janet @ the taste space

Zesty Cashew Orange Spread and Apple Swiss Chard Wrap

In Desserts, Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) on May 2, 2011 at 6:04 AM


I am completely smitten by Swiss chard wraps.

They are a very healthy way to wrap around a sandwich filling, while having the benefit of not getting soggy like rice paper rolls, etc.

I am still working on the best technique on how to keep them together, though.

Attempt #1: A little lop-sided but still very tasty!

Attempt #2: I think I could use smaller apple slices, but this was a better success!

But like most things, it is what is inside that counts.

This is such an unusual pairing of ingredients but they work wonderfully together. Just as Gena suggested, I used the Zesty Cashew Orange Spread with an apple in a Swiss chard wrap. That dip, divine as it is solo, it is even better in this wrap. There is something about the crisp, sweet apple, paired with the sweet green, along with the tangy citrus spread that knocks my socks off. This is a lovely snack, and once I get some toothpicks, a lovely snack to take on my long cycling trips!

This is being submitted to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Astrid from Paulchen’s Foodblog.

Zesty Cashew Orange Spread and Apple Swiss Chard Wrap

1 apple, sliced (a crisp sweet apple like Jonagold, Fuji, etc works well)
1/4 cup Zesty Cashew Orange Spread
2 large Swiss Chard leaves

1. Cut out the largest part of the Swiss chard stem, in the shape of a V (a good photo tutorial for making Swiss chard wraps is here).

2. Place 1/8 cup of the Zesty Cashew Orange Spread along the length of the leaf.

3. Place apple slices overtop.

4. Roll up cut sides of Swiss chard (near the base), fold in other end, and roll up.

5. Do the same with the other leaf.

Serves 1-2.

  1. This is one of those recipes I would have never thought of myself. So thanks for being so imaginative!

  2. I love Gena’s blog too! Glad to see you making some of her recipes – they are so inventive and healthy, aren’t they? I love that about the raw food world. 🙂

  3. Oh my gosh I LOOVE this (as usual). This would be perfect for my detox! I’m getting some swiss chard asap.

  4. Somehow I’ve never done the swiss chard wrap before, though I do absolutely adore swiss chard! That filling sounds fantastic!

  5. What a novel idea! I have honestly never tried Swiss chard, but a kind neighbor offered to bring over some extra from her garden. I love greens, and I can’t wait to try it! I’m saving your recipe for when the time comes. 🙂

  6. Hey Janet!
    This looks super yummy. I made some sweet potato falafel the other night, and wrapped them in raw chard leaves instead of pita, and it was oh so good! I’m definitely a fan of wrapping foods in leaves, sometimes the bread hides the flavor of what you really want to be tasting; and its healthier!
    Thanks for watching my video. When you make the fries, let me know how they turn out!

  7. […] She made Zesty Cashew Orange Spread and Apple swiss Chard Wraps. […]

  8. Mmmm I’m going to have to try this!

  9. […] become boring! This is when it becomes exciting, because the experimentation in raw foods has created some luscious treats, perfect during the hot summer when you don’t want to turn on your stove […]

  10. […] I tried raw cuisine for the first time and fell in love with its creative ways of using fresh foods. This was one of those utter delicious spreads that was incredibly addictive. It paired well in an apple and swiss chard wrap. […]

  11. […] way with pairing seemingly odd ingredients together, yet they work so well (remember the delectable apple and zesty cashew orange spread wrap?). Anyways, this was a very decadent wrap with the seasoned avocado working as a dressing, the […]

  12. […] you probably figured out, I like wraps, especially when wrapped with a green leaf like Swiss chard, kale, collard or even Romaine lettuce. Hearty greens don’t go soggy. My leaves are usually […]

  13. […] Zesty Cashew Orange Spread and Apple and Swiss Chard Wrap […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.