janet @ the taste space

Kale Ribbons and Chickpeas with Curried Spaghetti Squash

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) on March 25, 2014 at 6:30 AM

Kale Ribbons with Curried Spaghetti Squash

I am sorry but not sorry, Canada.

I am sorry that this was one really long and cold winter. But I am not sorry I missed it.

Last week, I returned to Canada. In Montreal, I was greeted by mountains of snow banks that still had to melt away. However, by the end of my stay, a fresh blanket of snow covered the city in near white-out conditions. My flight home was cancelled but Air Canada thoughtfully put us on a later flight, skirting the worst of the storm.

(People poo-poo Air Canada but I like flying with them, especially compared to any airline based in the US. I can catch up on my movie watching (no additional charge!) and sometimes they even give me pretzels (HA!)).

Kale Ribbons with Curried Spaghetti Squash

Knowing full well that warm meals are still in season (even Houston’s weather has tamed somewhat), I am unashamedly sharing yet another winter squash recipe. In March. Because, yes, they are still on my counter and based on my last post with kabocha squash, still in your kitchens, too. Plus, this dish was too good to hide until next year.

It is a deceivingly simple recipe: spaghetti squash, kale, chickpeas, sun-dried tomatoes, smoked paprika and curry powder. In fact, it sounded downright weird. However, after I tasted it, it made sense. A lot of curries are tomato-based and while I don’t use tomato, sun-dried tomatoes deliver intense bursts of tomato flavour without sauciness. Smoked paprika adds a different twist so this isn’t a boring, bland curry. Chickpeas add protein and bulk. The kale is more earthy but a barely noticeable way to eat some greenery. The spaghetti squash is merely a backdrop but sops up the flavours deliciously. This dish made fabulous leftovers, allowing the flavours to meld even further.

Did you get walloped with more snow this weekend, too?

Kale Ribbons with Curried Spaghetti Squash

This is my submission to this month’s Pasta Please for tomatoes.

Kale Ribbons and Chickpeas with Curried Spaghetti Squash
Adapted from Wild About Greens

1.5 lb spaghetti squash (1 small squash, or half a large one)
1 tbsp olive oil
1 small onion, quartered and thinly sliced
4 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
1 bunch kale (200g), stemmed and thinly sliced
1.5 cup cooked chickpeas, rinsed and drained if canned
1/2 tsp curry powder
1/2 tsp smoked paprika
1/4 tsp Aleppo chili flakes
1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes, softened and cut into strips

1. Preheat oven to 400F. Place rack in centre of oven. (If you are fancy, try smearing the halved squash with garlic, oil and salt and pepper first). Pierce the spaghetti squash multiple times with a fork or knife. Place on a baking sheet and bake for 30 minutes. Rotate squash and bake another 30 minutes or until the shell feels soft. Remove from oven and set aside until cool enough to handle. Once the squash has cooled, cut it in half and remove and discard the seeds and scrape the strands of squash out with a fork.

2. Once the squash has cooked, in a large skillet over medium heat, heat the oil. Add the onion, sprinkle with salt and sauté until translucent. Add the garlic and continue to sauté until the onion is golden, around 1 minute more.

3. Add the sliced kale to the skillet along with a touch of water to keep it moist. Raise the heat to medium-high, cooking the greens until a brilliant green, stirring often. Stir in the spaghetti squash strands, chickpeas, curry powder, smoked paprika and chile flakes, to taste. Continue to cook and stir the squash for an additional 5-7 minutes, or until the kale ribbons are tender, but still nice and bright. Add the sun-dried tomatoes and any soaking water if the dish looks dry. Taste and season with salt and pepper as desired.

Serves 2. Easy to double!

  1. Sweet, nutty, silky, deep…lovely x

  2. People complain about Delta here… but as long as they give me a choice of pretzels, peanuts, or Biscoff on every flight, I will remain loyal! 🙂

  3. Thank you for your sympathies, Janet. We really need it up here :S

  4. What a delicious dish, love all the ingredients. Here in AZ the weather is already very warm, too warm. I would love to live in cooler climate.

  5. More snow last night! I’m over it and not sorry about it at all. However, I am absolutely in love with this dish! It looks delicious and I love all of the ingredients. Yum!

    • OK, another one my wife will like. She loves spaghetti squash. It also looks pretty straight forward. I will definately give this one a go soon. Here in Colorado, our weather changes radically day to day in the spring so you no sooner think that 65 degree day is signs of thing to come than you get snow the next day.

  6. I kind of love how little effort it takes to go from plain to fancy roasted spaghetti squash! 🙂 This sounds like the perfect dinner to warm you up on a cold and snowy day.

  7. I am so impressed you still have spaghetti squash around! Everything goes bad on my counter. Love the curry infusion into this!

  8. I wish we had spaghetti squash. I guess having that vegetable is one slight benefit of crazy winters?!

  9. I’m glad you missed this winter too. No ones needs to go through this unneccessarily!

  10. […] While we’re on the topic of noodles, a characteristically creative and nutritious meal from Janet: kale ribbons with chickpeas and curried spaghetti squash. […]

  11. “I am sorry that this was one really long and cold winter. But I am not sorry I missed it.”
    I’m with you Janet! I feel so bad for them… but was happy to have escaped it myself.
    This dish looks great – I love using spaghetti squash. I feel it is very underrated =)

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.