janet @ the taste space

Moroccan Tagine of Lima Beans, Cherry Tomatoes and Black Olives

In Mains (Vegetarian) on March 9, 2011 at 5:43 AM


Most kids are picky eaters.  I was no exception. I remember hating whole wheat bread, with the oats on the crust. I’d tell my mom I refused to eat the “eggshell bread”. My mom was pretty stern in the kitchen, and always made me finish eating my food, anyways.

While I may have my own food quirks, I think most kids would agree that certain foods are no fun. Lima beans, anyone? Brussels sprouts, perhaps?

Lima beans were definitely not something I liked as a kid, either. I would try to pick them out of the mixed frozen vegetables. To no avail. My mom was watching. I remember them being small, flat green beans with a firm texture.  Yellow wax beans were more up my alley back then.

So when I saw Ricki smitten with fennel after her Hated Vegetable Challenge, I figured I would open my bean repertoire and try out lima beans again. As an adult (am I really an adult now? well at least my palate is!).

My source for dried beans is Bestwin, where I can find the standard fare of chickpeas (split, desi, black, etc), black beans, and assorted lentils (red and brown but not French du Puy or black beluga). They have black eyed peas, pinto beans, and, to my delight, lima beans as well.

I picked out a Moroccan lima bean tagine from Tagine by Ghillie Basan. It was not like anything I had encountered while in Morocco, as I skipped the Northern Mediterranean coast with its Spanish flare, filled with roasted cherry tomatoes, black olives, ginger, thyme, coriander and saffron; and a bit of zip from chili flakes. An exotic savoury blend wherein the flavours worked really well together. And the lima beans, well, they were phenomenal. They expanded to be these silky, creamy smooth pillows if ever beans could do that.

But wait! These are not the lima beans I remember from my childhood!

Reverse, reverse…. what did I buy at Bestwin?

Lima beans… butter beans… habas grande.

These must be giant lima beans! Further research tells me that lima beans (Phaseolus limensis) and butter beans (Phaseolus lunatus) are different, yet similar since they are related. The lima bean tends to be larger, though. And those small green ones I remember? They are more akin to baby/green lima beans.

Either way, this was a great experiment with lima beans. I have found a new beany friend.


This is being submitted to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Winnie from Healthy Green Kitchen.

Moroccan Tagine of Lima Beans, Cherry Tomatoes and Black Olives

1 cup dried lima beans, soaked overnight in plenty of water
2 tbsp olive oil
2 red onions, halved lengthwise, cut in half crosswise, and sliced with the grain
1/4 tsp Aleppo chili flakes
4 garlic cloves, minced
2 tsp coriander seeds, crushed
2 tbsp fresh ginger, peeled and finely shredded or chopped
a pinch of saffron threads
1 pint cherry tomatoes (about 16-20 tomatoes if you’re counting!)
1 tsp agave nectar (or sugar)
2 tsp dried thyme
2-3 tbsp black olives, pitted (I used Nicoise)
freshly squeezed juice of 1/2 lemon (1-2 tbsp)
sea salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

1. Drain and rinse the soaked beans. Put them in a deep saucepan with plenty of water and bring to a boil. Boil for about 5 minutes, then reduce the heat and simmer gently for about 1 hour, or until the beans are tender but not mushy. Drain and refresh them under cold running water.

2. Heat the olive oil in a tagine or heavy-based casserole dish. Stir in the onions and chili flakes and saute for 3 minutes. Add in garlic and saute until the onions begin to soften. Add the coriander seeds, ginger and saffron. Cover and cook gently for 4-5 minutes. Toss in the tomatoes with the agave nectar and thyme, cover with the lid again and cook until the skin on the tomatoes begins to crinkle (5-10 minutes).

3. Toss in the beans and olives, pour over the lemon juice and season to taste with salt and pepper. Cover with the lid and cook gently for about 5 minutes, until the beans and olives are heated through.

4. Sprinkle with the cilantro and serve with couscous or chunks of crusty bread and a dollop of thick, creamy yogurt, if liked.

Serves 4-6.

  1. I love butter beans, they are definitely my favourite bean! I don’t know about lima beans not sure what they are.! This tagine has all my favourite flavours and is perfect for this rainy day in Spain, thanks!!

  2. Wow–that photo makes me want to dig in–NOW. Love the flavors in this. I actually like lima beans but have never tried butter beans (at least, I don’t think I have–maybe time for me to branch out that way, now, too!). 🙂

  3. you are amazing. that looks unbelievably scrumptious!

  4. There are so many things I hated as a kid that I eat now…like, every vegetable, for example! I do like lima beans, even the frozen kind, and this tagine looks delicious! I love the combination of spices but it is unlike any other Moroccan recipe I’ve seen!

  5. Chili flakes, ginger and agave? Yum! I’m saving this to try!

  6. This looks delicious! I love lima beans and will have to try this one!

  7. This sounds great. I was just in Paris and Moroccan restaurants were everywhere. Now I want to try making a tagine at home.

  8. Can’t wait to make this. It will be great with some of Rancho Gordo’s amazing Christmas Lima beans!

  9. […] 4. Janet from The Taste Space in Toronto created a Tagine of Lima Beans, Cherry Tomatoes and Black Olives. […]

  10. Thank you for submitting this lovely dish to WHB #274.
    The roundup is posted at
    http://www.healthygreenkitchen.com/weekend-herb-blogging-274.html

  11. ah! butter beans! I only had them in soup recently, but I really do love these giant beans! (: Thanks for the ideas(:

    http://mummyicancook.blogspot.com/2011/01/tuscan-butter-bean-soup.html

  12. Thank goodness our tastes grow up as we do. I’d hate to be stuck with the preferences of my childhood. Your tagine sounds wonderful.

  13. Oh wow, this sounds so good. Nothing better than olives and tomatoes. And all those spices? Amazing.

  14. I’ve never had lima beans! I should try them. You do make them look delicious (though that may be because my brain keeps seeing potatoes instead of beans haha.)

  15. […] flat-leaf parsley, steered me into the direction of Greek Baked Beans (Gigantes Plaki), where giant lima beans are baked with a luscious tomato sauce spiced with smoked paprika, oregano, garlic, parsley and […]

  16. That is very strange that Bestwin does not carry French du Puy or black beluga lentils. Either way, your Lima beans look delicious! I absolutely admire your use of legumes in all of your dishes!

  17. […] wasn’t even 6 months ago that I likely would have shunned lima beans based on my childhood disdain, but I am so glad that I made the leap to try something new. If you haven’t yet tried cooking […]

  18. […] Moroccan Tagine of Lima Beans, Cherry Tomatoes and Black Olives from The Taste Space […]

  19. […] still crunchy & kind of bitter.  Intimidated, I Googled recipes and for this one here – Moroccan Tagine of Lima Beans, Cherry Tomatoes and Black Olives.  The photos were pretty & I already had all the ingredients – so I whipped it up […]

  20. I made this recipe tonight, it’s delicious, great flavors!! I will make this again, thanks for the recipe!!

  21. […] with Caramelized Onions 2- Pork Tagine 3- Lamb Mince, Egg and Feta ‘Breakfast’ Tagine 4- Tagine of Lima Beans, Cherry Tomatoes and Black Olives 5- Slow Cooker Lamb and Apricot Tagine 6- Fish Tagine with Tomatoes, Olives, and […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.