janet @ the taste space

Warm Chickpea and Artichoke Salad

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian), Salads on April 14, 2010 at 4:48 PM

In my last post, I commented that I could have a hard time making up a tasty meal without advance warning. That’s usually because I buy my produce for each dish and then work around what I have and need for my meals.  I don’t tend to make too many meals that are completely from pantry staples (I did during my university days, though!).

However, there is something to say about tasty meals that can be whipped together from stuff in your cupboards. I recently returned from a trip and came home to an empty fridge.  What to make?  Then I knew it! The chickpea and artichoke salad!

I initially spotted this recipe through the No Crouton’s Required round-up about chickpeas (with two variations from the same original recipe from Vegan Yum Yum by Lauren Ulm (also posted here)). My variation is adapted from Diet, Dessert and Dogs.

While I may not always be a fan of chickpeas, this was delicious. The fried chickpeas had a nutty, toasted flavour that worked well with the slightly tangy lemon and herb dressing, the mellow artichokes that were scorched nicely and the toasted almonds with their crunch and flavour wrapped up the salad beautifully. This is definitely a salad that shows how all the flavour is in that brown stuff at the bottom of the frypan. 🙂

The pantry staples for this dish will definitely be squirreled away in my cupboards for that emergency salad fix for unexpected guests. Who should be more excited – me or my guests? 😉

This is my submission to this month’s My Legume Love Affair, hosted by RuchikaCooks and to this week’s Healthy Vegan Friday.

Warm Chickpea and Artichoke Salad

5 Tbsp (75 ml) extra virgin olive oil, divided (or less)
juice of 1 lemon
2 tsp (10 ml) dried basil, or use 1-2 Tbsp (15-30 ml) fresh, finely chopped
1 tsp (5 ml) dried oregano
1/4 cup (60 ml) fresh parsley, chopped (omitted)
2 cloves garlic, pureed with fine sea salt
1/4 tsp (1.25 ml) fine sea salt, or more, to taste
2 cups (480 ml) cooked chickpeas, well drained (or a 19-oz can of chickpeas, rinsed well before using)
5 artichoke hearts (I used a 14-oz can), drained and sliced lengthwise with 3/4 cm slices
1/3 cup sliced or slivered almonds

1. In the bottom of a large bowl, whisk together 3 Tbsp (45 ml) of the olive oil, lemon juice, basil, oregano, parsley (if using), garlic and sea salt.  Set aside.

2. In a large frypan, toast almonds until lightly browned, about 5-7 minutes.

3. In the same large frypan, heat another 1 Tbsp (15 ml) oil.  Add the chickpeas and cook over medium heat, stirring often, until they are all golden brown (this takes about 10 minutes).  Add to the bowl.

4. Heat the remaining 1 Tbsp (15 ml) oil in the pan and add the artichoke hearts, cut side down.  Cook until they are browned, flipping over only once or twice to avoid breaking them up, about 3-5 minutes each side.  Add them to the bowl as well.

5. Toss the salad gently until the chickpeas and artichoke hearts are well coated with the dressing.  To serve, spoon the salad onto serving plates and sprinkle with some of the chopped almonds (add any leftover almonds to the bowl and toss again).  Serve warm.

Serves 2-3 as a main dish.

  1. Thanks for giving it a try–and so glad you liked it! I also rarely used canned/jarred staples at dinnertime. . .but this was really a great, quick dinner. Hmm. . .maybe I need to whip it up again! 🙂

  2. Artichokes look so well done! Now this could be a filling meal on its own!
    Thanks for sharing this.

    http://ruchikacooks.com

  3. A georgous, healthy & tasty chickpeas salad!!

    Yummm,….!!!!

  4. When I saw this recipe yesterday, I knew I had to make it.
    I was planning on having it for dinner tonight with leftovers for lunch tomorrow. I used fresh artichokes in it and I have to say, it was amazing! I only have one complaint- it was so good, we ate it all and now I have to come up with something else for lunch tomorrow!

    • Hey Jessie. I have never used fresh artichokes but I am sure it would make this dish even better! I am so glad to hear you loved it! 🙂

  5. Looks and sounds heavenly! The first time I cooked chickpeas was for a homemade hummus recipe. I tried one of the chickpeas, sans anything but Bragg’s liquid aminos and I was pleasantly surprised. I like the nutty taste. Who knew? What I don’t have is an affinity for artichokes, but this does sound interesting. Thanks for the recipe!

  6. That’s a nice artichoke salad!

  7. I just made this and it was SO good! Thanks for the recipe, it was great and I usually have all of the ingredients on hand!

  8. Just made this! It was amazing and both my roommates loved it. The simplicity makes everything pop!
    Thanks for a wonderful, easy, and simple recipe that even a broke college student can make. 🙂

  9. […] hooked up, programs downloaded, files transferred, I was hungry. I’d been meaning to try the Warm Chickpea and Artichoke Salad recipe I found last week. I bought all of the ingredients. (Well, most of them. I keep forgetting […]

  10. […] over how wonderful pan-roasted chickpeas are, creamy, nutty and flavourful. They always add extra oomph to a salad and did not disappoint […]

  11. […] While I don’t make many recipes a second time, I definitely have an opinion on what other people should make. This is my dish that I recommend without hesitation. It is simple and fairly quick to put together to phenomenal results.  The spaetzle is a bonus recipe, which is our not-so-secret family recipe.Warm Chickpea and Artichoke Salad […]

  12. I’ve made this multiple times since finding the recipe through Pinterest! Such a delicious weeknight dinner. Also, quick tip: Trader Joe’s sells frozen artichoke hearts that I just find are much tastier than canned. I now keep them on hand so I can whip this up any time!

    • Thanks for the feedback, Jessica.. and the tip for frozen artichokes! I don’t live near a TJ, so I will have to see what they have more locally. Because I LOVE artichokes. 🙂

  13. […] For me, I doddle between what I have already in my fridge, to what is on sale  at the grocery store, to really wanting to make a specific dish. I waver between recipes with a lot of positive reviews, or from my favourite cookbooks and blogs, to more unique recipes with my favourite ingredients. But mostly, it is dictated by what needs to be used up in the fridge. This is why I have a hard time making recipes that are purely from pantry staples (except after returning from vacation and being welcomed by an empty fridge). […]

  14. […] cupcakes, these weren’t too bad and tasted delicious. Sunday night I made Warm Chickpea and Artichoke Salad. It was really good and would make a great picnic or party salad. I added some kale and I highly […]

  15. […] Cod Casserole,” from the February/March 2006 issue of Eating Well, with the “Warm Chickpea and Artichoke Salad,” from tastespace.wordpress.com. Come back to my site soon, to see my […]

  16. […] also made the very satisfying “Warm Chickpea and Artichoke Salad,” from tastespace. wordpress.com. The basic list of ingredients is easy to overlook, perhaps, […]

  17. […] reminded me a lot of my favourite Warm Chickpea and Artichoke Salad which pan-sears the artichokes and chickpeas into a glorious dish. This salad, courtesy of Tess in […]

  18. […] keeping a kitchen well-stocked for your return from vacation. While I have a few go-to recipes from pantry staples alone, and freezer meals help, when I come home from vacation, I am usually craving […]

  19. […] lemon-dill dressing. It had been a while since I’ve had pan-roasted chickpeas, which were a favourite of mine 2 years ago, so I decided to break them out with this creamy lemon-dill dressing from […]

  20. […] Mediterranean Chickpea and Spinach Salad Warm Chickpea and Artichoke Salad Spanish Lentil and Mushroom […]

  21. […] chile powder and roasted garlic, it really called my name. It has been awhile since I’ve pan-cooked chickpeas, and as I made it, I added spinach. When I sat down to eat it, I was smitten. Perfectly balanced […]

  22. […] Warm Artichoke and Chickpea with Toasted Almonds […]

  23. Thank you for sharing, it is a tasty dish. Will add to my ‘will make it again’ list ❤

  24. I made this with quinoa and feta tonight. My fiancé said it’s one of the top three meals I’ve ever made! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  25. […] salad off the top of my head. I don’t like chickpeas with vinaigrettes, preferring them pan-roasted or smothered in thick sauces. However, as soon as we tasted this salad, both Rob and I […]

  26. Quick question – do you remove the almonds from the pan before adding the chickpeas? Looking forward to trying this dish.

  27. This sounds awesome. I love artichoke hearts. Will definitely be making this soon.

  28. It was wonderful, Janet. Even my “meat and potatoes” uncle had a second helping.

  29. […] Lauwarmer Kichererbsen-Artischockensalat […]

  30. […] reading it for years and enjoyed many of her creations (hemp brownies, the best vegan cheesecake, warm chickpea and artichoke salad and cocoa mint nibbles). All the while knowing she follows an anti-candida diet but never really […]

  31. […] reading it for years and enjoyed many of her creations (hemp brownies, the best vegan cheesecake, warm chickpea and artichoke salad and cocoa mint nibbles). All the while knowing she follows an anti-candida diet but never really […]

  32. The salad looks great with artichokes! I make similar salads with chickpeas, next time I’ll add artichokes 🙂

  33. This was so good and so quick and easy. I’ve been eating mostly vegan through the week in order to lose weight and improve my health. I love trying new recipes. I added a little wilted lettuce to the salad to make it last a little longer and was happy to find that it blended very well with the other ingredients.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.