janet @ the taste space

Red Lentil and Root Veggie Dal

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) on December 12, 2011 at 6:44 AM

(Sorry, let me sneak in one fabulous main dish this week before we get the cookie bonanza)

On the love-like scale, I gave this a love. Rob gave it a low like. A 5/10 is definitely a fail in my regards. While testing recipes for Terry’s new book, more and more recipes fell in the “Rob loves this more than Janet” category. Not Rob loves the food more than me, but he loved the food more than I loved the food… kapiche? 😉

Testing recipes has been a nice adventure for us to learn more about our cooking and eating preferences. Rob loved the Curry Laksa with Oyster Mushrooms, whereas I wasn’t as smitten. The spicy fastlane cabbage kimchi was way too spicy for me (1/2 cup of Korean pepper flakes!), but Rob loved it in small amounts. I adored the mild ginger kimchi option, though. Likewise, the jigae (kimchi, tofu and eggplant stew) was too spicy for me again, but Rob enjoyed it. In Rob’s quest to make an authentic Massaman curry, he found a winner here, but I wasn’t as sold. Meanwhile, I found my mojo with the Middle Eastern dishes in the book like the Sweet Autumn Toasted Pita and Kale Salad (a Fattoush knock-off), the Moroccan Vegetable Couscous, the Ethiopian Yellow Split Peas with Chard and Tomatoes and the delicious French-inspired White Bean and Celery Root Puree. We both loved the Venezuelan-style Tofu Sofrito Scramble, though. 🙂

This Red Lentil and Root Veggie Dal came from Appetite for Reduction (recipe here) and I thought Rob would like it- a red lentil curry, complete with ginger, curry powder, coriander, cumin, cardamom and cinnamon, complemented with a host of root vegetables: carrot, parsnip and turnip (did you spot the cruciferous vegetable?). A quick and healthy recipe, it was also up my alley. Turns out the word curry threw Rob off – he found it to be blander than anticipated. Meanwhile, I adored it! This time, I snatched the leftovers! The vegetables make this a sweet curry and I thought this complemented the savoury spices well. For the curry novices out there, there was no hint of curry powder taste… unless you decide to add more! I found this perfecto as written.

Red Lentil and Root Veggie Dal

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays to Ricki’s Wellness Weekend.

Red Lentil and Root Veggie Dal

2 tsp olive oil
1 medium-size onion, diced finely
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp minced fresh ginger
1/4 tsp Aleppo chili flakes
2 tsp coriander seeds, crushed
2 tsp mild curry powder (we used Madras curry powder)
1 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp ground cardamom
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1.25 tsp salt
4 cups vegetable broth
1 cup dried red lentils, rinsed
3/4 pound parsnip, peeled and diced into ½-inch pieces (about 2 cups)
3/4 pound rutabaga or turnip, peeled and diced into ½-inch pieces (about 2 cups) [I used 2 turnips]
1 cup carrots, peeled, and cut into ½-inch pieces

1. Heat a large skillet over medium high heat and add oil. Saute the onions until soft and translucent, about 4 minutes. Add the garlic, ginger, chili flakes and saute another minute.

2. Add the remaining spices and salt, and saute for a further 30 seconds. Add the broth, lentils and vegetables. Cover the pot and bring to a boil. Once boiling, reduce to a simmer and cook, covered, for 20 minutes, until the lentils are cooked and creamy and the vegetables are cooked through and soft. Add additional water, if needed. Season to taste with additional salt and pepper.

3. Allow the curry to sit for 10 minutes prior to serving. Serve with rice. Makes delicious leftovers.

Serves 6.

  1. This looks delicious. Indian-spiced root vegetables!

  2. Super delicious dal..

  3. I think that you just like the more subtle complementary spice combinations and Rob wants his food to bold and IN YOUR FACE. Thankfully, I like both flavor profiles, which is probably why I end up drooling over all your food! This curry included.

  4. 1/2 cup of Korean pepper flakes!!! I can only have 1/4 tsp chili flakes for a big pot of soup haha. Oh by the way I FINALLY saw aleppo chili flakes for the first time ever at this gourmet food store in Vancouver! I don’t think I’ve even noticed this recipe in Appetite for Reduction but will have to check it out now. 🙂

    • I haven’t experimented too much with them, but the Korean chili flakes are supposed to be mild like Aleppo.. but yeah, 1/2 cup is insane! I know kimchi is supposed to be uber spicy though… but when you can make it at home, I say we don’t need no craziness! Actually the ginger-based kimchi was so good. It didn’t have any chili flakes in it at all. 😉

  5. I enjoyed this. I actually doubled the spices and didn’t find it too spicy. Threw in half a daikon to use it up. I’ve made a red lentil dal for years, but it was fun to have the added texture and nutrition of the root veggies instead of just a porridge all the way through….

  6. This looks warming, hearty and delicious. I think I have this one tagged in the book to make but if not I am going to. Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays. 😉

  7. […] cabbage soup. I was positively smitten with the smokey Russian sauerkraut soup (Shchi) that I tested for Vegan Eats World. I really, really, want to share the recipe because it was that good!  But it […]

  8. […] it. Nothing too crazy and creamy, just a savoury veggie and noodle dish. However, now that the Madras curry powder has been given the green light in my kitchen, I’d love to try this again with curry powder. If you try it, let me know how you like […]

  9. […] trust others to tell me how it tastes but I can tell you how easy it was to make.  Although even Rob and I can disagree on whether we like a dish, considering both Rob and my parents liked the Tel Kadayif, the Turkish […]

  10. […] (I preferred this soup) – Hottie Black Eyed Peas and Greens (recipe elsewhere) – Chickpea Piccata – Red Lentil and Root Veggie Dal – White Bean, Quinoa and Kale Stew with Fennel – Braised Cabbage with Chorizo Seitan Sausage – […]

  11. […] that are made with curry powder, red lentils and an assortment of veggies. I really liked the Red Lentil and Root Veggie Dal and since celeriac was my favourite veggie this winter, I was eager to try my hand at a similar […]

  12. […] BBQ Beans Pumpkin Chili Red Lentil and Root Veggie Dal Red Lentil and Lemon […]

  13. […] at the Ottawa Christmas. My Mom has left me in charge of Christmas lunch and I’ll be making Red Lentil and Root Veggie Dal. A perfect bowl to curl up with after returning from a snowy snowshoe […]

  14. […] referring to when you spice things up with curry powder. While I have thrown curry powder into Indian curries, bean and quinoa skillets, and couscous pilaf, I have also added it to tofu chowders, sweet […]

  15. […] there was kimchi, normally too spicy for me until I found a brand and recipe I really […]

  16. […] have already been shared  (Tamarind Lentils, Bengali Cauliflower Dal, Creamy Broccoli Dal, and Root Veggie Curry), so it does not surprise me to share yet another easy, delicious and healthy curry. This is one I […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.