janet @ the taste space

Salmon Teriyaki Miso Soup with Udon and Spinach

In Mains (Fish), Soups on December 23, 2009 at 9:18 AM

This is one of those stalker-like posts, but with a purely good reason. This month Tried and Tasted is scouring recipes at Closet Cooking! Before I started my own blog, I was a loyal follower of Closet Cooking.  Kevin, who also hails from Toronto, cooks with very creative ingredients and always has tasty posts.  I have always wanted to take a peak into his “closet kitchen” to see his cupboards, as he whips up such imaginative meals… and how does he manage to eat all this food (he has almost daily posts!)??  Furthermore, he shares a similar love of Japanese cuisine, so there is no shortage of inspirational recipes, including tons of fish recipes that look both tasty and easy, including Maple SalmonMisoyaki Salmon, and Broiled Halibut with Orange and Miso Glaze. I love how Kevin includes alternative recipes when he is faced with left-overs, so with my leftover salmon teriyaki, I thought his Salmon Noodle Soup (which I rechristened Salmon Teriyaki Miso Soup with Udon and Spinach) would be perfect.

A few notes, first, about Japanese ingredients in Toronto. There are many Asian markets in Toronto, some larger than others. This is a continuation from my post about soy sauce, mirin, and sake. My favourite stores (for price, variety and high turnover) are T&T and BestWin, but J-Town is also worth a trek up north.  It is worth looking into smaller stores, because some carry Japanese ingredients, including tiny mom-and-pop shops like D&Y Market. I have learned a few things about brands, so here are my recommendations:

Dashi – Dashi is the traditional soup stock of Japan, in both vegetarian and fish options. I have made it homemade, but sometimes I find it easier to use powder (Ajinomoto makes a good dashi). It is a fairly common brand and should be found at most Asian markets, including PAT and T&T.

Miso – Miso is a salty paste made from fermented soybeans (also rice or barley).  Miso soups are fairly common and easy to make but miso can also be used for sauces, spreads, for meat, etc.  There are many different kinds of miso, and not all are interchangeable, so it is worthwhile figuring things out as red misos are more salty, white misos less so.  Maki at Just Hungry has a great primer on miso.  I usually buy mine at T&T, but it is widely available and can be found in well-stocked grocery stores like Metro, Loblaws, etc. Basically, I look to see if it is white or red miso. I store it in the refrigerator.

Shiitake mushrooms – Shiitake are Japan’s most famous mushroom, but also hails from China. Known for its meaty, woody aroma, they are widely used in Japanese cuisine. They can be bought fresh or dried. Look for mushrooms that are whole. Dried mushrooms can be kept indefinitively if stored in a cool, dark place. They need to be rehydrated for 20-30 minutes with water, before use.  When looking for Asian mushrooms, there is no contest, you have to go to an Asian market. You can find them in the typical Sobeys, Loblaws, etc, but they are incredibly expensive. At T&T, BestWin and in Chinatown they are much more reasonably priced. I think at T&T I have seen fresh shiitake mushrooms for $2-3/lb. When looking for dried, I have found them in the same stores. They can be called shiitake, or flower mushrooms and winter mushrooms (from their Chinese names).

Udon – Udon are the thick, chewy Japanese noodles made from wheat flour. When I returned from Japan, I almost thought I was deprived of great udon when I tried the fresh stuff. I learned, though, that frozen is the way to go. I have tried the black package of Sanuki udon from T&T and love it. I plan to make udon from scratch one day, but until then, this stuff is great. Sanuki udon means it comes from a specific prefecture in Japan (Kagawa) and are chewier, thicker noodles (my favourite!).

Now onto the soup: It was wonderful.  Japanese cuisine is all about balancing salty, sweet, sour, bitter and spicy and the sweet teriyaki worked wonderfully with the salty miso, meaty mushrooms and bitter/spicy green onions. I will now plan to make excess salmon teriyaki just so I can make this soup!! Delicious! 😀



Salmon Teriyaki Miso Soup with Udon and Spinach

2 clumps of udon noodles
4 cups of dashi
6 shiitake mushrooms (sliced, I used 2 dried soaked in water for 20 minutes)
2 tablespoons white miso
1 cup teriyaki salmon (cooked and flaked)
2 handfuls spinach
2 green onions (chopped)

Directions:
1. Bring the dashi and mushrooms to a boil and simmer for a few minutes and turn off the heat. Add the udon noodles and cook as directed (frozen noodles only need ~7 minutes in boiling water)
2. Mix the miso into a ladle full of the dashi and then pour it back into the dashi.
3. Divide the salmon and spinach between 4 bowls and pour the noodles and broth in.
4. Garnish with the green onions.

Serves 4

  1. These pictures look so delicious. I could go for a bowl of miso right now. My daughter fell in love with miso with tofu when she was two- she still loves it.

  2. Your salmon teriyaki miso soup looks great! Nice photos! I also like Sanko on Queen West for Japanese ingredients.

  3. The soup looks so good.. Perfect for the winter… And yes all the facts about kevin are so interesting.. His closet should be real huge..

  4. I just made a bowl of this and it came out absolutely delish! However, I didn’t have all the ingredients I needed for the salmon teriyaki so I substituted it for a black tea, honey and soy sauce glaze. It worked really well!

  5. Hi Saveur, lovely soup 🙂 Thanks for participating the cooking event with Kevin. I hope you re up for another challenge too. We have almost 10 more days to go … this month, we are cooking from Akal´s Saappadu, hope you like. More info here.

  6. […] Don’t forget, this is another option for leftover salmon teriyaki: Salmon Teriyaki Miso Soup with Udon and Spinach. […]

  7. […] frozen udon noodles (one “brick”, these ones are great) 1/4 cup creamy peanut butter 2 tbsp soy sauce 2 tbsp seasoned rice vinegar 1 tbsp sriracha 1 tbsp […]

  8. […] frozen udon noodles (one “brick”, these ones are great) 1/4 cup creamy peanut butter 2 tbsp soy sauce 2 tbsp seasoned rice vinegar 1 tbsp sriracha 1 tbsp […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.