janet @ the taste space

Sesame-Miso Soba Noodles with Kale & Red Pepper

In Mains (Vegetarian) on May 12, 2013 at 8:12 AM

Sesame-Miso Soba Noodles with Kale & Red Pepper

Eating through my pantry has some benefits. I find foods I had forgotten.

My Mom remembers. My Mom is like an elephant: she never forgets.
(She will probably never forget me calling her an elephant… HAHAHAHA!)

What about all your soba noodles, Janet?

Oh yeah…. all those noodles I bought after I came back from Japan. Just like when I drank my way through a library of non-dairy milks to figure out which I liked the most, I bought a wide variety of soba noodles to pinpoint the perfect pasta.  However, I shortly became disillusioned when I figured out that most soba noodles actually contain very little buckwheat. The noodles are still mostly made from white flour. Lesson: Read the package before you buy them.

I eventually found 100% buckwheat noodles but scoffed at the price. So I put them back.

I eventually found them again, but this time it was a different brand. And they were a much better price. So I bought some and then proceded to forget I had them.

Definitely great for a change, the buckwheat noodles are slightly nutty and cook in 4 minutes.

Here, I paired them with kale and red pepper and a simple sesame-miso sauce. A simple sauce, not due to a limited ingredient list. Rather because the ratio is almost all 1:1:1:1:1:2 (the original recipe was 1:1 for all ingredients but I thought it needed a bigger dose of lemon juice). The sauce is creamy, salty and tangy and coated the noodles and veggies well. I used some of the pasta water to thin the sauce but use as much as you like.

Instead of massaging the kale, I let the heat of the noodles wilt them. Easy, peasy. Because as much as I love raw kale salads, I am usually able to trick convince others into doing the massaging. I hate getting my hands too dirty. 😉

(PS. This post was pre-approved. My Mom thought it was in good taste. Both the elephant and noodles. And a great post for Mother’s Day. I think she was just happy I was eating through my soba noodles.)

Sesame-Miso Soba Noodles with Kale & Red Pepper

Other tahini sauces you may enjoy (because tahini is so much more versatile than hummus):

Macro Veggie and Tempeh Bowl with a Miso-Tahini Sauce

Crunchy Cabbage Salad with Orange-Tahini Dressing

Quinoa and Chickpea Salad with a Balsamic Tahini Dressing

Curried Chickpea Salad with Carrots and Currants

Tahini-Dressed Zucchini and Green Bean Salad with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

Warm Lentil, Bulgur and Vegetable Skillet with a Lemon-Tahini Sauce

Braised Tempeh with Green Beans in a Sesame Sauce

Yam, Zucchini and Chickpea Salad with a Tahini-Lemon Dressing

Quinoa Wraps with Sweet Potato, Tofu Feta and a Sweet Tahini Dipping Sauce

Bok Choy and Sesame Ginger Udon Noodles from 1000 Vegan Recipes (we’ve made these with red pepper added and enjoyed them)

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Wellness.

Simple Sesame-Miso Soba Noodles with Kale & Red Pepper

1 bundle soba noodles (King Soba has 100% buckwheat soba noodles that don’t cost a fortune) – or your favourite noodle
1-2 cups thinly sliced/chopped kale leaves (destemmed)
1/2 cup finely chopped red pepper
2 tbsp simple sesame miso sauce (see below)

1. Bring a small pot of water to a boil. Make your dressing (see below). When boiling, add noodles. Cook as per directions. I usually don’t cook soba noodles more than 4 minutes. When ready, drain and reserve some of the cooking liquid.

2. Put the cooked noodles into a bowl along with the kale. Stir to allow the heat to wilt the kale. Cover and let sit for a moment or two.

3. Stir in as much dressing as you like and stir in the red pepper. Thin with some of the reserved cooking liquid if desired (I added a few tablespoons worth).

Serves 1-2.

Simple Sesame Miso Sauce
Adapted from ExtraVeganZa (original recipe here)

2 tbsp white miso
2 tbsp tahini
2 tbsp low-sodium tamari
2 tbsp nutritional yeast
2 tbsp water
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
2 cloves garlic, pressed or minced

1. Mix all ingredients together in a small cup. Thin to desired consistency. Store in fridge.

Makes 1/2 cup (serves ~4).

  1. Yes, I’m happy that you consider me an elephant in memory and not size. I’m especially happy that you’re reducing the amount of noodles you have before your move.

    Love,
    Mom

  2. It is definitely difficult to come across 100% buckwheat soba that is reasonably priced, so I’m usually lame and buy the wheat mix, ha ha. This is super similar to the soba dish I make on a near-weekly basis, because tahini and miso are like…the best of all things. And I agree with the extra lemon thing, I would do the same! And probably toss in some cilantro, because I eat cilantro with everything. 🙂

    • Great tips, Allysia. I made this at the end of the week, when my kale was almost crying and no more cilantro in the house. Now i have restocked my cilantro (and cucumbers) so I am bound to add cilantro next time… and maybe broccoli instead of kale since my kale is depleted. 😉

  3. Mmm that tahini sauce has me absolutely drooling! I do the same trick with kale and other greens too 😉 Life is too short to be massaging all the time!

  4. More tahini recipes! I think I should dedicate a bookmarks folder to tahini recipes I’m accumulating so many!
    Love soba noodles, we actually have the kingsoba variety over here too, and they’re so much cheaper than the other mainsteam brand who make 100% buckwheat ones. I should get some more once I’ve depleted my pantry a little more.

    Also, reporting back on the tahini ginger turmeric sauce- it definitely grew on me, and I thought it worked well with the bowl ingredients. I did add a little salt to my bowl though as I felt like I needed to counteract the sweetness a bit with a little savoury.

    • Hey Emma, I didn’t think I had so many until I kept remembering all of my favourites. Have you made Gena’s balsamic-tahini dressing yet? That one is definitely one of my favourites. 🙂

      Thank you for letting me know how the ginger turmeric sauce turned out.. totally want to try it out now. 🙂
      And feel free to send me recipe recommendations any time. 🙂

  5. Soba is the greatest. I think the most affordable soba I’ve ever found were also some of the most buckwheaty–bulk soba from the 4th St food co-op in Manhattan. This sauce sounds perfect with them!

  6. Hahaha! I did a similar thing in Australia; I splurged in really expensive true-buckwheat soba so that I could make a dish that my wheat-allergic mum could eat, but then I saved it so long for “a special occasion” that I, um, left the country without using them.

    Totally wish I had them to make your recipe now!

  7. Sounds healthy and delicious. Yum!

  8. I always really want to buy the GOOD soba noodles, but they really are so expensive! I need to research a less expensive brand but in the meantime I won’t let it stop me from making these with the less-than-par noodles! Lol.

  9. Mmm this looks so tasty! I had given up on soba noodles after going vegan, I’ll have to try and find the king soba ones.

  10. I’m a little bit of obsessed with miso at the moment (I only discovered it this Christmas!) and I LOVE the sound of your sesame miso sauce. Definitely going to have to give it a try. Looking forward to checking out all those tahini dressings recipes too. Thanks so much for sharing them with us 😀

  11. Awesome looking recipe 🙂 what I’ve been looking for that I can share with Pat :). That sauce sounds amazing 😀 need to give tahini another chance!!

  12. […] I wanted to serve this with soba noodles, the sauce was too chunky for such delicate pasta. Instead, I pulled out a chunky noodle. We have […]

  13. […] you remember the soba noodle debacle? The time I bought oodles of soba noodles and then proceeded to leave them in the pantry and […]

  14. […] Simple Sesame-Miso Soba Noodles with Kale & Red Pepper […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.