janet @ the taste space

Announcing Breakfast Club #9

In Events/Round-Ups on March 1, 2011 at 5:30 AM

You know I love creative, healthy breakfasts, so I am thrilled to be this month’s host of the Breakfast Club!

Originally conceived by Helen at Fuss Free Flavours and Sarah at Fingers and Toes, it is a way to cultivate culinary adventures for breakfast.

The theme this month will be WHOLE GRAINS.

It is important to incorporate whole grains into your diet, and there is no better place to start than bright and early in the day with your breakfast. Whole grains have higher nutritional value since the cereal germ, endosperm, and bran are still intact, which are removed when using refined flours. Eating whole grains has been linked to reduce diseases such as heart disease, diabetes, bowel health, colon cancer and obesity.

Whether you choose to use oats (instant, rolled or steel cut), quinoa, amaranth, millet, buckwheat, rye, barley, brown rice, kamut, teff, or spelt, wheat (wheat berries/bulgur), the options are wide open for breakfast treats!

If you would like to join this culinary feast this month, make a blog post, linking both this post as well as Helen. Then please email me your name, name of dish, post url, location and photo to saveur11 AT yahoo DOT ca, by Sunday, March 27 at noon EST. Old recipes may be submitted, provided you republish your recipe with the extra information. Feel free to use the Breakfast Club logo and #breakfastclub if you are on twitter.

I look forward to seeing how whole grains will pop up in your breakfasts. :)

  1. I make no promises but I am adding this to my calendar because it sounds like such a fun event!

  2. Sounds like a great event. I will aim to participate! 🙂

  3. […] Last month the theme was to go and I’ll be posting the round up soon.   For March I am delighted to have another of my favourite food bloggers hosting, Saveur and the fabulous Canadian Taste Space. This month the theme is Whole Grains! […]

  4. Thanks for hosting. I am looking forward to see what everyone comes up with!

  5. […] at Taste Space, and the host for March, made a scrumptious looking Apricot Oatmeal Breakfast Clafoutis with creamy baked oatmeal filled […]

  6. Thank you for hosting such a nice event. Have updated my Events blog and will try to send in my entries soon.

  7. […] is being submitted to this month’s Breakfast Club, featuring whole grains (hosted by me this […]

  8. […] well with this month’s Breakfast Club, hosted by Taste Space, who has chosen the theme “Whole grains.”  I hadn’t really decided what I wanted to do for the challenge yet, but porridge […]

  9. Looks like a lovely & healthy event ! Glad to follow you 🙂
    Happy hosting !

    Should send in my entries soon enough !

    Cheers
    Mom Chef

  10. Will semolina be considered whole grain? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Semolina

  11. […] is my submission to Breakfast Club featuring whole grains and AWED featuring Indian […]

  12. […] like to thank Helen for allowing me to host Breakfast Club this month. The theme this month was whole grains and I am excited to share these healthy morning […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.