janet @ the taste space

Raw Mixed Berry Crisp

In Breakfasts, Desserts on July 25, 2011 at 6:07 AM


If I thought the label vegan was stigmatizing, never mind what people think when you tell them you are eating raw food! I have had friends flat out refuse to go to a raw restaurant with me (where’s the meat? where’s the heat? they exclaimed).

Eating raw foods could be as simple a summer salad, or snacking on some fresh fruit, which are not too horrific in the slightest. For those eating only raw foods (not me, don’t worry), this would quickly become boring! This is when it becomes exciting, because the experimentation in raw foods has created some luscious treats, perfect during the hot summer when you don’t want to turn on your stove or oven.

Summer berries are at their prime right now and I know the virtues of eating berries, plain, unadorned, in all their glory.

Let me fill you in on a secret: there is food synergy at play. 1+1 does not equal 2. Combine your favourite summer berries and top with a nutty topping for a delicious crisp. No oven required.

Raw Mixed Berry Crisp
If it were that simple, it wouldn’t as phenomenal.

This is the second secret: macerate your berries. Blend your berries. Use a portion of your berries to create a sweet juice, just as if you baked your crumble and it is oozing those lovely fruit juices. I cringed when I mashed my blackberries (my beautiful blackberries!), but it is what brings this dessert to the next level. It isn’t just berries and nuts.

I was inspired by the recipe in Radiant Health, Inner Wealth and Raw Food Made Easy to create my own Raw Mixed Berry Crisp. I used blackberries and raspberries, which were a wonderful combination, but choose your favourites (blackberry-peach? raspberry-mango? blueberry-pomegranate?). The cinnamon-almond-date topping would work with any fruit!  If you don’t plan to eat everything at once, I suggest keeping the topping separate from the fruit. Sprinkle over top just prior to serving… because if you aren’t going to eat it for dessert, you may as well have it for breakfast! 🙂

Raw Mixed Berry Crisp
This is being submitted to this week’s Weekend Wellness, this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Anh from A Food Lover’s Journey.

Raw Mixed Berry Crisp

1/2 cup almonds
1/8 cup dried unsweetened coconut
1/8 tsp cinnamon
1/8 cup raisins
2 Medjool Dates, pitted
1 tbsp coconut sugar, maple syrup or agave
1/8 tsp salt
4 cups blackberries
2.5 cups raspberries
dash of freshly grated nutmeg

1. Pulse almonds, coconut, cinnamon, raisins, dates, sugar and salt in a food processor until coarse. Do not over-process.

2. Take 2 cups of berries and mash with a fork. Combine with remainder of berries and nutmeg. Add sugar to taste.

3. Divide berries between 4 ramekins and top with almond mixture.
(For individual servings, I would mash 1/2 cup fruit and add to 1 cup fruit, and top with 1/4 of the topping)

Serves 4.

  1. I love raw foods too – I find that it helps encourage really creative new recipes (takes on old favorites, or what have you) that taste SO fresh and delicious.

  2. My parents stigmatize me based on the “pescatarian” (though mostly veg) label, so I can only imagine what they would say if I mentioned raw foods to them! I do love veggies and fruit in their unadulterated state though, and this sounds delicious!

  3. Raw foods are fantastic. I love that you used coconut in this too. My filling would be cherries and blackberries – I can’t get enough right now!

  4. What a great summer dessert (or breakfast!)

  5. […] I do. In moderation. I just want to have some nutrients packaged with it, too. A healthier option. I simply adore raw desserts, but often they are nut-based or sport a heavy dose of agave or coconut […]

  6. […] Vegetable and Quinoa Bowl – Red Lentil, Spinach and Lemon Soup – Oven-Baked Sweet Potato Fries – Raw Mixed Berry Crisp – Tropical Mango Pie – Everything Nice Popcorn (recipe […]

  7. Thanks for sharing! This is great, you are right in that you can easily dress up simple foods and I think you did a fabulous job here! You’re also right, there is a huge prejudice against raw foodism. People become incredibly upset at the thought, sometimes! It’s bizarre but when you serve them food like this then it makes everything better 😉

  8. Ooooh, I love this recipe! Breakfast for sure! And, yes, having fun experimenting with raw foods does result in some pretty amazing healthy treats. Can’t wait for the berries to appear at the farmer’s market!

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.