janet @ the taste space

Thai Coconut Corn Stew

In Favourites, Soups on September 16, 2011 at 6:05 AM

How do you bookmark your recipes? Every day I am inundated by oodles of recipes I want to make from other bloggers, from my cookbooks, or just something I whip up in my head (and belly).

I know there are applications and websites to help you figure this out, but they have been too cumbersome for me. I am old school. I email myself the recipes and stick them in a searchable folder. The rest, my brain has to take care of, as it remembers what I don’t put into emails.

When I can’t find a suitable recipe in my email treasure trove or rack my brain as to what’s in my cookbooks, I will often consult my favourite bloggers. My favourite way to tackle this is through Google Reader, which is a quick and easy way to narrow my search to my blogs of interest.

So when Rob and I picked up a dozen ears of corn, I had to scour everywhere for corn recipes. I usually don’t like corn – of the frozen or canned variety. I will actively remove it from recipes (celery gets removed even more quickly) so it was a challenge to do the opposite. Find me some corn delicacies!

Hopefully the last few corny posts have shown you how great corn can be, from the simple grilled ears, to pan-toasting the kernels for a salad, or boiling the corn to put in a quinoa salad, or as a savoury filling for a cornmeal pancake.

Corn soups are another way to enjoy corn. Trust me, I have bookmarked so many corn soup recipes that I had a difficult time narrowing it down to which I wanted to try. In the end, I thought this Thai Coconut Corn Stew, which Ashley made last year from Eat, Drink & Be Vegan hit it right (recipe also posted here). A soup that could come together quickly despite its long ingredient list.  In addition to the coconut milk as the backdrop for the chowder, red bell pepper is added for sweetness. The soup is flavoured with lemongrass, lime, ginger, cilantro and a hint of spice from chili flakes, creating a very complex soup without too much fuss. It is nice and creamy from the coconut milk and pureed corn, but also surprisingly light at the same time. Seriously yummy, this recipe is a keeper!

In all honesty, I didn’t use cilantro for the salad. I used Vietnamese coriander. While researching what to plant, we found out cilantro tends to bolt in the summer. Ours bolted during the heat wave. But we had a back-up! Vietnamese coriander! It continues to give us nice leaves that taste similar to cilantro with a bright, lemony accent. Thankfully it is a perennial, so we should have some of it next year, too. 🙂 I also grew lemongrass but the stalks don’t look anything like what I buy in the grocery store.. so who knows what I am to do with the leaves only. Sunny’s to the rescue with 6 lemongrass stalks for a $1. 🙂

Here are some other corn soups that I had spotted elsewhere:

Roasted Tomato and Grilled Corn Soup from The Edible Perspective
Summer Sweet Corn Soup with Basil Oil from Julia’s Vegan Kitchen
Roasted Red Pepper Soup with Corn and Cilantro from Oui, Chef
Tomato, Corn and Basil Soup from New England Soup Factory Cookbook
Sweet Pepper Coconut Corn Chowder from ExtraVeganZa
Summer Corn and Coconut Soup from Choosing Raw
Japanese Corn Cream Soup from The Well-Seasoned Cook

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays, to this month’s Simple and in Season, to this month’s My Kitchen, My World destination Thailand, to Ricki’s Wellness Weekends, to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes, to this month’s Ingredient Challenge Monday for coconut, and to this month’s No Croutons Required featuring home-grown produce.

Thai Coconut Corn Stew

1/2 tbsp oil
1 cup onion, diced
3 medium cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp fresh ginger, grated
3/4 tsp coriander seeds
3/4 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
1 stalk lemongrass
4 cups frozen corn kernels (from 4 ears of corn)
2 cups vegetable stock
1 can (14 oz) coconut milk
1 red bell pepper, diced
2 tsp lime zest (from 1 lime)
2 tbsp freshly squeezed lime juice (1 lime)
1/3 – 1/2 cup fresh cilantro, chopped

1. In a large pot on medium heat, add oil, onions, garlic, ginger, coriander seeds, salt, and red pepper flakes and stir to combine. Cover and cook for 5-7 minutes, stirring occasionally.

2. Meanwhile, cut off lower yellow bulbous portion of lemongrass,and remove and discard tough outer leaves along with upper portion of stalk. Using a chef’s knife, “bruise” the bulbous portion to release flavour: cut a few slits and using pressure of knife, open and bruise stalk. Add it to the pot, along with 3 cups corn kernels, stock, and coconut milk, and increase heat to bring to a boil. Once boiling, reduce heat to medium-low, cover and cook for 10 minutes.

3. Remove lemongrass, and with a hand blender, briefly puree soup to make it a little creamier. Return lemongrass to pot, and stir in remaining 1 cup corn kernels and diced red bell pepper. Cover and cook for another 5-6 minutes on medium-low heat. Stir in lime zest and lime juice (adjust to taste). Season with additional salt if desired. Just before serving, stir in cilantro.

Serves 4-5.

  1. Stew looks super irresistible and creamy..

  2. I really hope there is sweet corn at the store still when I go today…because it’s freezing here and now all I want is this soup!

  3. Looks great! I think you’re more organized than I am. . . I just bookmark recipes on my computer and then can’t keep track at all! So I’m going to print this one out to be sure to try it. 🙂 Thanks for submitting to WW this week! 🙂

  4. I like pinterest to keep track of things I like, and foodily to search blogs for ingredient specific recipes! 🙂

  5. Hi, I fell in love with Pinterest for tracking the recipes I want to try. When you see a recipe, you like it pins a photo to your board, so when looking for what you want to try next, you scan through the photos and click straight back to the site. A great way to track all those recipes waiting to try.

  6. I had a ton of corn a few weeks ago, and a can of coconut milk…and I thought…soup? But then the moment passed by me. I’m glad you did what I didn’t!

  7. Thanks so much for your submission. I will for sure be making this soon. Such a great blend of flavours.

  8. This looks excellent. I love the flavors and that there’s no dairy. Thanks for the post.

  9. I’ve seen a few corn soup recipes recently and now I’m craving it!

  10. Good to know about vietnamese coriander! I’ve never had good luck with cilantro. Love the sound of this corn stew!

  11. I think you read my mind sometimes as believe it or not, I was just thinking about Thai corn soup. 😉 This looks wonderful and so creamy too. Thanks for sending it to Souper Sundays. 😉

  12. Thank you for your comment on my blog. Thsi soup looks lovely and I can’t believe there is no dairy in it.

  13. I love the ingredient combination on this recipe. Lots of my favorites, and with corn. Should be so good.

  14. love the sound of this soup – corn is so good in soup

    as for bookmarks – I use delicious – doesn’t have recipes but it allows you to tag the ingredients that you want and you can share with others – I use it all the time now to search for a recipe with an ingredient I have or an idea I have for dinner – worst thing about it is that it doesn’t include some of the recipes I came across years ago but it helps me remember recipes

    • Sounds like a neat system you have, Johanna… the archives of recipes in cookbooks and of years past is definitely hard for me, too! 🙂

      • Indeed! I have actually joined a cookbook blog event this year that has been great in sending me back to my cookbooks – maybe we now need a “before blogging” challenge to make recipes that we loved or bookmarked before we became bloggers – now that would get me remembering a few good ones!

  15. Looks absolutely gorgeous! I love a nice thick chowder and all those spices will add so much flavour.

  16. […] you for all your suggestions on how you bookmark your recipes on my last post. For some reason, Google Reader doesn’t […]

  17. […] The Taste Space shared Thai Coconut Corn Stew […]

  18. The soup looks great. I grow lemongrass as well and I find that I can only really harvest from them in their second year, when they are big enough to be producing fat stems.

  19. The soup looks really good! My mum often makes corn stew whenever we buy corn, though we usually make a sweet version (this version looks more savoury, I think?). It’s called ‘bubur jagung’ in Malay and I like to eat it cold from the fridge with some cream crackers, or warm with pieces of bread. I’d very much like to try this version one day 🙂

    • Your version sounds great, too, Sumaiyyah. Do you have a recipe for your Malay version?

      • Well I don’t think Mum has a specific recipe because she usually just puts things in and they turn out great, but I remember that she puts in corn kernels, coconut milk (we usually use fresh since it’s easy to get here), sugar, and a bit of salt. Nothing special really, and all the ingredients are present in your recipe. But next time she makes them I’ll take note of the measurements and let you know 🙂

      • Awesome! Thanks for the recipe. This summer, in a resto, I had a cabbage slaw with a tamarind dressing with chinese 5-spice and thought it was heavenly, so I will have to investigate this further. 🙂

      • Sounds awesome (I love this word). Don’t forget the recipe after the investigation’s complete! Oh, and I forgot to say hi. Hi, Janet! Thanks for your responses 😉

  20. Yaey so glad you enjoyed this soup. 🙂 It’s been too long since I’ve made it!

  21. Oh I forgot to say that I email myself recipes too – I email them to a separate email address though so they don’t get lost in my regular email. And then I have a notepad file on my desktop called “meals to make soon” where I just put in the links for the recipes I saved that I especially want to make asap haha.

    • haha, I love that you have a whole email address dedicated to recipes! My recipe folder in my email just keeps growing since I never prune from it. 😉

  22. I have a recipe folder in my documents section of the computer. I have a “To Try” section and then organize from there. I also have a “Keeps” section w/ the same organization (breakfast, main meals, soups, crockpot, etc…).

    I have a couple of questions. I’m not sure my local grocery carries lemongrass. Then again, I’ve never looked for it. If they don’t, is there a substitution for it? Also, the coriander seeds…are they ground or whole? If they are whole, what would a ground measurement be?

    Thanks so much :).

    • Hey Alli,

      Your method for recipe keeper sounds so much organized than mine. I like having this blog because it chronicles the dishes that I like and can easily search through it online, even when away from my computer.

      For this recipe, I used the whole coriander seeds. No need to grind. But if you only have ground coriander, use the same amount. You can try substituting lemon zest for the lemongrass.

  23. […] A lovely warming bowl of Thai Coconut Corn Stew   […]

  24. This soup was SO GOOD and easy to make to boot. Is definitely going to become a staple of mine. Thanks so much for the recipe.

  25. […] of The Taste Space has a soup and a salad to share this week. Her soup entry is this creamy Thai Coconut Corn Stew, about which she says, "In addition to the coconut milk as the backdrop for the chowder, red bell […]

  26. […] had been eyeing this recipe for a Sweet Pepper Coconut Corn Chowder for a while.  A creamy coconut-based soup […]

  27. […] Since forever, I have been trying to find the perfect way to store my bookmarked recipes. […]

  28. […] 10. Plant Powered Kitchen: Dreena is another cookbook author that very generously shares her recipes on her blog. I have made a few recipes from her cookbook, Let Them Eat Vegan, as well as these she has shared online: Moroccan Vegetable Phyllo Rolls with Balsamic Maple Dressing, Jerk Chickpeas, Thai Chickpea Almond Curry, Tomato Lentil Cumin and Dill Soup and Thai Coconut Corn Stew. […]

  29. […] The inspiration for this soup came from Dreena’s latest ecookbook, Plant-Powered 15, filled with 15 whole-foods vegan recipes without any oil or gluten. I know I have a few readers who are no-oil vegans, so this would be perfect for you. Even if you are not eating oil-free (like me!), you will still enjoy the bright flavours. As I have said before, I really like Dreena’s recipes. In particular, we adore her Lemon Mediterranean Lentil Salad, Jerk Chickpeas, Thai Chickpea Almond Curry, Tomato Lentil Cumin and Dill Soup and Thai Coconut Corn Stew. […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.