janet @ the taste space

Oven-Baked Sweet Potato Fries with Fresh’s Miso Gravy

In Favourites, Sides on August 22, 2011 at 7:08 AM

I know you’ve heard me lament about resto food.

When I first moved to Toronto, one of my favourite restaurants was Fresh. A vegetarian restaurant serving nice salads and wraps.  I have since found their dishes hit or miss and usually a miss unless it is the grilled veggie and pesto burrito. Please do not try their soba noodles! A soggy mess that disgraces Japan. However, their sweet potato fries with the miso gravy never disappointed and have rightfully been voted the top sweet potato fries in Toronto.

For the BBQ, I made a variety of seasonings for the sweet potato fries. I tried a batch with garlic, lemon pepper and smoked paprika, adapted from a recipe from Radiant Health, Inner Wealth, a batch with a Moroccan spice blend including cinnamon and cumin (somehow my spices went too toasty for my liking [aka burnt], so I didn’t serve them), as well as a one with simple salt and pepper. Other then the Moroccan batch, both turned out great. I really liked the roasted bits of garlic with the sweet potato fries.

At Fresh, the sweet potato fries are lightly spiced with sea salt, basil, tarragon and rosemary, but the winner was the miso gravy. Creamy and salty, it is a perfect match for the sweet fries.

Thankfully, the folks at Fresh are happy to share their (not-so) secret recipe, with it appearing both in their cookbook and online in the Toronto Star. It took me a while to crack out the recipe, but I am delighted I finally did!  My guests discovered the miso gravy also worked well with the grilled chicken, pork tenderloin as well as the salad. What wouldn’t taste delicious with a miso gravy? 🙂


This is being submitted to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Rinku from Cooking in Westchester, to Ricki’s Summer Wellness Weekends and to this month‘s Bookmarked Recipes.

Oven-Baked Sweet Potato Fries

3 cups thinly sliced sweet potato (cut into 1/2 cm thick slices)
1 tbsp oil (olive, coconut, or sunflower)
1 tsp coconut sugar, sucanat or white sugar
4 medium cloves fresh garlic, pressed (or 3/4 tsp dried granulated garlic)
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp lemon pepper
1/2 tsp dried onion granules
1/2 tsp smoked paprika

1. Cut the potatoes into 1/2-cm thick slices. Next, cut each slice into sticks that resemble the shape of French fries. Keep them as uniformly sized as possible so that they cook evenly.

2. Preheat the oven to 400 F. Place the potatoes along with all of the other ingredients in a large bowl. Using a rubber spatula, toss everything together very well so that the potatoes are evenly coated with the seasonings and oil.

3. Place the potatoes on a nonstick (or lightly oiled) cookie sheet, scraping all of the seasonings onto them with the spatula. Spread the potatoes out over the pan so that none are overlapping. Bake for about 10-15 minutes. Turn them over with a heat proof spatula, then bake for another 10-15 minutes or so (or until they are delectably browned on both sides). Serve immediately.

Serves 2-3.

Fresh’s Miso Gravy

4-1/2 tbsp spelt flour
1/4 tsp garlic granules (or powder)
3/4 cup nutritional yeast
1-1/2 cups vegetable stock or filtered water
1/3 cup olive oil
1-1/2 tsp Dijon mustard
3 tbsp miso paste, light or dark
3/4 tsp fine sea salt

1. Combine olive oil, mustard, miso and salt and set aside. In small saucepan over low heat, stir together spelt flour, garlic powder and nutritional yeast. Whisk in stock or water to make a paste. Raise heat to medium high and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low; simmer 1 minute. Whisk in oil, mustard, miso and salt until smooth. Serve hot. (Refrigerate until ready to use.)

Makes about 2-1/2 cups.

  1. I love Fresh’s sweet potato fries, too! I have them every time I go to the restaurant. . . which may be why I’ve not had any “misses” there yet! 😉 Thanks for submitting this to WW this week. Sounds like a great BBQ!

  2. Very interesting recipe, the miso gravy is appealing to me… but I wonder what is nutritional yeast, and if I’ll be able to find it in my neck of the woods… must google! 😉

    • You should be able to find nutritional yeast at most health food stores. I haven’t seen it at the big box grocery stores just yet unfortunately. Definitely let me know if you try the gravy- it is very nice!

      • THanks! Will let you know how it goes… I love miso, I’m sure this gravy will please me very very much! Such an interesting recipe….

  3. These sound exactly like the type of sweet potato fries I’ll be getting addicted to this week…and I’m pretty glad I don’t need to go to canada to have them! That miso dipping sauce sounds PERFECT.

  4. That plate of oven-baked sweet potato fries looks very nice.

  5. Ah those sweet potato fries look so good! I’m going to have to try that miso gravy. I have the other Fresh cookbook but not this one.

  6. […] have become hard to please at restaurants. I’ve already lambasted Fresh for their limpy soba noodles and hit-or-miss salads, but now that I am armed with their miso […]

  7. […] flavours – ginger, paprika, cinnamon and cumin. I have become scared of roasting veggies with spices, so I added the spices to the veggies right after they were finished roasting. The dried […]

  8. […] – Toasted Sesame Orange Teriyaki Vegetable and Quinoa Bowl – Red Lentil, Spinach and Lemon Soup – Oven-Baked Sweet Potato Fries – Raw Mixed Berry Crisp – Tropical Mango Pie – Everything Nice Popcorn (recipe […]

  9. […] I am not joking. These were resto-quality, crispy (baked) fries. We used a mix of white and sweet potato but I was partial to the sweet potato fries. All you do is marinade the fries for 15 minutes in the beer, then toss with garlic, oil, salt and pepper, and wait a painful 30-45 minutes as they bake. Next time, I may throw other spices on it like I have done before. […]

  10. […] to do with roasting the spices directly on the chickpeas, since I have also had troubles with baked spiced sweet potatoe fries. Leave the spices in the oven a bit too long and they may burn. Lately, I’ve taken to […]

  11. […] Casserole with Black Beans, Millet and Cinnamon-Miso Sweet Potato Mash Fresh’s All-Star Salad Fresh’s Miso Gravy Gorilla Food’s Strawberry Bliss Up Shake Live Organic Cafe’s Raw Pad Thai Peacefood […]

  12. […] and Dragon bowls as examples) but I have the real recipes. I already know I love, love, love their miso gravy and while it seems tedious to make all the components, it is actually pretty easy and they all […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.