janet @ the taste space

Creamy Green on Green Pasta (aka Raw Kelp Noodles and Broccoli with a Creamy Lemon-Basil Whipped Avocado Sauce)

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) on June 28, 2012 at 6:07 AM

I am really enjoying my simplistic meals these days.

First decide on a sauce or dressing. Pick your favourite veggies. Decide on a base – bean or grain.

Here, I went raw for Raw Thursdays. I picked a lusciously creamy lemon and basil dressing. How does it become so creamy? Hidden inside is a whipped avocado. Adding warm water also adds a lightness without added fats.

My veggie of choice: chopped broccoli.

My base: kelp noodles.

Rob tasted this after I had cleaned up the kitchen. I was surprised he picked up on the avocado right away since I found the lemon, basil and garlic more pronounced while the avocado was there to deliver the lusciousness.  I quizzed him- How was he so smart? He noticed the sauce was green and assumed it was from the avocados in the fridge. I protested and blamed the green on the pureed basil. In any case, he was right. He must be more in tune with his avocado sensors than me. 😉

Regardless, while I usually shun creamy dressings, this was both creamy and light at the same time. Perfect in every way.  Just be careful not to eat the entire dish in one sitting! Leftover (chilled) dressing was also great in…. wait for it…. a wrap!! (also filled with carrot, cabbage, cucumber and sprouts!)

I can’t wait to try out more avocado dressings. Do you have a favourite?

This is my submission to Presto Pasta Nights, hosted by Girlichef, to this week’s Raw Food Thursdays, and Ruth and to this week’s Weekend Wellness.

Creamy Green on Green Pasta (aka Raw Kelp Noodles and Broccoli with a Creamy Lemon-Basil Whipped Avocado Sauce)
Adapted from Angela, via Joanne

16 oz kelp noodles, rinsed and drained (or your favourite noodle, cooked)
2 cups chopped broccoli (1 head) (keep raw for a raw recipe)
1 medium sized, ripe avocado, pitted (~1/2 cup)
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice (1/2 a lemon) (I used a Meyer lemon)
zest from 1 lemon, reserving some for garnish
3 garlic cloves, or to taste (start with 1-2 if you are not a garlic fiend like me)
1/2 tsp kosher salt, with more added to taste
1/4 cup fresh basil
freshly ground black pepper, to taste

1. If cooking your noodles, start now. If not, bring an inch of water to a boil and steam broccoli for 3 minutes until cooked slightly and turns a bright green. Do not overcook. Reserve 1/2 cup of the pasta or boiling water.

2. Meanwhile, make the sauce by placing the garlic, lemon juice and zest in a food processor.  Process until smooth.  Add in the avocado, basil, and salt.  Process until smooth and creamy. Slowly drizzle in the reserved water and process until creamy and fluffy.

3. In a large bowl, toss together the noodles and cooked broccoli. Pour sauce over pasta and mix well. Season with salt and pepper. Garnish with reserved lemon zest.

Serves 1-2.

  1. Wow, does that look like a creamy mash of utter deliciousness! The first time I tried kelp noodles, I found myself less than thrilled, but these ones are looking mighty fine. Besides, who can go wrong with an avocado sauce?

  2. I love all things avocado. I even put it in my shakes! 🙂

    This looks like a perfect summer salad – I’m always looking for new uses for my kelp noodles, too.

  3. Oh, this is a great alternative to the dairy cream sauces! I gotta try this but first need some kelp noodles.

  4. This does sound perfect for summer–super green, fast, & easy! I don’t think I’ve ever had kelp noodles, so they’ll definitely go on my list of new foods to try. 🙂

  5. I definitely need to find some kelp pasta – sounds so intriguing. Thanks for sharing with Presto Pasta Nights.

  6. This sounds great—a combo of raw and cooked…best of both worlds. I do think I prefer broccoli lightly steamed/wokked even though I like a lot of raw food. The foodie in me may win over the raw foodist.

  7. I love the sound of that creamy sauce, as well…of course anything with avocado and I’m in! Plus, I’m intrigued by kelp noodles! Your dish sounds delicious.

  8. That avocado sauce of Angela’s is seriously one of my most favorite things ever! I love the idea of using it as a salad dressing!

  9. I really want to try kelp noodles!! Does anyone know where I might find them in the UK?? Or if not, the best site to find them on, please??
    Jade C.

  10. So, I made these and loved the recipe 🙂 ((I ended up using iHerb, which was veeeery expensive, but I did get a lot more 😉 ..just, can’t afford that now, haha. Anyways, whenever I find some more, I will definitely get some :). For now though, methinks I will use this recipe again, but with courgette ((zucchini)) nodles, instead!!

  11. Wow! I think I could even fool my husband into liking broccoli with such a delicious dressing! Thanks for sharing it at Raw Foods Thursdays!

  12. […] and Red Pepper with a Coconut-Peanut Sauce Spicy Peanut Udon Noodles with Tofu and Broccoli Creamy Green on Green Pasta (aka Raw Kelp Noodles and Broccoli with a Creamy Lemon-Basil Whipped Avocado Sauce) Broccoli and […]

  13. […] been inspired by many of her recipes (likewise, she has also made a few of mine). I recommend her Creamy Lemon-Basil Whipped Avocado Sauce,  Lentil Mango Picadillo, Chickpeas Romesco, Brazilian Black Bean Soup, Spaghetti with Roasted […]

  14. […] her earlier recipes. Thankfully some of my favourite recipes from her blog made it to the cookbook: Creamy Lemon Basil Avocado Sauce, Salt and Vinegar Roasted Chickpeas, and her Lemon-Tahini Dressing. She is also a much better […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.