janet @ the taste space

Avocado Overnight Oats

In Breakfasts, Desserts on February 15, 2011 at 8:00 AM

Avocado Overnight Oats

Hi! It’s Rob again for one last item in my short series of posts here on the taste space.

After crafting the delicious avocado chutney last week, I was left with a couple of leftover avocados. I was perplexed. What should I do with them? I didn’t want to make guacamole. I wasn’t prepared to produce a salad with them. In Australia I learned how amazing avocado is in sandwiches or hamburgers, but that wasn’t the direction I wanted to go either.

I KNOW! I would devise a new variation of everyone’s beloved overnight oats! I was very excited. Overnight oats are great, but wouldn’t they be better if they were filled with tropical fruits?

I’ll be honest with you. I hold tropical fruits in very high regard. As such, I pine to travel to the tropical regions where these fruits are cheap, fresh, and plentiful. I’ve been to a few of these places, but my yearning to go to more is unceasing…

I still think fondly of the Cook Islands where I enjoyed the best papaya I ever had, topped with grated coconut and lime juice.

I still remember the glee I felt when I arrived in Fiji at the height of mango season. They were so ripe that they fell from the trees and landed at my feet, begging to be devoured.

I still recall the wonder I felt while roaming the streets of Bangkok and marvelling at the carts of the street vendors showcasing pineapples, artfully cut and ready to take away with little packets of salt and chili.

At this time, however, I had no papaya, mango, or pineapple. Instead, I used an avocado, coconut flakes, and a banana. It all came together very well. What a fantastic breakfast!

This is being submitted to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Graziana from Erbe in Cucina (Cooking with Herbs).

Avocado Overnight Oats

1/2 cup large flake oats
1 cup soy milk
1 tsp chia seeds
1 dash of ground cinnamon
2 drops of vanilla extract
1 ripe avocado, cut into small pieces (less than 1/2 inch)
2 tbsp coconut flakes
1 ripe banana, cut into pieces as small as you can get!

1. In a mixing bowl, combine the oats, soy milk, chia seeds, cinnamon, vanilla, avocado, and coconut flakes. Mix well.

2. Cover and keep in your refrigerator overnight.

3. In morning, after you’ve been dreaming avocado dreams all night, cut up your banana, mix it in with the rest, and enjoy!

Alternately, you can freeze the banana overnight and blend the whole mess together in step 3. I don’t have a blender, so I just cut everything into small bits using a spoon. 🙂

Serves 2 (or 1 hungry me)

  1. Looks so gud ….nice pic

  2. What an unusual breakfast dish, but just what I would like! I used to make a Cuban dish that had avocados, bananas and pineapple. It was fabulous! I’ll have to make this as I buy avocados nearly every week.

  3. What a wonderful and original recipe! I have never heard of avocado in oats but it’s such a fabulous idea.

  4. i really need to get on the overnight oats bandwagon…especially now that avocado and tropical fruits are involved! This looks great!

  5. Wow wat a wonderful and healthy recipe, inviting..

  6. Coconut and banana sound great with the avocado! I’d love to wake up to these oats.

  7. I have some avocado in my refrigerator, and I’m tired of guacamole too, I think I will try your recipe soon. Thank you for joining to WHB!

  8. […] I will admit that we visited more grocery and food stores while we were in NYC than anything else, but that’s what we like! Trader Joe’s is great for picking up breakfast items. I bought some quick-cook steel cut oats (what an oxymoron, but true to the advertising they cooked up in 7 minutes over the stovetop) and we added some dried blueberries and bananas for a delicious breakfast. We picked up some apples, edamame hummus and baby carrots for snacks. Arugula and artichoke antipasto spread were bought for sandwiches. Other travelling-friendly breakfast options sans-stovetop would be granola overtop yogurt and fruit or overnight oats. […]

  9. […] goodie: overnight oats with chia seeds. I’ve shared versions with chocolate & cherries, avocado and gingerbread pumpkin, but this one was a classic vanilla-cinnamon […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.