __________________ Bloom where you're […]

  12. […] Muffins aka the most orgasmic thing to ever come out of my kitchen These are freaking amazing Lemon Ricotta Muffins the taste space – steam, bake, boil, shake! __________________ Bloom where you're […]

  13. […] adapted from The Taste Space, as seen on A Year in the Kitchen, originally adapted from Rosa’s Yummy […]

  14. […] Lemon Ricotta MuffinsAdapted from: TastespaceMakes 12 […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.