janet @ the taste space

Apricot-glazed Tofu with Rice and Bok Choy

In Mains (Vegetarian), Sides on July 20, 2010 at 8:43 AM


It is no secret that I love the library. Not only do I get to browse through cookbooks, but I also love the accessible movie collection and the free museum passes. There’s also the fiction section, but cookbooks have taken a priority for bedtime reading recently.

A few cookbooks leap from the library to my bookshelf.  I took out Raising the Salad Bar four times, each time loving new recipes, before I decided to buy my own copy. Sometimes I bookmark so many recipes that I know the cookbook is a keeper. Rose Reisman’s Family Favourites was such a cookbook. Nearly every recipe was something that I wanted to make. They were so fresh, simple and healthy, I couldn’t resist.

After I bought the book, I noticed that her website also has many of my bookmarked recipes. This makes so much sense to me: propagate those healthy recipes! It is for the betterment of the planet. 🙂

I am all for open-source cookbooks, if you will, which is at the heart of my food blogging.  Food blogs are great for encouraging and empowering people to cook at home, and a bonus when the recipes are as healthy as those created by Rose.  The biggest thrill I get is when someone tried one of my posted recipes and loved it as much as me.

Now about the apricot-glazed tofu recipe, which was adapted from here on her website and is also in her cookbook Rose Reisman’s Family Favourites. I liked the sweet apricot glaze on the tofu but I think ours was a bit sweeter since we added another tablespoon or so of jam to finish off the jar. However, the sweetness of the apricot worked really well when combined with the tang from the sesame and soy sauce-laced bok choy. Really well! Enjoy!


This is my submission to this month’s My Legume Love Affair hosted by Siri at Siri’s Corner and this month’s Side Dish Showdown.

Apricot-glazed Tofu with Rice and Bok Choy

one 12 oz package firm tofu
3 Tbsp apricot jam
1 Tbsp maple syrup
1 tsp Dijon mustard
2 tsp apple cider vinegar
2 Tbsp chopped cilantro (optional, I skipped this)
2 Tbsp chopped dried apricots

2 cups cooked rice
6 bok choy, cut lengthwise
1 clove of garlic, sliced
1/2 tsp sesame oil
1/2 tsp soy sauce

1. Cut the tofu into 8 rectangles.
2. Lightly coat a nonstick skillet or grill pan with vegetable oil and set over medium heat. Grill the tofu until lightly browned, about 4 minutes per side.
3. To make the glaze, combine the apricot jam, maple syrup, mustard and apple cider vinegar in a small saucepan. Set over medium heat and simmer just until warm, about 2 minutes.
4. Add a bit of water to the chopped bok choy and microwave on high for 3 minutes (alternatively, you can steam it). Add in sliced garlic and drizzle with sesame oil and soy sauce.
5. To serve, plate rice, top with bok choy mixture. Add the tofu drizzled with the glaze and garnished with the cilantro and apricots.

Serves 4.

  1. Wow, I am loving that tofu with apricot glaze.

  2. […] around and I still have the rice cooker, without having made Tamarind Lentils myself. But lots of rice, mind […]

  3. […] that often, and if I do, it is usually incorporated into my meal. I’ve made a few stand-alone tofu recipes, and that was even before I went vegan. […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.