janet @ the taste space

Pumpkin-Infused Refried Beans

In Sides on October 29, 2013 at 6:57 AM

Pumpkin & Pinto Refried Beans

As the lone Canadian at work, I feel like an Ambassador.

I am constantly learning about Texas, and likewise I try to explain where I am coming from as well.

Yes, Canadians celebrate Thanksgiving two months before Americans. Toronto is colder than Houston, but not nearly as cold as Ottawa, let alone Edmonton. My friend who recently joined us in Houston came from Edmonton, where she explained she could take a cup of boiling water out in the water, and splash it out of her cup. By the time it would hit the ground, it would have frozen solid. Toronto is not that cold, although Hannah told me Toronto has already received its first snowfall of the year (which subsequently melted away).

Then there’s the upcoming Hallowe’en celebrations. Yes, Canadians celebrate Hallowe’en much the same as Americans: youngsters (young and old) get dressed up in costumes and in the evening, go door-to-door asking for candies. We just have to wear more clothes in Canada to keep warm.

Truth be told, I was a bit more curious whether trick-or-treating still took place in Houston. Houston seems quite unique to me, because at least in my neighbourhood, everyone has gates and fences around the front of their houses. It seems a tad intimidating and uninviting. Never mind the “Trespassers will be shot; Survivors will be shot again” sign our neighbours sport. Right next to a “Peace” sign, to boot.

In anticipation of Hallowe’en, this past weekend, Rob and I with a new friend cycled around our neighbourhood which is nicely decked out with Hallowe’en decorations. It really was a great bike ride, with good company. It was nice to have Rob back home!

And while this is no Hallowe’en treat I am sharing, it is a Hallowe’en coloured treat courtesy of the fall’s fine produce: the pumpkin. A spin on refried beans, in this dip, pumpkin is mashed with pinto beans and tomatoes and spiced with marjoram, smoked paprika, chili powder and lime juice. The pumpkin lent a nice sweetness to the dip which was countered by the lime. Not at all spicy so increase to your heat level. I ate this dip with crackers, corn chips and vegetables. Kathy also suggests using this as a nice burrito filling, too, but it didn’t last long enough for me to test it out. 😉

So, for those outside North America, how do you celebrate Hallowe’en?

Pumpkin & Pinto Refried Beans

This is my submission to this week’s Healthy Vegan Fridays, Vegan Potluck Linky this month’s Let’s Cook with Pumpkins and this month’s Veggie of the Month.

Pumpkin-Infused Refried Beans (aka Pumpkin Frijoles)
Adapted from The Great Vegan Bean Book (original recipe found here)

3 cups cooked pinto beans or 29-oz can pinto beans, rinsed and drained
1 cup pumpkin purée
1 tsp coconut oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 cup water
1 can (14.5 ounces) diced tomatoes, undrained
1 tsp dried marjoram
1/2 tsp smoked paprika (I used smoked sweet paprika)
1/2 tsp chili powder
Juice of 1-2 lime, around 3-4 tbsp
Salt and pepper, to taste

1. In a medium bowl, combine the beans and pumpkin puree. Mash with a potato masher or fork until somewhat blended but still chunky.

2. In a large non-stick skillet over medium heat, heat oil. Add the garlic and saute for 1 minute, or until fragrant. Stir in the water, undrained tomatoes, marjoram, smoked paprika, chili powder and salt and pepper to taste. Stir in the mashed beans and pumpkin.

3. Keep mashing the beans as you cook the mixture down, approximately 15 minutes, or until you reach your desired consistency. Stir in the lime juice and season to taste.

Serves 6.

  1. It is -1°C in Toronto right now and I feel plenty cold!!

  2. Minus on the way to work today! I’ve been the Aussie Ambassador here, telling people tat we don’t celebrate Halloween in Australia. But I’m seeing increasing amounts of photos of sl*tty whatevers on my Aussie Facebook feed, so I think the corporate money-making potential and skanky desires of the holiday are starting to take hold down there too. Ugh.

  3. What a wonderful fall twist on refried beans! I could see myself eating this with just a side of rice. Yum!

  4. Some years it is actually cold in ATL on Halloween! That doesn’t stop people from wearing verrrry little clothing.

  5. You could seriously mix pumpkin with… poop and it would taste good? LMFAOOOOOO Okay I am def. NOT saying refried beans are poop, I am just saying that pumpkin goes well with EVERYTHING!

  6. What an innovative dish, thankyou so much for sending it to Lets cook with pumpkin event at simply.food. The recipe also fits in for my event Lets Flavours of USA and Canada,Please feel free to link it to this event too.http://www.simplysensationalfood.com/2013/10/event-announcementflavours-of-usa-and.html

  7. My mom’s Halloween rule was that we could only trick or treat at houses that had decorations. If they had no decorations, it probably meant they didn’t want to be bothered! This year…I’ll be celebrating by eating pumpkin. Perhaps in this frijoles form!

  8. I swear you can’t go wrong with pumpkin this time of year. I know I’m not outside the US but we plan to walk around my mom’s neighborhood and trick-or-treat and sit around a fire pit and have some wine!

  9. I’m really curious about the locals here in Buenos Aires, do they celebrate Halloween? I have no idea. I don’t usually celebrate Halloween except for a few events. These pumpkin frijoles look so tasty, I bet they are so tasty in burritos or dips! Speaking of Toronto, you make Houston sound better 😉 the nice weather 🙂

  10. Wait is that a JOKE about your friend and the water? That sounds so miserable that there are no WORDS to describe it. That sure is a far cry from Texas. Don’t worry, Halloween will still be celebrated in your neighborhood. Even Texans have hearts!

    Would never think to mix pumpkins with beans!! I hate beans, so I bet this would cover up the taste!

  11. This looks so delish. I just got some tasty blue corn tortilla chips which are just waiting for an awesome dip like this!
    I’m not doing anything for Halloween. I did occasionally go to Halloween parties as a kid but never trick or treating- It’s definitely not my favourite holiday- I’m getting excited about Christmas instead!

  12. I’m having a hard time even imagining what pumpkin + beans tastes like together but I’m sure it’s delicious!

  13. I MUST try this. You have adapted it from one of newest favorite books too!

  14. Oh I love this!! What an awesome way to have pumpkin in a non-dessert way!

  15. This sounds fantastic – what a wonderful new way to use pumpkin. I know this will make an appearance on my table soon! 🙂

  16. Such a fun idea to incorporate pumpkin in this dish. I love refried beans, so this sounds perfect!

  17. […] Pumpkin-Infused Refried Beans by Taste Space […]

  18. […] 3. Most Creative Use of Pumpkin – Pumpkin-Infused Refried Beans from The Taste Space: […]

  19. I got around to making a spiced up version of this recipe and loved it! Just posted about it. Wonderful idea to include pumpkin in refried beans.

  20. […] Pumpkin-Infused Refried Beans by the taste space […]

  21. […] Pumpkin-Infused Refried Beans by the taste […]

  22. […] 3. Most Creative Use of Pumpkin – Pumpkin-Infused Refried Beans from The Taste Space: […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.