janet @ the taste space

Chocolate Mint Black Bean Cookies and Mexican Chocolate Spiced Black Bean Cookies with Cherries

In Desserts, Favourites on December 13, 2011 at 6:51 AM

Now for the cookies you’ve been waiting patiently for

What’s your definition of a healthy dessert? Of a healthy cookie? Two years ago, I thought my (oh so gorgeous) apple banana cake was healthy because it had no oil or butter. Except, as a sweetener, it had sugar and honey in addition to the bananas. It used white flour.

Preferring whole unprocessed foods, I have currently shunned refined flours and sugars. It is not that I don’t enjoy my sweets. I do. In moderation. I just want to have some nutrients packaged with it, too. A healthier option. I simply adore raw desserts, but often they are nut-based or sport a heavy dose of agave or coconut oil/butter.

You can imagine how giddy I was when I first saw this recipe for a chocolate cookie made with black beans without any grains or nuts. No refined sugars, either. The giddiness was mostly because these cookies were made with BLACK BEANS! Sarah had a chocolate chili cherry recipe but I decided to hedge my bets and split the dough for two versions: Mint Chocolate and a Mexican Chocolate Spiced version with Dried Cherries, modeled after my Spiced Brownies.

Trust me, no one will know these cookies are filled with beans. It is really unfair to quiz your guests about the secret ingredient because they taste like delicious cookies, beans or no beans. These are not fudgy cookies, but more dense than the airy banana-based cookies. A moist, fluffy cookie filled with chocolate. The chocolate mint version marries the quintessential holiday favourite flavours. You can’t go wrong with peppermint and chocolate.

For round two, the Mayan-Spiced cookies have a whiff of savoury spices including cinnamon, cardamom and smoked paprika with a bit of a zip from the chili flakes. I might try increasing the spices next round because they weren’t too dominant. The dried cherries offered a nice contrast to the dark chocolate.

What will round 3 entail? You tell me! I will have to whip up another batch if I want eat them over the holidays. 😉 Or maybe I will venture to finally try other bean-based desserts.

Other bean-based vegan desserts:

Black Bean Brownies from Patty Cake
Low Fat Black Bean Brownies from Happy Herbivore
Chocolate Chickpea Blondies from Delicious Vitality
Marathon Cookies from 101 Cookbooks
Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bean Balls from Purple Bird Blog
Butter Bean Cookies from Happy Herbivore
Black Bean Fudge from Diet, Dessert and Dogs
Chocolate Bean Butter from Diet, Dessert and Dogs
Faux Date Squares from Diet, Dessert and Dogs
Chocolate-Peanut Butter Dessert Hummus from Never (home) Maker
Black Bean Cookie Dough Hummus from What Runs Lori

This is being submitted to this month’s My Legume Love Affair, to this week’s Healthy Dessert Potluck Party, to Ricki’s Wellness Weekend and to this month’s Cookie Blog Hop.

Black Bean Chocolate Chili Cherry Cookies
Adapted from My New Roots

1.5-2 cups cooked black beans, very soft (or one 19 oz can, drained and rinsed)
2 Tbsp coconut oil (no need to melt)
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1/4 tsp coarse sea salt, plus more for sprinkling
1/3 cup maple syrup (or honey, agave)
2 Tbsp chia seeds, ground (or ground flax seeds) – I didn’t grind mine but I think they would be better if ground
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup (or 50g) chopped dark chocolate (80% or higher)

Chocolate Mint Version
2 tsp peppermint extract

Mexican Spiced Version
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cardamom
1/2 tsp smoked paprika
1/2 tsp Aleppo chili flakes
1/4 cup dried cherries, coarsely chopped (or dried cranberries)

1. Preheat oven to 375F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat.

2. Mix chia seeds, maple syrup, and vanilla in a small bowl or mug and set aside.

3. Place drained and well-rinsed beans, coconut oil, cocoa, salt and respective spices except the dried cherries (depending on your version) in a food processor and blend until well combined.

4. Add the liquid ingredients and pulse to incorporate. The batter will be quite liquid-y, but still hold together.  Remove blade from the food processor and add chopped chocolate and dried cherries (if using). Fold to incorporate.

5. Spoon cookie batter onto lined baking sheet (I made small cookies, around 1 tbsp in size). Using the back of the spoon, flatten top of cookies slightly, as they will not spread when baking.  Sprinkle with coarse sea salt (important!). Bake for 15-25 minutes until the edges begin to brown. Cool before eating. Store in the fridge.

Makes 24 cookies.

  1. This is such a great idea! I love it. I’m going to add these to my cookie list for sure – especially the chocolate and mint ones.

  2. You had me at Chocolate Mint.

  3. i have yet to make a dessert with beans, but it’s on my list. these cookies look like they have an amazing texture!

  4. I adore chocolate and chili! I love that you have the base recipe with two variations. And mint, swoon!

    Thanks for linking my recipe, too! I can’t wait to try YOUR cookies!

  5. Very unusual cookies for me, incredible variations..

  6. Wow – what an interesting cookie! Black beans…and you can’t identify the flavor? Can’t wait to give these a try!

  7. What an unusual ingredient to use in a cookies recipe! Would love to give it a go soon!

  8. I love these bean-ful cookies! I’ve made Heidi’s marathon cookies and you def can’t tell that there are beans in them. That mint chocolate is calling out to me!

  9. On Monday we made a black bean cake for my grandfather’s birthday, and it was awesome! Beans should go in to baking more of the time… that’s for sure. These look really yummy 🙂

  10. […] baking desserts with non-traditional ingredients, you may start to doubt yourself. If you thought black bean cookies were weird, how about hemp seeds and stevia?! Coconut sugar? What the heck? How will they […]

  11. Those look like they have such a great texture! I love the idea of using beans in desserts, and all of your variations sound good too!

  12. Paprika in the cookie! Interesting. I can’t wait to try out this recipe ever since you posted the link on one of my I hate beans posts hahaha. Have you tried the marathon cookies from 101 cookbooks? They have white beans in them – http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/marathon-cookies-recipe.html

  13. Cookies! I’ve tried brownies and fudge (Ricki’s recipe and a can of black beans are sitting on my kitchen counter right now). Thank you for sharing cookies!

  14. Love these! (And I was sure I left a comment, but don’t see it here–gah!). I wanted to report that I made these tonight with carob instead of chocolate (the spicy version) and they were yummy! Now I have an ACD-friendly dessert I can enjoy (whoo hoo!). And thanks so much for the links to the other desserts–and for submitting this lovely to Wellness Weekend this week. 🙂

  15. […] cookies are an adaptation of the Black Bean Chocolate Chili Cherry Cookies I saw (via Wellness Weekend last week) on The Taste Space, which were an adaptation of […]

  16. […] Choice, Sweet: Black Bean Chocolate Mint Cookies from Janet at The Taste Space.  I just posted my own version of these, so I can attest that […]

  17. […] Chocolate Mint Black Bean Cookies and Mexican Chocolate Spiced Black Bean Cookies with Cherries […]

  18. […] to arriving, at her request, I suggested a few possible meals. Some dishes that I had already made myself, but mostly dishes that I had bookmarked for a special occasion. My mom was so awesome that she […]

  19. […] disclosure: December was filled with chocolate cravings (gosh, those cookies were so good!). I also learned that Clif and Luna bars are deadly addictive. They may be vegan, but […]

  20. […] Mexican-Spiced Chocolate Black Bean Cookies with Cherries […]

  21. […] I think these would be excellent as chocolate mint cookies (Tastespace). My New Roots replaces the eggs with chia seeds or flax seeds, and A Little Flour in […]

  22. The chocolate mint ones sound so delicious

  23. […] first tried baking with beans when I made chocolate black bean cookies last year. Deliciously moist, creating a cake-like consistency. Without a hint of beans, the beany […]

  24. […] with squash carob brownies, cauliflower chocolate cake, chocolate chip chickpea blondies or chocolate mint black bean cookies. I have even gambled with (oh so good) chocolate tofu mousse pie with my family for […]

  25. […] Mango Dressing, Grilled Balsamic Portobello Mushrooms, The Best Lentil Salad Ever, Raw Brownie, Mexican Chocolate Spiced Black Bean Brownies, Raw Raspberry Cashew […]

  26. […] chip cookies! I am no stranger to beans in cookies, either. One of my favourite cookies are these chocolate mint cookies made with black beans and these chocolate chip chickpea blondies were a hit, too. I like bean-based cookies because […]

  27. […] my bets and make multiple options. That’s how I ended up with 2 versions of my chocolate black bean cookies and oodles of combinations for my savoury flax-hemp crackers. Half a recipe for you and half a […]

  28. […] Mexican Chocolate Spiced Black Bean Cookies via Taste Space- Black bean cookies are a thing now. Get into it. Make these and impress even the most pretentious […]

  29. […] cookies are an adaptation of the Black Bean Chocolate Chili Cherry Cookies I saw (via Wellness Weekend last week) on The Taste Space, which were an adaptation of […]

  30. […] Chocolate Mint Black Bean Cookies + Mexican Chocolate Spiced Black Bean Cookies with Cherries from The Taste Space – Double the noms! Treat your cookie exchange pals with two mouth-watering […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.