janet @ the taste space

Breakfast Club – Whole Grains – Round-Up

In Breakfasts, Events/Round-Ups on March 31, 2011 at 6:02 PM

I’d like to thank Helen for allowing me to host Breakfast Club this month. The theme this month was whole grains and I am excited to share these healthy morning treats:

First up, we have Milda from Uncanny Goodness who whipped up these Red Quinoa and Cherry Muffins that are loaded with quinoa, pink from beets, not from food colouring, and are sweet rather than savoury.

***

Next we have Harini from Harini’s Corner who made two dishes. First was Ven Pongal, a South Indian dish wherein aromatic spices are combined with moong dhal and rice.

Harini also made Pesarattu, which is similar to flat Indian pancakes (dosa) made with green moong dhal.


***

Mel from Sharky Oven Gloves created an intoxicating blend of whole grain goodness with a Heather Honey and Whisky Porridge filled with porridge oats.


***

Magpie made a cross between a dosa and a chappatis, two Indian breads, made with wholewheat flour which she daubbed a Whole Wheat Savory Buttermilk Pancake (Moru Dosa).


***

Sangeetha from Sangi’s Food shared this delicious and healthy quick bread with her friends.  I wouldn’t be able to stop talking about a Banana Oat Walnut Bread, either.
***

Cathy Elton from What Would Cathy Eat? made her first Baked Oatmeal with Blueberries studded on the bottom and can’t wait to try it with other fruits. What a delicious way to start your day.

***

I also made my stovetop steel-cut oats with blueberries, but paired it with lemon and balsamic vinegar for a gourmet start to my day (Balsamic Lemon-Blueberry Steel Cut Oats).

***

Next, I made a master mix for my overnight oats to take with me while travelling. This version was made with chocolate and dried cherries which was delicious with ultra-portable almond milk in tetrapacks (Portable Chocolate Cherry Overnight Oats).

***

And last, but not least, I created a virtuous Indian-Spiced Superseed Porridge filled with quinoa, amaranth and chia seeds while being spiced with cinnamon and cardamom.

***

Stay tuned to Helen’s blog for next month’s theme and host!

  1. What a great round up! Many thanks for hosting this month, and I am sorry I did not take part (the pressure of the blog backlog!)

    Next month’s host is Krithis Kitchen!
    http://krithiskitchen.blogspot.com/

  2. I love the inventiveness of all of these recipes! These are all breakfasts I would feel so good about eating.

  3. Thanks for the roundup! Nice to see so much whole grain goodness!

  4. I’ve been getting into overnight oatmeal recently in my slow cooker b/c it’s such a good way to wake up in the morning. I can’t wait to try your Indian-Spiced Superseed Porridge and Red Quinoa and Cherry Muffins from Uncanny Goodness/

  5. […] and the event was hosted Saveur at the fabulous Canadian Taste Space. Check out the round up here.  Many thanks for […]

  6. Yummm I would more than happily eat any of those! And I’m intrigued by whisky in a porridge!

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.