janet @ the taste space

Forty Clove Chickpeas and Broccoli

In Mains (Vegetarian) on June 3, 2011 at 5:50 AM


I don’t cook with broccoli that often. Rob does, though. A LOT. Once or twice a week, I kid you not. It is his favourite vegetable. In fact, he was quite distraught that it didn’t top the list of veggie superfoods. Number 11 isn’t too shabby if you ask me, since it was mainly leafy greens that beat every other vegetable.

While I have been exploring new vegetables that could be grown in my backyard, I don’t want to experience ingredient fatigue. Therefore, I have been incorporating non-garden veggies back into my meals. You see, broccoli (and cauliflower) attract a lot of bugs, and thus, didn’t make the cut for our virgin garden year. I will also be breaking out more sweet potato recipes, since they didn’t make the cut either (too much space needed). Nor watercress (needs a lot of water). Not even leek (harder to grow, not very prolific).  I am also very sad that we decided not to grow bell peppers, because we were afraid they would never turn red (and what would be the point of non-red peppers? although we will have a chili pepper plant). We will be focusing our energies on easy-to-grow (and tasty) veggies and herbs.  Our current list includes kale, Swiss chard, spinach, arugula, beets, kohlrabi,  carrots, zucchini, tomatoes, snow peas, snap peas, green beans, lemongrass, Vietnamese coriander, cilantro, Thai basil, mint, basil, thyme, oregano, chives, garlic chives, dill, lemon verbena, and the one strawberry plant we bought on impulse  . 🙂


Sometimes you need quick-and-easy recipes, nothing too earth shattering, for times when you don’t want to think about dinner. This is that dish. There is nothing mind-blowing about this meal, but it is pleasingly tasty.  Adapted from Appetite for Reduction, the recipe is a vegan spoof on the 40-clove chicken recipe that I had seen circulating the blogosphere, and even hails from a 1967 Gourmet recipe. This is a dish that combines roasted broccoli with roasted garlic in a spicy-lemon oregano dressing. It is not spicy from the garlic (since there are only 10 cloves of roasted garlic), but rather from the Aleppo chili flakes I added in. For the garlic lovers out there, you could even add more garlic (you may also like my Spanish Lentil and Squash Stew with Roasted Garlic).

Throw everything into the oven, flip it a few times, deglaze your pan, and you have a simple dinner ready for you while you were doing something else.

Forty Clove Chickpeas and Broccoli

This is being submitted to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Huan from Eat.Read.Live.

Forty Clove Chickpeas and Broccoli

1 lb broccoli, cut into large spears and stems chopped into 1/2-inch pieces (around 9-10 cups)
10 cloves garlic, peeled and smashed (or more!)
2 cups cooked chickpeas (or a 19-oz can, rinsed and drained)
2 tsp olive oil
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp Aleppo chili flakes
2 tsp lemon zest (zest from 1 lemon)
1.5 tsp dried oregano
1 cup vegetable broth

1. Preheat the oven to 400F. Place the broccoli, garlic and chickpeas in a 9×13 inch baking pan. Drizzle with olive oil, salt, chili flakes, lemon zest, oregano and black pepper to taste. Toss to coat and bake, uncovered, for 30 minutes, flipping once.

2. After 30 minutes, mix broccoli and chickpeas again and add broth, deglazing any browned bits at the bottom of the pan. Continue to bake another 15 minutes until the garlic is tender and the broccoli is browned in some places.

Serves 4.

  1. I love broccoli and also cauliflower! When I was a child I used to hate both. I usually only blanch the brocoli though. I like it (like zuccchini) almost raw (not to everyone’s taste, I know…).

    • Hey Sissi, Yeah, broccoli is great. I prefer it steaed or roasted but will eat it raw, too. Cauliflower, though, I LOVE roasted and raw. My fondness for cauliflower is new, though. Never ate much of it growing up. 🙂

  2. I’m so jealous of all the things you are growing! We have two different types of chilli plants (I’m a litte chilli obsessed). I would love to grow more but we can only grow in pots on our roof terrace which narrows the choice down a bit. Last year we grew courgettes, aubergines & peppers in pots they did surprisingly well! I love your chickpea & broccoli tray bake, so easy!! 😀

  3. You’re really spoling us with all thes fabulous recipes at the moment! This looks great, especially as broccoli is my favourite vegetable too 🙂 I’d love to be able to grow my own. I make do with pretty similar veg to you but not all those lovely herbs.

  4. Looks good enough for even George Bush to feast on.

  5. I love broccoli!!!! And I love you bake them with chickpeas…I like when they come out slightly brown and smoky, they are delicious… ^_^

  6. this is a good one- broccoli chickpeas baked- yumm !

  7. Can finish that wonderful plate rite now..

  8. You know, I always wanted to try 40 clove chicken but then thought I’d never be able to what with this whole veg thing. But now I can! This looks like one fantastic meal!

  9. I love both broccoli and chickpeas and this recipe sounds really appealing. I like the idea of baking the dish. Nice!

  10. Of course I make broccoli that often. Broccoli is AWESOME!

  11. Wow your garden sounds like it will be amazing!! I’ve never heard of Vietnamese coriander. I want to plant peas and kale next year. I’m with Rob – broccoli is awesome. I love eating it in any dish and even plain steamed, or raw in broccoli slaw mmm. I know you weren’t too enthralled with this dish but I’m going to try it out. 🙂

  12. […] had lofty gardening goals. My mom told me not to get disappointed if things didn’t work out as planned. I told her all […]

  13. […] had lofty garden plans. We can grow herbs and hot peppers very well, but some of the veggies never materialized. Some just […]

  14. […] in the Black-Eyed Pea and Kale Salad, 8 (pan-fried) cloves of garlic for The New Best Salad Ever, 10 cloves of (roasted) garlic with broccoli and chickpeas, 14 cloves of raw and roasted with this Spanish stew, or a whole 1/3 cup (12 cloves) with my baked […]

  15. […] Dal – White Bean, Quinoa and Kale Stew with Fennel – Braised Cabbage with Chorizo Seitan Sausage – Forty Clove Chickpeas and Broccoli – Mango BBQ Beans – Smoky Tempeh and Chard Stew – Yam and Black Bean Stew with Orange and Cilantro […]

  16. […] I don’t typically like to post recipes from cookbooks, especially when I don’t make a single change to them.  So if efforts to keep things even more quick and easy for myself today, someone else posted it here. […]

  17. […] we had planned to keep things relatively simple. We tried out a few plants last year, and knew that our best results were with our herbs in planters. We were also able to harvest beans […]

  18. […] year we had our first garden and not everything was successful. This year, in a new home, a new garden, we decided to keep […]

  19. […] Veggie Bowl with a Ginger-Miso-Lime Dressing Confetti Veggie Salad with Mustard Curry Dressing Forty Clove Chickpeas and Broccoli Kelp Noodles, Baby Bok Choy, Broccoli and Red Pepper with a Coconut-Peanut Sauce Spicy Peanut Udon […]

  20. […] Forty Clove Chickpeas with Broccoli- Talk about quick and easy! This dish takes no time at all to prepare and it bursting with garlicky goodness: what’s not to like? This is a wholesome dinner that you could put on the table any night of the week. […]

  21. […] While you could just roast the head, I have got you covered with more creative options: a delicious Forty Clove Chickpeas and Broccoli and even atop a Roasted Veggie and Kale Pizza (with a quinoa-bean […]

  22. […] Artichoke & Roasted Garlic Dip, Vegan Forty Clove Broccoli & Chickpeas, Death by Garlic Penne […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.